We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“STAY SOME WHERE ELSE!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Orange Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Orange Hotel
Ranked #641 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“STAY SOME WHERE ELSE!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

When booking this hotel I saw it was a 4 star hotel. This is more like a 2 star motel. It is very hard to find if you take the metro or bus from the airport. They do not have a main street entrance, it is down an alley. When entering you will need to carry your bags up about 10 to 12 steps before getting to the elevator. The rooms where very noisy from the outdoor busy street and the beds where like sleeping on the floor. If you are overweight, have fun trying to get in and out of the shower. The shower doors have a very narrow opening. At night, about 8 pm it becomes a ghost town around there when the Vatican closes. I would recommend staying near the trevi fountain. That is where we spent most our nights because there are a lot of people out still enjoying Rome at night.

Room Tip: Find another hotel. You will not get any sleep here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brandon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chiara_salesmanager, Direttore at Orange Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2013
Dear Brandon thank you for taking the time to review us!
To be sincere we found some inconsistency in your dissatisfaction, as we can accept that for your personal taste you’d like more Trevi fountain crowd than Vatican city “tranquility” (made of “very noisy busy street” as you said) but from here to invite everyone to stay somewhere else…..
We’d like to specify that we have 2 entrances, both on the main street, and something like 4 Orange signboard!
At the entrance there is a flight of stairs but you can certainly leave your luggage there and the staff will take care of it.
Beds usually are our point of proudness, and we are very sorry if you found them uncomfortable.
Furthermore please let us inform you that we have different size of showers, and the closer is with a door opening of Mt 1,5.
We look forward to welcoming you back, should you not decide to stay at Trevi fountain next time in Rome!
Please contact us and we’ll more than glad to arrange something special for you!
Sincerely

Lara S. Bianco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    179
    106
    56
    40
See reviews for
67
265
21
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

Orange Hotel is located in a great spot. Rome is a fab city to just walk around, and many good places of interest were within walking distance; the Vatican, Castle Saint Angelo, Trastevere and much more. It's also close to the San Pietro metro station. There were many good places to eat around in the area, but actually one of the best was the hotel's own restaurant. Great food and service, always a pleasure to eat there.
The hotel itself was ok. The rooms were, as others have said, basic, but clean. We had 3 channels on our TV (not wanting to pay for SKY etc), but didn't use the TV that much anyway. The biggest problem was the noise from the street. Heavy traffic which started already at 5 in the morning. Bring ear plugs! The staff were really great and helpful and always took time to answer any questions we had. Their English was also really good. It's a good hotel to stay in, but the restaurant made the stay very good. Just be warned about the noise from the street.

Room Tip: If possible, try to avoid getting a room directly facing Via Crescenzio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chiara_salesmanager, Manager at Orange Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2013
Dear Paul thank you for taking the time to review the Orange Hotel and for the nice words spent for the Roof Restaurant, all the staff will be proud and happy of it! And we are happy you ‘ve appreciated our location and our staff, too. We know the importance of a quiet and relaxing stay and for this reason we deeply apologize for any inconvenience caused by the street noise. Your input and feedback are welcomed and we are working on it! Only one point on the TV Channel: we have a satellite decoder in each room and it needs to be ON to see all the channels, but we are sure you never double checked it as you never really needed to watch tv: you were in the Eternal city, then! Thank you again Paul, hope to see you back soon so we’ll have the chance to not only meet, but exceed your expectations in the future!
Sincerely
Lara S. B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

The best thing about this hotel is the location - only 5 mins walk from St Peters Square and the Vatican Museum. The Museum is worth a visit, but will need at least half a day - a lot to see, but worth it.
Make sure you ask for the price of drinks before you buy - went for a pizza, a beer and a glass of wine, in a little Cafe on the corner of the square, just around the corner from the hotel and were charged 16 Euros for the Beer!
As for the hotel, it was clean, but very orange! Our room was OK - nice big bed, but lighting very dim, as all shades were orange! The TV was supported to have English channels, but we couldn't find any.
Breakfast was good value at 5 Euros - usual continental. Roof terrace had a nice view, but a bit basic.
Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. Gave us maps and recommend where to visit etc - were going home without seeing the Trevii fountain, as only had two day - receptionist said we had to go and told us how to get the tube - only 3 stops and 1.50 Euros.
Just watch out for City Bus Tour promoted by the hotel. Cost 22 Euros per person - but when we got to the street where the tours start, found tours that were only 14 Euros and their buses were more frequent. So I recommend that you just pay when you get there.
The bus shuttle we got from the airport through Expedia was great - good value and efficient.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank normskimc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chiara_salesmanager, Direttore at Orange Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2013
Dear Guest thank you very much for taking the time to review us. We are happy you liked our location and our staff! As we really look forward to improving us, we have taken good note of your remark about lighting and tv (there are several English channels, but you’ve to put the decoder on to see them. After your note we decided to put directions to make the use easier!).
We really hope to host you back soon!
Lara S.B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

Whilst this hotel has a good location, it is basic and did not live up to star rating. Rooms are clean but basic. Breakfast is basic but adequate. Disappointing hotel in a fabulous city. Not for me, perhaps more suited to young backpacker/students.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pauline o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chiara_salesmanager, Direttore at Orange Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2013
Dear Guest thank you for reviewing us. We are sorry we didn’t met your taste. As we claim on our website, the label “UNUSUAL HOTEL” wants to make sure that you’re familiar with our unusual approach right from the moment when you make your reservation. This is Orange Hotel: sinister and clever hemisphere, rationality and excitement. And backpackers students are very welcome to us, as well as Design lovers, conscious ecologists, and all the travelers from all over the world!
Sincerely
Lara S. B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norwich
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

This is a converted office building tucked behind a bank, first impressions was "oh dear " .

I'm all for quirky but this was just tatt . Lift was still the old service lift and could fit max 2 people. The roof top terrace ummmmm....... very disappointing and naff, NO panoramic view of Rome , just delightful roof tops , breakfast was a disaster , we came to breakfast yesterday and 7 out of 10 tables hadn’t been cleared leaving us the choice of 2 . Very DIY , fruit juice in cool bags, hot water in flasks , boil your own eggs, one choice of bread , broken toaster , set your own table need i go on !!! Decor was tatty and uncomfortable. Staff seemed to have plenty to say to their colleagues in the inside of the restaurant, but no service to us.

We were charged and extra £100 for six breakfasts, £16.66 each which was no better or worse than a Hostel. I think in this instants I would rather of had a MC Muffin from the McDonalds a few meters away, and saved the approx £30.00 for an evening meal.

Plus side, location, but if you are going to have a hotel near a very busy noisy road, you should invest in secondary glazing and maybe some black out blinds as Venetian blinds not adequate. Room was clean but felt a bit like a cell. I would recommend this hotel to students and back packers.

Staffs on reception are to be commended!! Very helpful

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NAOMIWIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chiara_salesmanager, Direttore at Orange Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2013
Dear Guest thank you for your review. We see you didn’t like the restaurant, and we are sorry you had this bad impression about breakfast, it is not included in our rates and you can choose if having it or not during your stay. Anyway the price of € 5,00 per person per day is very reasonable if you’ll consider the variety of food offered. Most of the guests really appreciated it, we are sorry it doesn’t met your taste.
Thank you for the suggestion to invest in soundproofing windows, absolutely we will! Furthermore we’d like to inform you that we do have black out blinds in every room, with automatic control on the side of the bed!
Finally we thank you very much for your appreciation of the reception staff, which we are very proud about, and, as said in previous comments, backpackers students are very welcomed as well as Design lovers, conscious ecologists, and all the travellers from all over the world!
Sincerely
Lara S.B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

My son Bohn Butler wrote a review on the hotel and I agree completly. Everything was nice and what we expected, except check in and check out. It took way to long for us to check into two rooms and check out was even longer with the billing for the rooms confused and the first folio was incorrect and had to be redone.The location was good and the active street didn't bother me. The breakfast was good and I liked the rooftop location.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janiebutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chiara_salesmanager, Direttore at Orange Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2013
Dear Guest thank you very much for expressing your satisfaction about the hotel overall and the restaurant.
We apologize for the delay in checking in and out, we had now speeded it and we look forward to welcoming you and your family soon in order to experience all the improvements recently made.
Arrivederci!

Lara S. Bianco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

I stayed in this hotel at the end of February while in town to cover the Pope's resignation. Location is excellent for the Vatican, but the real selling point was the friendliness of the staff. They did their very best to make my stay an easy one, helping with all my queries and specific needs. They even opened up the rooftop restaurant (really relaxing space) early for me when I was in desperate need of coffee.

The hotel is nice but a little basic, but you are made to feel that the staff will do what they can to make you as comfortable as possible. That said, my room was quite small and rather noisy, because of the proximity of the street traffic. Bedspread was slightly under-cleaned, and WiFi is NOT free and not particularly strong. Phone was also faulty but was quickly replaced.

All in all, I would recommend this hotel, because hospitality is a really important factor.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Atlante Garden Hotel
Atlante Garden Hotel
#378 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Prati
Hotel Dei Consoli
Hotel Dei Consoli
#515 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Prati
Twentyone Hotel
Twentyone Hotel
#200 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Grand Olympic - Aurum Hotel
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel Atlante Star
Hotel Atlante Star
#382 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
Prati
Infinity Hotel St. Peter
Infinity Hotel St. Peter
#189 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orange Hotel

Property: Orange Hotel
Address: Via Crescenzio 86, 00193 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Rome
#296 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Orange Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orange Hotel is a hotel located in the center of Rome near the Vatican. The unique design, attention to detail and its proximity to St. Peter's Square and the Vatican City, means this hotel in central Rome is very much appreciated and popular in the capital. The Orange hotel is synonymous with design and comfort. The prime location, comfortable spaces and the presence of all the amenities of a hotel, make your hotel stay a unique and unforgettable experience. Concept Hotel. Beyond Stars. Smart Price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Orange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orange Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing