We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Rome, Lazio

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
butler_st...
Bundaberg
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 2 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

4 of us booked both apartments at Casa VIrgilio for our 5 nught stay in Rome. The place was wonderful, beautifully appointed and positioned close to all the main sites. Jean Louis and Laura were wonderful hosts. The welcoming Prosecco, wine and nibbles most appreciated after a long flight and the breakfasts were delicious. I would certainly stay here again and highly recommend this apartment for anyone looking for a fantastic place to stay in Rome

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2016
For us, our guests are like friends. Thanks for visiting us and happy to have contributed to make your stay enjoyable. Thanks for your kind message. We will be happy to welcome you again or maybe your friends.
All the best.
Laura and Jean Louis
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Bruno, California
Reviewed 8 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Sep 2016
We are always very happy to have guests like you. For us it is a pleasure to help our guests to discover the best of Italy. Our commitment is to make our guests happy friends.
Thanks a lot for your visit.
Laura and I wish you all the best. Jean- Louis
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
a c
Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“You will Love this location and space for your family!”
Reviewed 1 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The owner responded quickly to our requests and was extremely helpful with any questions I had to make my family's trip to Italy amazing! I rented both units to accommodate my family of four. The location was perfect - walking distance to the coliseum and close to the train station. Plenty of restaurants located within walking distance from the property. I loved the patio space to sit and have breakfast! Amenities included a coffee maker and microwave and refrigerator and hair dryer. I recommend taking a taxi to the property from the airport after that it is easy to use the train to get around. I traveled with children ages 11 and 13.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anniemoll...
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect Stay”
Reviewed 22 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This accomadation was exactly what was required for our stay in Rome as myself and my husband travelled to Rome with my sister and she was able to have privacy when she required.

There are many things that ensured that our stay was perfect; location, facilities, breakfast that was prepared each morning and it was delicious. Jean-Pierre was attentive but not intrusive and he gave us information on places to visit and places to eat.

If you wish to have the freedom of self-catering apartments which have excellent facilities then look no further. We will return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2016
Laura and I are pleased to have contributed to make your stay enjoyable.
Our commitment is to help our guests to discover the best of the city in the best possible conditions.
Thank you so much for choosing Casa Virgilio. We will always be very happy to welcome you in the future.
All the best.
Laura and JeanLouis
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elna_7
Barcelona, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quiet place in walking distance from everything”
Reviewed 26 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed 3 nights in this apartment las May and it was a great choice. It is truly at walking distance from everything, you get to the Colosseum in 10 minutes, bars and restaurants in 5...even night life is at 5 minutes, good to go back home walking but far enough not to hear a single noise.
The owner was really helpful and gives good tips, we planned to rent bikes but he said we could walk around and he was right!
In the apartment everything was clean and tidy, the inner patio had a decoration other than in the picture, but much better. Having breakfast there was a great experience. We had home made muffins!
The street is very very quiet (we saw only 1 person once) and really safe.

I really would recommend this place to a friend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Con amigos
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne T
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Flavour Of Italy”
Reviewed 14 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Our hosts Jean-Louis and Laura, did everythig they could to make our stay in Rome enjoyable. The well located apartment was lovely, breakfast delicious and Jean-Louis spent time giving us helpful tips and infromation about the city. The highlight for us was an invitation to a classical music performance in their gorgeous apartment next door, giving us a real flavour of Italian culture and hospitality, a winning combination for any visitor.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The personal touch
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 May 2016
Thanks again for your visit. Remember Rome will be always waiting for you and you will be always welcome at home.
Kind regards. Laura and Jean-Louis.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sjolley
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“perfect”
Reviewed 23 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Have just spent 4 nights here with my mum and my husband. the accomodation is just lovely. a real find. John louis is the most gracious of hosts. so incredibly thoughtful. there if you need him but not if you don't. he spent 2 hours with us on arrival sorting out our train tickets to pompeii even though he was hosting an event himself that night to which we were also invited. breakfast was so nicely laid out and of superb quality. the beds are of exceptional quality as is everything else in the accomodation right down to the cutlery! then tv takes memory sticks. I can more than strongly recommend this accomodation and if returning to rome would look no further than rebooking with John louis. you will not be disappointed if you book this.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing