We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money!”
Review of Modern House

Modern House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Modern House
Ranked #2,971 of 3,692 Rome B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Value for money!”
Reviewed 14 September 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights. Is on the fourth floor (which is quite high in Roma, especially for me!), however the price for a triple room (en-suite) was very reasonable (148 Euros TOTAL for ALL guests, 3 nights) including a breakfast that was not served within the apartment block. For breakfast, 'tickets' are issued for each person to get a tea/coffee and 1 danish from an eatery just around the corner. I don't think this is enough and we added a toasted sandwich and a fresh orange juice for an extra 5 Euros.
A call is required to the owner of Modern House prior to your arrival so that you can be met at the property, this was not an issue for us but may be inconvenient for some.
The area in which the apartment stands, is not great, but for what you pay, is expected to some degree. We saw a few tramps sleeping in doorways only a few steps away. The Metro station is very close (less than a minute walk) but also can be walked to, from the main Termini station in about 15 mins.
The room we stayed in was very clean, though I think the en-suite was very recently built and the toilet cistern did leak ever so slightly. We had a kettle in the room but was not able to use this as the plug was not an Italian one! There was an air-conditioning unit in the room which was very welcome, though the 'pipe' had to be placed out of the window! There is a TV on the wall, showing plenty of italian shows and good storage facilities for clothes. Beds and fresh towels were left each full day we spent here.
The owner was very nice, the apartment block seemed very secure also and has a lift to reach the higher floors (this is a 'cage' lift that only 2 people can ride in at a time).
All in all, I would recomend this place if you are looking for somewhere cheap and cheerful in Rome! It's pretty central and if you are only looking for a bed for the night with no frills, then this may be the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank treensie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    8
    9
    3
    6
See reviews for
4
14
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2010

I can´t say much more than - room was big enough, the staff (Antonio) very client-focused and service oriented, helpful. The room was perfectly clean. The flat (turned into separate rooms with individual shower in ours) was in 4th floor of an old nicely renowed house just next to the Metro station one stop from Termini (main train station) and complimentary breakfast. Recommended :)

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrenasPrague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2010

the location is fairly good, within a 10-min. walk to termini station. there's also a subway stop close by. the first impression of the area seemed a little sketchy, but we didn't have any problems with safety. the place is actually a flat in an apartment building. you need to schedule arrival time, as there is no staff on hand regularly. there's a phone number you could call for emergencies.

we stayed in a room with a queen bed, which was actually 2 twins pushed together, plus a separate twin bed. the beds were not the most comfortable, and don't expect nice linens. this room came with a shared bathroom, shared between 2 rooms. the sharing was manageable, since our schedule didn't conflict with the other room. the bathroom itself was also bare bones, but at least the fixtures were new.

as for breakfast, you get coupons to use downstairs at a local cafe, good for a croissant and a cappuccino.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sc0206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bercellona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2009

we Stay very well in this bed and breakfast, located in the center of city. The room was large, clean and very comfortable. Prize very interesting for our budget.
I reccomend it absolutely!

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank bernard123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atibaia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2008

My husband and I had a great time in Rome at this really nice Bed and Braekfast, where we felt like home, our room was really nice, there's a supermarket right next to it, internet right next door, the kitchen where we have breakfast is very nice and big, and we could use the fridge, so not only we don't pay much to stay there we can even have some snacks and save some money too.


The staff is very kind, helpfull and friendly, they come every day to serve breakfast, clean and check if everything is all right!

The location is really good, the subway station is a hundred meters away, we could walk to Coloseum in about ten minutes and Termini station too. The neighborhood is pretty safe and you can find everything you need near by!

Well we are happy that we found Modren House and we can't wait to be back again!

  • Liked — the room
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MariAtibaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atibaia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2008

My husband and I had a lovely time at Modern House in Rome, our room was very nice, the staff very helpfull, friendly and kind. The apartment is big,clean, colourful and very well organized, we met other guests and had really nice time with them at breakfast time.
It's very well located, near to the subway station and from the city center (only one stop from Termini station!), well we can't wait to have the oportunity to comeback!

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MariAtibaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2007

Modern House is an ok place to stay in Rome, considering hotel prices there. It's very small, and owned by people who seem to own several other small b&b's. It's so small that I couldn't find any reviews of it before I left - so here is the deal:

Location: It's not right in the major tourist areas, but it is just around the corner from a metro stop (Vittorio Emanuele, on the red line) and a lot of bus lines. On the plus side, the neighbourhood feels pretty safe, and there's internet next door and a supermarket down the street. You can walk to the Colluseum in about ten minutes, or to the pantheon in 20.

Rooms: the rooms are tiny, and do not have air conditioning or television. They face out onto the courtyard of an apartment building and you can hear everything going on in the other apartments if the windows are open. The rooms were clean, but the bathroom was a little gross and the shower was difficult to use.

Staff: the people who run the place are there only for an hour in the morning to clean and set up breakfast, so there is nobody to ask questions to. When you do talk to them, they are friendly enough.

Value: I paid 80 euros a night in the peak-season for a double room with a shared bathroom. I would not have paid that much for a place like that anywhere else, but for Rome it was a bargain.

So overall it was ok. Not great, but not terrible either.

  • Liked — price, as compared with other places in Rome
  • Disliked — hearing every television or radio playing in the apartments sharing a courtyard with our room all night
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank st1845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#368 of 1,261 in Rome
418 reviews
Esquilino
B&T Rooms
B&T Rooms
#2,221 of 3,692 in Rome
90 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,261 in Rome
6,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#97 of 1,261 in Rome
1,200 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#452 of 1,261 in Rome
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Modern House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Modern House

Property: Modern House
Address: Via Buonarroti 39, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,971 of 3,692 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern House is characterized by its big spaces, essential furnishing and its lively colors; double, triple and quadruple rooms available to satisfy our guests' budget and comfort. We have different lodging wolutions for cost and services through which we try to satisfy all of your needs. Our guests have the choice of the b&b formula or the holiday home, by renting the entire apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Modern House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing