We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy street”
Review of Orange Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Orange Hotel
Ranked #626 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We spent one night at the Orange Hotel. The front desk staff was very nice but that was all the hotel had to offer. The room was very small, and the bathroom was dirty. The room had a strange and awful smell when we first enter. The room safe was located in an awkward place (on the floor of the closet, so you had to get on your hands and knees to get to the safe). The worst part of our stay was the noisy street (you can hear the loud cars all night long... non stop). This is the worst hotel we ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theresa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (505)
There are newer reviews for Orange Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 506 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2013

I spent 3 nights at the Orange Hotel. I can honestly say that this is the most over rated hotel I have come across and I have stayed in many!A conversion of an office block that essentially dupes potential guests into pretending to be a trendy 'green' boutique experience.Orange wet look cushions on the landing and stencilled writing on the stairways doesn't cut it and the room I stayed in was small and miserable.From tvs sitting in aluminium receptacles to blinds that didnt quite make the cill (meaning early wake ups) the hotel is a poorly fitted and 'tired'. Poor YMCA style breakfast with a Rottweiler 'maitre d' that only appears when a guest tries to work out the breakfast protocol. Ludicrously expensive too. How others can rate this hotel positively is a mystery to me! It is handy for the vatican which is where the positivity ends.

Shabby chic might be the objective? Certainly the former . A smelly room was blamed on the air conditioning but was 'eau de B.O'.

Room Tip: Avoid.. There are much better hotels which deserve the 4 star rating in the area.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tim h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Good location for sites, but right next to a late night Karaoke bar and busy street. If you want any sleep don't stay at this hotel.

Service is average - seen better and worse.

Rooms are clean, but very basic.

Breakfast and wi-fi is extra.

Overall very poor value for money and the experience was quote painful. Most expensive stay in our entire trip and it was the worst hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davidedwardhewitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chiara_salesmanager, Direttore at Orange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2013

Dear David thank you for your review!
Very sorry for the experience, but we have to say that as soon as we knew your night has been so difficult (as you wrote your review while in the hotel, after the first night) we changed your room and you said you were very satisfied!
What a pity you could not change your review, as you’ve changed your mind!
However we’d like to specify that no karaoke bar is next door, it was just our neighbor birthday party, and, thanks God, it’s once in a year!
Please contact us when you are planning to visit back Rome, we’ll make your stay in to the Eternal city very special with a special deal!
Sincerely

Lara S. Bianco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We stayed at this hotel in May 2013. We found our stay very pleasant as everywhere was spotlessly clean and the people at the reception desk were extremely friendly.
The breakfast was a little less than we expected-just cold meats, cheese and bread. There were eggs that you had to boil yourself and the milk for the cereal was a little warm.
The bedroom was very quirky-it had a little upstairs maid from metal which you had to walk up to with shoes on unless you wanted to cut your feet to pieces!
All round, it had a great location, was clean, had friendly staff but not worth the price if you didn't book in advance!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chiara_salesmanager, Direttore at Orange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2013

Dear Jessica thank you for your review! Very happy you appreciated the staff and cleanliness of the hotel. About the small stairs in your junior suite “unique” room…don’t worry it has been tested by the owner in person and we can ensure he still has his feet!
We have taken good note of the breakfast weak point and we’ll work on them!
We look forward to welcoming you back, we are sure you’d like to try all our quirky junior suite too!
Sincerely

Lara S. Bianco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed for a week at the Hotel Orange in Rome. The staff was very friendly and helpful at all times. The bed was spacious and comfortable. It would be helpful if a chest of drawers was added to the furniture where you could put your small items of clothing and more coat hangers in the wardrobe.. The situation of the Hotel was excellent for visiting the vatican just 5 minutes walk. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JHallLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chiara_salesmanager, Direttore at Orange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2013

Dear Guest thank you very much for this nice review! Here at the Orange Hotel we are happy if guests are happy!
We have taken good note of your suggestion for chest of drawers, thank you for let us knowing it!
We look forward to welcoming you back!
Sincerely

Lara S. Bianco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

This small hotel is well located, close to the Vatican, Metro (subway) and places to eat that are reasonably priced. Rooms are very clean and quiet when considering one is on a busy road. Breakfast on the roof-top is convenient and reasonable - 5 euros per person. This we found great when not wanting to search for something light to start the day. Little inconveniences are the reason for not rating this hotel higher, or as a four star as promoted. They relate to general maintenance, e.g. from day one of eight we had to request for repairs to the bar fridge that failed to get cold, leaking wash hand basin, window latches that failed to hold the open window in place and a TV that failed to work on a consistent basis

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chiara_salesmanager, Direttore at Orange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2013

Dear Kevin thank you for you review and for pointing out the maintenance issues. Sorry you had to experience them, we hope to have the opportunity to host you back soon to test the improvements recently made!
See you soon.
Sincerely

Lara S. Bianco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

When booking this hotel I saw it was a 4 star hotel. This is more like a 2 star motel. It is very hard to find if you take the metro or bus from the airport. They do not have a main street entrance, it is down an alley. When entering you will need to carry your bags up about 10 to 12 steps before getting to the elevator. The rooms where very noisy from the outdoor busy street and the beds where like sleeping on the floor. If you are overweight, have fun trying to get in and out of the shower. The shower doors have a very narrow opening. At night, about 8 pm it becomes a ghost town around there when the Vatican closes. I would recommend staying near the trevi fountain. That is where we spent most our nights because there are a lot of people out still enjoying Rome at night.

Room Tip: Find another hotel. You will not get any sleep here.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brandon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chiara_salesmanager, Direttore at Orange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2013

Dear Brandon thank you for taking the time to review us!
To be sincere we found some inconsistency in your dissatisfaction, as we can accept that for your personal taste you’d like more Trevi fountain crowd than Vatican city “tranquility” (made of “very noisy busy street” as you said) but from here to invite everyone to stay somewhere else…..
We’d like to specify that we have 2 entrances, both on the main street, and something like 4 Orange signboard!
At the entrance there is a flight of stairs but you can certainly leave your luggage there and the staff will take care of it.
Beds usually are our point of proudness, and we are very sorry if you found them uncomfortable.
Furthermore please let us inform you that we have different size of showers, and the closer is with a door opening of Mt 1,5.
We look forward to welcoming you back, should you not decide to stay at Trevi fountain next time in Rome!
Please contact us and we’ll more than glad to arrange something special for you!
Sincerely

Lara S. Bianco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Atlante Garden Hotel
Atlante Garden Hotel
#389 of 1,267 in Rome
995 reviews
Prati
Hotel Dei Consoli
Hotel Dei Consoli
#482 of 1,267 in Rome
789 reviews
Prati
Hotel Prati
Hotel Prati
#530 of 1,267 in Rome
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Infinity Hotel St. Peter
Infinity Hotel St. Peter
#260 of 1,267 in Rome
592 reviews
Prati
Twentyone Hotel
Twentyone Hotel
#190 of 1,267 in Rome
1,602 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel della Conciliazione
Hotel della Conciliazione
#47 of 1,267 in Rome
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orange Hotel

Address: Via Crescenzio 86, 00193 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Rome
#294 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £72 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Orange Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orange Hotel is a hotel located in the center of Rome near the Vatican. The unique design, attention to detail and its proximity to St. Peter's Square and the Vatican City, means this hotel in central Rome is very much appreciated and popular in the capital. The Orange hotel is synonymous with design and comfort. The prime location, comfortable spaces and the presence of all the amenities of a hotel, make your hotel stay a unique and unforgettable experience. Concept Hotel. Beyond Stars. Smart Price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Orange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orange Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing