We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Independence Square
Ranked #1,527 of 3,711 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 May 2011

Overview: We stayed for only 1 night but certainly felt it was a place suitable for longer stay. The owner was helpful and accommodating, allowing us to deposit our luggage with him early in the morning at 9am. When we were back in the evening, our luggage was already neatly placed in the room.
Room: The room came with a basin, fan and TV and can be considered relatively spacious. The double bed is made up of two single beds joined together but was decent. The shared toilet/shower was clean and had hot water. Breakfast would be served from 8am onwards. I can't comment on the breakfast as we had to set off early. Free wifi.
Location: Near the Termini station, about 10-15mins walk with luggage. Quite easy to find.

The owner also operated the restaurant below and he would give a discount for hotel customers.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ydis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
There are newer reviews for Independence Square
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2011

Date of stay: April 11-13, 2011.
Duration of stay: 3 nights.
Place: The Michelangelo's house (apartment for 4 people).
My family and I we are fully satisfied of our 3-nigths stay on this apartment. We were able to check-in early and store our bags before get access to the apartment. The apartment is at walking distance from supermarkets, the local “mercato”, many restaurants, coffees and shops. The Vatican Museum is just few minutes away. In the first floor of the same building we may find a very good Mexican Rest called “La Cucaracha”.
Gianluca is a great hostess. highly recommended.

Room Tip: Talk to Gianluca Iarussi
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2010

We arrived at Rome Termini station quite late (almost midnight) and told the hostel so beforehand. We had just turned on to via Castelfidardo when all of the sudden a man squatting on the side of the street said out of no where "are you XXX"? And yes we were! He was waiting to check us in. He helped us with our bags up the stairs to our room and told us we could pay in the morning. Our triple room was just as we expected from the pictures we saw online.

Later in the morning, we were welcomed with a simple breakfast of coffee and croissants from Pino, who spoke excellent English and was very charming. The breakfast room only accommodated about 5 people so you had to wait your turn. He told us the hotel's wifi key, to watch out for pickpockets and wished us well on our adventures. He also answered our queries about booking train tickets as best he could.

The hostel is on the 2nd floor, while the first floor is a restaurant. It's located near the train station but is also pleasantly away from the hustle and bustle. Not bad at all!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank endlesswells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2010

We chose Independence Square primarily because of the price (around 50 Euros/night). We were pleasantly surprised to find it to be a great spot from which to explore Rome.

Independence Square is a 5 minute walk from the Termini station. From the Termini you can catch either subway line and buses to most areas of the city. As well, many of the guided tours of the city and to locations outside the city depart from the Termini.

The room was clean and comfortable and contained air conditioning. Upon our arrival, the owner sat down with us to give suggestions for sights to see in Rome and provide information about using public transportation.

We ran into a strange situation our first night as the power went out on the entire city block. The owner was quite apologetic and did everything he could to help. Also, he promptly fixed the lock on our room when we found we it wouldn’t lock from the inside.

Breakfast was your typical Italian breakfast and consisted of juice, tea or coffee and two croissants. Pino, who works the breakfast at Independence Square, was also helpful with providing suggestions of what to see and do in Rome. As well, he gave us extra croissants to take (they were prepackaged) knowing that we had a couple of early mornings where we’d be departing before breakfast.

Wireless internet was available in the rooms free of charge and the room had a fridge that we could use.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank countryboy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2010

Me and a mate stayed two nights here at the end of September - the room was a bit small but other than that very friendly and knowledgable American chap. Good location, close to the station but in a nice area and 10 minutes walk to all the sites. Nice simple breakfast too.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dtfrworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

Independence square is good for budget, host is very friendly and gives advice and any help you need.
Rooms are very small but we coped. Breakfast consisted of 2 pastries and tea or coffee and an orange juice which was fine with us.
About 10 minute walk from termini, supermarket nearby and we had a fridge in the room so could store water and few snacks.
I would recommend for travelling on a budget.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curlyloulou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2010

A convenient location, near the Termini where you get to move around easily.
The place was basic as per the rate, but comfortable though. Got breakfast also in the morning- that also basic.
We got late into Rome, the host/ receptionist was helpful with the information about sightseeing and local travel.
I mean, at the rate we got the hotel, it was perfectly fine- toilet and bathroom attached to the room itself. And in the city.
Would recommend if you are travelling on budget.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank masny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Nardizzi Americana
Nardizzi Americana
#278 of 1,267 in Rome
712 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#36 of 1,267 in Rome
1,352 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#443 of 1,267 in Rome
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Indipendenza
Hotel Indipendenza
#840 of 1,267 in Rome
228 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#365 of 1,267 in Rome
421 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Andreotti
Hotel Andreotti
#270 of 1,267 in Rome
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Independence Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Independence Square

Address: Via Castelfidardo 78, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,527 of 3,711 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: £42 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Independence Square 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Independence Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Independence Square Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing