We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location, location”
Review of Hotel Royal House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Royal House
Ranked #709 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Shanghai, China
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“location, location”
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We just returned from our trip to Rome with our 3 children. After reading some reviews on trip advisor we decided to book this hotel. We booked a room with 2 double beds. The room was a very good size and even had a sofa where one of the kids could sleep on.
The location was great and the breakfast too. The possibility to have lunch or dinner on the roof terrace with a view direct to the colosseum was awesome.
Be aware that the area is quite lively with a lot of noise during the evening/night. The rooms are above a bar/restaurant and especially saturday night, there was a lot of noise.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bloembloembloem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    45
    25
    11
    11
See reviews for
31
61
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012 via mobile

What a fabulous location and atmosphere. We stayed in the quad room that was very spacious and clean. We loved everything about this hotel except the breakfast as noted in previous reviews- so we had expected this. We cannot wait to return. A great choice of local restuarants, cafes and of course the view. The noise from the nightclubs below was barely audible with the double glazed windows closed however when open they added to the fantastic party atmosphere of being in this larger than life city.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Cath B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

good communication with staff pre holiday, They arranged a pickup from airport and back.
Rooms very clean,food delicious,and a view to die for well mabe not die.The staff downstairs were very friendly and eager to help us with directions. The hotel was in a superb location the balcony overlooked the colosseum when dinning on the balcony i was overwhelmed with the view. the view from my room was the colosseum and i had no problems with noise at night. However my friends had a room that looked onto the street at the side of the hotel, at night the street came alive.till around 2am it became a meeting place for all genders.we enjoyed the music my friend had a slight problem sleeping i gave her ear plugs that done the trick. The hop on hop of bus was very good we took it most days ,and saw a lot of Rome.

Room Tip: rooms to the front of hotel quieter and better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank h5hln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
Reviewed 6 April 2012

very nice hotel good location good stuff very friendly and helpful. rooms too clean i can feel that i am at home you can feel warm feelings with people there i can stay in the same hotel next time

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahmed_moheeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Great location and great view - easy to get back to after a long day. A little loud in the evening hours due to the restaurant being open late. Staff was friendly and the ammenitites were great.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kfexc9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I am marking this in the category very good as in a very good Italian experience. If you are looking for luxurious surroundings this won't be the place but, if your looking for warm cozy feelings with charming people who make you feel important this is your place. The views of the Colosseum are great, the food in the restaurant is good, and being made to feel at home is superb.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheriG7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

So let me just first start by saying. That we arrived in Rome on the 1st time in 50 years the snows had hit the city. But as we arrived with the snow coming down. We were able to contact the folks at Royal House. The cab had a bit of a time finding the place as the entrance to the hotel is on the side of the Royal Bar, Cafe, and Restaurant.

We were brought in and show our rooms right away with one of the guys carrying our suitcases as we carried the baby and the baby wagon up the stairs. Let me say that not having an elevator is not that big of a deal as we were going to be walking the city in a Borjne but it is good to know for people with hip issues little kids or just lazy in nature and do not feel like climbing stairs.

When we got into the room. We were quite impressed with the size of the room, furnishings and the Bathroom was massive...... I had a bidet but no bath. With the size of the bathroom it would be good if they decided to add the bath. But still did not detract from the room as it had towel warmers and heated floors. It had high ceilings with a very comfortable bed. A little firm for my wife's taste but in my book the firmer the better.

The bed was a Queen size with quality bedding and the room had a tv and nightstands. Now there were a few quirks that made me and the wife think this was more like a BnB and not so much a full blown hotel.

1. Room service - was walking downstairs sliding the door between the hotel and restaurant and talking to to restaurant staff and ordering meals up to your room. The nice thing is that
the hotel guests got a 20% discount and they delivered it to the room.

2. Not to many frills but was very homey and friendly. Devoid of the rack of information located in the lobby. But the staff was great for local knowledge.

We were so tired on the first night we did not notice the dull thud and bump of the bass from the discoteque that we did on our second night. Additionally, the vibrations from the tram outside could distress light sleepers. But I truly was not overly bothered or woken due to the tram or the bass. Then again I live in a city and it is par for the course with city living.

The breakfast was good I will call Italian continental. Grape Juice, Sweet Bun, platter of meats with fresh bread.... To be honest when told the bread was fresh it did not have that chew you would get from fresh bread...More like day old. But not being picky with a < 100 Euro room.

The rooms were cleaned every day. Very clean well made beds. My only complaint is that there would be a scent of heavy smoke depending on when we came back for the day. I am a smoker my wife is not and my baby is Definitely not! Sp I can understand the smoking in the culture but when running a business do it outside the rooms or maybe the building.

The only other thing I would find to be a little of a let down was that the door with the high security dimple key was always open. Either the latch was thrown intentionally or it did not catch at all. I come from a security background so that was a personal pet peeve for me.

All in all this place is a gem. I am nit picking a little. But these are things that people should know about. The location is perfect, The view is fantastic and the restaurant is damn good to boot. It is a good fit for couples and friends maybe not the best for families.... But I would go back with mine... So...

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms that face the coliseum. Four in total... I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DnDAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Relais No9 Colosseo
Relais No9 Colosseo
#682 of 1,258 in Rome
59 reviews
Monti
Celio Hotel
Celio Hotel
#560 of 1,258 in Rome
218 reviews
Monti
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
No 9 Colosseo Luxury Suites
No 9 Colosseo Luxury Suites
#2,538 of 3,668 in Rome
19 reviews
Monti
Colosseo Panoramic Rooms
Colosseo Panoramic Rooms
#40 of 3,668 in Rome
244 reviews
Monti
Imperial Rooms
Imperial Rooms
#1,268 of 3,668 in Rome
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal House

Property: Hotel Royal House
Address: Piazza del Colosseo n. 1, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #709 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Royal House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a hotel where you can watch the Colosseum from your bedroom window while you sleep this is it, you cant get any closer to the Colosseum from your bed than you Can with us. We also offer a restaurant which has a terrace facing the Colosseum, so you can dine in front of the Colosseum day and night, by the way, the Colosseum is fantastic by night which gives a very romantic atmosphere while you enjoy our extensive wine list and Italian menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Royal House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing