We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Independence Square
Ranked #1,523 of 3,709 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We had a very good experience here. Most of the staff speaks English. The b&b is located very close to Termini Station, about a 5 minute walk. When locating the hotel follow the addresses as there is NO sign with the name on the building. It actually looks like an apartment building & you need to "buzz" to get in. For that reason, we felt very safe. The rooms are very small but we were in Rome to sight-see so the room was just used for sleeping & showering. Very clean & comfortable. I could have used one more pillow but my husband & I just rolled up an extra blanket & that helped. We slept with the window open each night as air conditioning was an additional 5 Euro per night. The outside noise was minimal. It was a bit noisy when they were cleaning the restaurant which they also own, Trattoria Al Camoscio D'Abruzzo. Look for that sign when going to the hotel. Guest receive a 10% discount if you eat there. The food was delicious. They also provide a continental breakfast: coffee, juice, croissant, toast. They gave us a great map of the city which was extremely helpful when travelling around. We were able to walk everywhere. The Coliseum, Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon & even the Vatican. The staff was very helpful in giving directions or answering any questions. One of the staff is from Boston so he & my husband had a great "heated" political conversation. If you are on a budget I would recommend this hotel for sure & if not on a budget, I still recommend it & spend your extra cash on souvenirs:)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MaryKopp2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
There are newer reviews for Independence Square
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2013

Nice and quiet room with a double bed, two bathrooms on the floor for 3 rooms plus a sink in the room. Free breakfast: croissants, juice & coffee. Friendly staff, they offered to keep our baggage there for a few hours after check out. Walking distance (aprx. 20 min) to main attractions (Fori Imperiali, Colosseum etc.)
This private room was only 5 euro more expensive than a shared, mixed dorm at a hostel in the same area, at the time we traveled.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kity0404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This B&B had charm and was perfectly adequate for a 3 day stay in Rome. The room was small but had a private bath and an available hair dryer for guest use. There were many stairs involved so it is not suitable for those who are not physically capable of climbing. The breakfast consisted of a croissant with jam and a coffee, typical of all Italian B&B's. Just outside the B&B was a restaurant which served all the local dishes so one did not have to go far to eat after a day of exploring Rome. Roma Termini was easily reached in a 10 minute walk. Pino, a staff member, gave great directions on where to catch the bus back to Fiumicino Airport and this is gratefully acknowledged.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancydee51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Walking distance from Termini Station and easy walk to the Colosseum, Fountain di Trevi and the Spanish Steps. Basic rooms, but clean and comfortable and helpful staff. Private bathroom, internet access that works, and free breakfast (basic croissants but good espresso). It was a great location giving us access to everywhere because we wanted to walk the city. The staff was great and it was reasonably priced. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We over looked the street with a nice sunny view of the beautiful street, but a little traffic noise...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olivia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Really nice hotel in the heart of the city.
Great location, short distance from metro, train and bus station, even on foot wasn't far from the ancient part of Rome, about 20 min from Coloseo. Lots of cafes, restaurants and few supermarkets in the neighbourhood.
Room was very clean and nice, with flat TV and mini fridge, our private bathroom was small, but had everything we needed. The staff was very friendly and helpful. And cappuccino in the morning - delicious:) For breakfast was croissant or toast with coffee, enough for a good start. We had a very nice stay for a great price, and we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anja_2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

This was one of my favorite places to stay during our two week europe vacay. As soon as we got there, we were given maps and provided with metro information and a card with a phone number we could call if we needed anything. Very cool guys. Especially the gentleman from the States whose name I cannot remember! Very welcoming and helpful. I loved our room, and even our building. I felt very at home. The bathroom is shared with a few other people but it really wasn't a problem. I liked that everything felt pretty clean too. People seem to be ragging on the breakfast but it wasn't all that. I loved the morning cappucino =) I'm guessing they're referring to the pre-packaged croissants/toast. I kind of liked them though =X My favorite were the chocolate filled croissants...I mean really it's free...but I guess I'm not much of a breakfast person either way so I wasn't looking for eggs/bacon & pancakes or something.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Juanita A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

The staff makes this place. Upon arrival we were greeted nicely and provided with a map and good tips. The rooms are clean with a fridge and it's close to the station (although still some way from all the sites). The cons though are a poor breakfast (served from 8:00), very small bathroom with no place to but anything and did I mention the poor breakfast. Would not recommend for families with kids.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank EDR21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Nardizzi Americana
Nardizzi Americana
#264 of 1,267 in Rome
712 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#36 of 1,267 in Rome
1,347 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#442 of 1,267 in Rome
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Indipendenza
Hotel Indipendenza
#835 of 1,267 in Rome
228 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#362 of 1,267 in Rome
421 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Andreotti
Hotel Andreotti
#272 of 1,267 in Rome
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Independence Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Independence Square

Address: Via Castelfidardo 78, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,523 of 3,709 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: £41 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Independence Square 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Independence Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Independence Square Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing