We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic vacation!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Rome, Lazio

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Patsfan12...
Brockton, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic vacation!!”
Reviewed 10 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018
3
people found this review helpful

My husband and I just returned from a week in Rome and a stay at Casa Virgilio in Monti.
We would recommend it highly.
Part of the reason that we chose it was, the reviews about the host, Jean-Louis.
You could tell that his main goal was the comfort and enjoyment of his guests.
Beds were very comfortable. The living room felt like you were both inside and out.
It was an atrium, with plants, flowers and palm trees planted behind the sectional
and out on the private patio. I've never seen anything like it!!
We were served a daily breakfast, at our convenience. Laura(Jean-Louis' wife),
made the most wonderful baked goods, including her own jams and marmalade.
Breakfast was served by Odette, who also tidied up the place after we left. She
emptied the trash and dishwasher, cleaned the bathroom and gave us fresh towels, something you would NEVER get at most Airbnb's.
Finally, I was a bit skeptical about the Monti district. I had seen reviews that it was a little run-down. I did not find this to be true. I felt very safe there.
It was centrally located, with shops, restaurants, and the Colosseum very close by. We were also able to walk to most attractions except the Vatican.
Our thanks to Jean-Louis for helping to make our trip to Rome unforgettable!
Chris and Suzanne

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2018
Dear guests
we are so happy to have been able to help make your stay happy and enjoyable. Your words are a real reward for us and an encouragement to do more and more. Thank you so much for choosing Casa Virgilio in Monti.
Maybe .... "au revoir et à bientòt !".
Laura and Jean-Louis
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raefe w
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An excellent host who made areal difference”
Reviewed 5 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018
2
people found this review helpful

Located about 850 metres from coliseum making it an easy 15 minute walk or a brisk 10 minute. 350 M from Metro station. We used the Metro to travel to the end of where we wanted to see and then walked back to the accommodation. Supermarket within 200 M and restaurants

Accommodation very well equipped for self catering and beds were comfy. A bit lacking in natural daylight in the bedrooms but a nice patio area to relax in

The host Jean Louis was excellent. Breakfast was included and could be varied on request. Jean was helpful with advice on where to visit and how to travel and did so with a clear aim of making our holiday as enjoyable as possible

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2018
Happy to help you to enjoy the beautiful Rome.
Thank you so much for your kind words and for choosing Casa Virgilio in Monti where we will be always happy to welcome you again.
Laura and Jean-Louis
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Voyage675...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent ~”
Reviewed 28 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018
4
people found this review helpful

Jean-Louis & Laura, were the perfect hosts from the minute we arrived to the minute we departed. Jean-Louise greeted us at the apartment, immediately upon our arrival. Showed us how everything worked, where everything was located, phone numbers (him/taxi/train station). Our vacation in Italy and staying at their apartment was such a wonderful experience. Talking to both Jean-Louis and Laura about anything related to Italy, eatery's, stores, shopping areas, must see's, etc., they were always, always full of information. Most important to us was the safety, which the location could not have been more safe. We walked to the train station to go to Florence (just for the day) and walked home ~ so safe. The refrigerator was stocked w/milk, yogurts, fruit, and sometimes in morning a beautiful tart was prepared. We hope to go back and stay for 1-month in their apartment. This time we took our two children, next time just husband/wife. I could go on and on with so many wonderful things about renting from Jean-Louise and Laura. You will not be disappointed. Thank you Jean-Louise and Laura we miss you both already.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jun 2018
Thank you for sharing your enthusiasm and interest in so many topics.
Finding guests like you is a huge pleasure and I wish all those working in tourism to have guests like Lydia, Anthony and family.
Seeing you again would really be a very nice gift. Laura and I wish it.
Thank you so much and "arrivederci presto".
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V8152PJma...
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Apartment ”
Reviewed 9 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018
3
people found this review helpful

This was our fourth trip to Rome. Not knowing the area of Monti, we were a bit hesitant about renting an apartment there, but we were pleasantly surprised. The area is safe, full of very good places to eat, and the apt is in a quiet location from which you can walk to the sights. We were two couples traveling together. The two bedroom apartment was comfortable and our host, Jean Louis, was very accommodating. He provided a nice breakfast every morning, including scrambled eggs and delicious cappuccinos!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2018
Dear guests
We are happy you enjoy your fourth stay in Rome. We do our best to help our guests rediscover the city in the best conditions. Starting the day well is important. The breakfast is the beginning!
Thank you again for your visit.
All the best.
Jean-Louis
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reggie B
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent base for a Roman holiday”
Reviewed 9 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018
3
people found this review helpful

Excellently situated apartment in Monti within walking distance of all the major attractions in Rome and a short walk from the train station. Plenty of restaurants, trattoria and pizzeria close by. Monti is a safe, traditional area of Rome and not too “touristy”.
The owners Jean Louis and Laura were wonderful hosts and provided sumptuous breakfasts each morning. Nothing was too much trouble. The apartment itself consisted of a good sized bedroom and a separate lounge / kitchen dining area overlooking a pretty courtyard. A great base for a stay in Rome.
Q

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jun 2018
Many thanks . We always try to make sure that our guests are like "at home", comfortable and relaxing.
Jeremy and Amanda were excellent guests , attentive and discreet.
We hope to see you again.. Thanks for visiting us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Storm72
Liss, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Oasis in the city!”
Reviewed 26 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018
3
people found this review helpful

Lovely place in the center of Rome! From beginning to end, pure class!

Communication with Jean Louis upon booking was good and very helpful. Felt he was very accommodating and answered any questions we had prior to arrival. Casa Virgilio is a 10min walk from Termini station, or even closer, if you walk from Cavour metro station. Slight hill coming up from Cavour, but nothing major. Road Casa Virgilio on is a residential area and is very quiet and hardly any traffic noise can be heard from the room. Jean Louis was there to greet us upon arrival and was very gracious and kind. He had kindly made a reservation at a local restaurant for us and provided us with a map of the area, all of 5min walk.

Our room was lovely. Very spacious and bed very comfortable, which is very important to any traveller. There was heating and air conditioning should you need it, but we were comfortable as we were. Lots of books to admire and read on Rome and other countries should you need them, comfortable reading areas in a tranquil setting. TV is also available, as well as a docking station to plug your phone into for music. We were lucky enough to have this amazing kitchen/dining area that had a garden within it. Was very nice just to sit there in the mornings having breafkast and what breakfasts!! Jean Louis totally spoilt us with combos of fruit and cheese, and yummy home made cakes, not to mention the amazing creme caramel!! Nespresso machine in the kitchen along with bread, eggs, milk and yogurts, every day all this was topped up! We couldn't believe it, but totally appreciated it!

Bathroom was adequate for our needs and there was soap/shower gel to use, as well as towels. The only small issue we had was drying towels whilst we were there, as like I said no heating was on, as we didn't need it, but Jean Louis provided us with horse racks to put our towels on so they could dry throughout the day, worked a treat!

All in all, Jean Louis is a perfect gentleman and host and we very much enjoyed meeting him and felt totally spoilt with the oasis in the city we had found and which he created. I would certainly come back to Casa Viriglio again!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 May 2018
Dear Bianca and Dean
It's really a pleasure to have guests like you. Accurate, enthusiastic, ready to discover or rediscover the beauty of Rome. True careful and sensitive travelers. You are guests who we always wish to meet. Thank you for your compliments and articulate comments. Our commitment is to put our guests in the best conditions to enjoy their stay as much as possible. Thanks again for choosing Casa Virgilio in Monti for your stay in Rome. We hope to see you again. You will always be welcome. Jean-Louis
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David E
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location and helpful owner”
Reviewed 16 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017
2
people found this review helpful

This is a great location with easy walks to many popular Rome sites and the Metro line. Jean Louis was very kind, friendly, and helpful. I would highly recommend Casa Virgilio in Monti.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing