We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great little place to stay in Rome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Piazza di Spagna View
Ranked #547 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“a great little place to stay in Rome”
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Perfect location for visiting Rome. Right overlooking the Spanish Steps in a wonderful neighbourhood of cafes, restaurants and designer stores. Unpretentious little hotel of six rooms occupying one floor of a building on the plaza. Nice staff. Nice stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norman V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    64
    17
    7
    6
See reviews for
28
81
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my daughter from jan 1 to 4. great location in a pedestrianised area, so you don't hear, or get mowed down by, Rome's infamous traffic. You wake to the sound of bells from the local churches. Breakfast is cappuccino and croissants in bed. Clean room and good shower, with an amazing view. Can easily walk to all the big sites. Local restaurants were not great, but a 5 minute walk towards the pantheon or Trevi fountain and you find all the beer and pizza you will ever need! Easy to find your way home to; just look for numerous signs to piazza di spagna. Staff were friendly and even excused our obvious ignorance of the Italian language. Cool lift too.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank christhomson1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stawell, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Perfect Location with a perfect view of the famous Spanish Steps. Our room was comfortable and spotless,,,,,,,open the window and there are the Spanish Steps,,,,,,,,,,,what else would you wont.
The staff are very friendly and helpful, and the complimentary breakfast was amazing server by a lovely lady. My Daughter and I loved our three day stay at Pizza di Spagne View. Thank you to all the staff for making our stay so enjoyable, will return soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nada D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, VA
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

This is a small hotel in a large building to the left of the Spanish Steps. We had a wonderful view of the Spanish Steps from our room. The small room was quiet when the windows were closed. The free wifi worked well. The room was clean and neat. There was a small table and 2 stools, a 24” flat screen TV, a large full-length mirror, and a small refrigerator. No safe in the room. The closet included wooden hangers. The bathroom had a shower (no tub) with both a rain-shower head and a hand-held nozzle, both with good water pressure. There were large bath towels, but no little bottles of shampoo, conditioner, or lotion. -- The staff was nice and helpful. They stored my luggage until I could check in, provided maps, and suggested restaurants. -- Breakfast was served in the room. We had cappucino and pastries. -- The Metro is beside the building which the hotel is in, so very convenient. There are lots of good little restaurants nearby. I would stay there again.

It was hard to locate and enter the hotel even though I had no difficulty finding the building and knew not to expect a traditional lobby on the ground floor. The front desk is manned only part time, so it is best that you arrive when the front desk is manned. Since flights from the US often arrive early in the morning, and it is difficult to predict how long getting through passport control and picking up luggage will take, it is hard to tell the hotel a precise arrival time. I had corresponded with the hotel, but did not correctly estimate my arrival time. I was off by half an hour and found the doors on the 4th floor locked. I waited about 15 minutes in the hall until I was able to get in because a guest left. This difficulty in arriving at the hotel when someone is readily available to let me in is my only hesitation about staying in this hotel again. -- Instructions on the website need to be more specific. You need to ring the doorbell at the downstairs entrance. If an employee is there, they will open the doors of the 4th floor for you. The hotel is one of several establishments in the building (including Relais Peirret Hotel and private residences). Then you take a tiny elevator up to the 4th floor (push 4) in order to enter the hotel. The doorbell on the 4th floor does not work and the doors are closed and locked often. Once you check in, you receive 3 keys, to the 3 doors you may have to unlock to enter the hotel and your room. -- The taxi drops you about half a block from the hotel, as they often will not drive into the piazza (there are so many people).

The Keats Museum is just on the other side of the Spanish Steps from this hotel. It was interesting and worth visiting.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank haveticketwilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Unless you can afford 5* this is an excellent hotel in the heart of Rome. Open the windows to look at the Spanish steps. Better views than the nearby Hassler that costs Euro500 a night! Lovely breakfast brought to our room. Perfect. Will def go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank epalz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

If you're looking for a clean, comfortable place to sleep and shower while you're out touring Rome, this is it. My husband and I knew we wouldn't spend a lot of time in the hotel, but rather out seeing the sights and were therefore reluctant to spend a lot of money on the bells and whistles of a five star hotel, however we didn't want to sacrifice comfort and cleanliness. This was exactly what we needed - nothing more, nothing less. It's located literally next door to the Spanish steps and more importantly, the metra line that takes you everywhere. It isn't actually a hotel (no real lobby or anything) but has someone at the desk during business hours who were both very friendly and professional. Bathroom was clean and new, bed was comfortable, and great cappuccino and croissants for breakfast in the morning. Overall, exactly what we were looking for. The only downfall for some may be that because you're right outside the Spanish steps, so it can get noisy as it's a local meeting point for Italian 'ragazzi' and students studying abroad. You can avoid this by asking for an interior room, but then of course you don't get the view out over the steps.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

My husband and I, early 60s, stayed 2 nights in this b&b. Our stay was made enjoyable by the staff who were very pleasant and accommodating. Roberte, at the front desk, e-mailed us a couple of days prior to our visit to Rome, requesting our estimated time of arrival. Registration was immediate.Virginie, who has worked there many years, ensured that our room was clean and tidy, adding toiletries daily. The washroom was newly renovated with a great shower. The firm bed did not bother us as it is our preference.The continental breakfast was brought to our room at the exact time chosen. Great espresso and reg coffee... Breakfast in bed is quite a luxury! And the view of the Spanish Steps, coupled with a nice bottle of wine we had purchased for 15 euros at a nearby store, people watching, what more can I say? We heard, nor saw any of our neighbours from the other rooms, even though they were occupied. The subway is nearby, just around the corner. We took it to Vatican City. A recommended restaurant would be Alla Rampa. The tenderloin Alla Rampa was delish! To find this restaurant, upon leaving the b&b, cross in front of the Spanish Steps and turn left at the following ramp-like street. Good food @ reasonable prices.Our relatives were staying at a 5 star hotel a few minutes away and, as we surely would on our next trip to Rome, we would all stay at the Piazza di Spagna View. We also appreciate our Canadian- Italian friends' recommendation to stay in this area of Rome.

Room Tip: Read reviews. They are useful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAMLZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
#57 of 1,263 in Rome
379 reviews
Campo Marzio
Inn Spagna Charming House
Inn Spagna Charming House
#297 of 1,263 in Rome
274 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Piazza di Spagna
Hotel Piazza di Spagna
#379 of 1,263 in Rome
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Piazza di Spagna Suites
Piazza di Spagna Suites
#543 of 1,263 in Rome
251 reviews
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#97 of 1,263 in Rome
1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piazza di Spagna View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piazza di Spagna View

Property: Piazza di Spagna View
Address: Piazza di Spagna 20, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #547 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Piazza di Spagna View 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Piazza di Spagna View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piazza Di Spagna View Hotel Rome
Piazza Di Spagna View Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing