We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, very helpful staff, noisy location”
Review of Orange Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Orange Hotel
Ranked #633 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The good: Great location close to Vatican city and walkable distance to most of the sites and an easy metro ride to the more distant ones (Colosseum, Forum). Breakfast was adequate and gluten-free friendly. Most importantly the staff was very helpful with restaurant suggestions and transport the airport (a nearby express bus is much cheaper than the rail option). The air conditioning is very powerful once you figure out how to work it. Showers were more consistent and powerful than you usually find in Italy.

The bad: I think the most popular bar in Rome is right next door with lots of outdoor seating on a busy road so it is very noisy in the (somewhat small) rooms - the noise didn't bother me or my wife, but did bother my brother and his wife in the room above us. Maintenance is a bit of an issue, our safe didn't work, my brother's AC remote was balky, and neither of us could get our televisions to work.

The décor contains a lot of orange, so if you crave soothing colors you won't find it here.

Overall the experience is pretty typical of hotels in the western hemisphere so I would recommend it (unless you are a light sleeper)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Douglas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (506)
There are newer reviews for Orange Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 506 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed at the Hotel Orange while on a 3 night stay in Rome in February 2014. Location of the hotel is excellent for visiting the Vatican City, only a 5 minute walk. The nearest metro station is about a 10 minute walk or if like us you enjoy walking you can be at the Spanish Steps etc in about 20 to 25 minutes. There are plenty of nice restaurants and bars beside the hotel. The hotel itself is contemporary, rooms are small but have everything you need. We stayed on a room only basis as there were plenty of places for breakfast near by. Staff were friendly and helpful. It is a very good hotel and great location for a long weekend in Rome. Will most certainly be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JMCG47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Good hotel lovely staff food was great wifi was brilliant very close to the Vatican about a five minute walk away would definitely return well worth a visit plenty to see very near local shops and restuarants

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j0n1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Small hotel close to the Sistine Chapel... easy to find, close to the metro, contemporary style, small rooms , friendly staff, safe area, a walk to the Vatican, overall a great small hotel for quick weekend in Rome.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adrianlovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Hotel is very good location - Prati neat Vatican. Area is peaceful and very nice.
Staff are very helpful and kind. Our room inc own jacuzzi and that was totaly suprise for us.
Internet doesnt work and breakfast was very poor.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annu70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Great location near the Vatican! The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean but tiny. Our room was so tiny that I didn't enjoy spending too much time in the room. Typically, we would leave early in the morning and not return until it was time for bed. The hotel was part of a package that also included the airfare. As it was quite affordable, we were quite pleased with the hotel.

Room Tip: If you are offered an upgrade to a junior suite for 30 euros more a night, take it!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cristian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

The location of the hotel is perfect for the Vatican and the metro is only a couple of minutes away to explore the rest of Rome. The staff on reception were first class and the rooms were clean and tidy however that's were the good points end. If I paid for a budget 2 or 3 star hotel it would have been perfect but I paid for a luxury 4 star hotel. The rooms rather than being boutique simply look cheap and poorly finished also we had a Jacuzzi bath that leaked and it also looked like a bath room above had the same issue as we had a water stain all the way down one wall. The thing that lets this hotel done more than anything though is the breakfast its absolutely shocking and substandard, do not pay extra for this at all costs!

Basically this is a good 2/3 star hotel but certainly not 4 star!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank keiron s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Atlante Garden Hotel
Atlante Garden Hotel
#390 of 1,267 in Rome
997 reviews
Prati
Hotel Dei Consoli
Hotel Dei Consoli
#492 of 1,267 in Rome
791 reviews
Prati
Infinity Hotel St. Peter
Infinity Hotel St. Peter
#265 of 1,267 in Rome
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Hotel Prati
Hotel Prati
#529 of 1,267 in Rome
230 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel della Conciliazione
Hotel della Conciliazione
#48 of 1,267 in Rome
668 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel Atlante Star
Hotel Atlante Star
#409 of 1,267 in Rome
1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orange Hotel

Address: Via Crescenzio 86, 00193 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Rome
#295 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £64 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Orange Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orange Hotel is a hotel located in the center of Rome near the Vatican. The unique design, attention to detail and its proximity to St. Peter's Square and the Vatican City, means this hotel in central Rome is very much appreciated and popular in the capital. The Orange hotel is synonymous with design and comfort. The prime location, comfortable spaces and the presence of all the amenities of a hotel, make your hotel stay a unique and unforgettable experience. Concept Hotel. Beyond Stars. Smart Price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Orange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orange Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing