We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Convenient location, generous host, clean and...”
other travellers have booked this property
Lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge
Lounge Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
A corner...
Kitchen area
Main bedroom
Main bedroom
Main bedroom
Main bedroom
Main bedroom
main bedroom
Main bedroom
Main bedroom
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Bathroom
Shower
Bathroom
From the balcony
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Rome, Lazio

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Karim And...
1 review
“Convenient location, generous host, clean and homey apt.!”
Reviewed 1 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We were warmly greeted by Federico and given all the information needed
For a comfortable stay! He had printed maps and our first metro ticket to
start our tour of Rome. Tea, coffee, milk and bread fresh in fridge.
Federico was available thru what's app for any questions. The "perfect
Host!" Highly recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Nov 2017
Karim and Sherri were "Perfect Guests" . Excellent communications prior and during their stay. House left superclean and in perfect order.... Hope to see them in Roma again !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eilidh W
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant Apartment, Wonderful Host”
Reviewed 1 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Given this is a self-catering apartment, it might seem odd to include the host in the review, let alone the title. However, Federico was one of the main reasons our stay in Rome was so successful. Before we arrived, he had been in touch a number of times to find out if there was anything particularly we would need during our stay; he arranged our shuttle from the airport; when we arrived, he was there to greet us and had a number of breakfast items for our first morning, as well as a couple of metrobus cards for our first trip on the public transport. Most helpful though was the good half hour to 45 minutes he spent chatting with us and showing us through the very helpful guides he has produced with information about the surrounding neighbourhood and the local bus and tram routes. This was invaluable to us during our stay. The very first night, we visited one of Federico’s eatery recommendations - Antica Sciacciata Romana - very friendly, nice food and good atmosphere, and pretty reasonably priced too.

As for the apartment, it is as it appears in the information - bright, clean, with everything you could need for a short or long stay. Everything about the apartment is full of charm, character and colour, it was a really lovely place to spend time when we weren’t out and about. The neighbourhood itself was friendly, and we barely heard a peep from any of the other residents of the apartment building. The apartment is on the second floor, so bear this in mind if you have mobility issues or are needing to cart buggies or pushchairs about. Other guests have mentioned the nearby hospital and ambulance noise - we are from a Scottish island where we very rarely hear any noise from outside, so it was a noticeable change for us, but it wasn’t disruptive to our stay, nor was it any more noisy than staying in any other city as far as we were concerned. Certainly it had no impact in the enjoyment of our stay, We were grateful for the newly-installed air conditioning, even in September!

We found the location to be ideal - there’s a tram stop a couple of minutes down the road and a bus stop basically right downstairs. We only used the tram which was perfect - get off after 3 or 4 stops to explore Trastevere, and stay on til the end and it’ll take you to Piazza di Venezia, right in the heart of the city and a ten minute walk from the Colesseum, Trevi Fountain, and basically anywhere else you care to visit. It’s also not too far out that walking into town is out of the question - the first couple of days we walked in, and within an hour we were in front of the Pantheon. Walking down was nice in a reasonable heat, as it lets you see the neighbourhood a bit more and get a non-touristy flavour of Rome. For visiting the Vatican, we took the tram down two stops to Trastevere station, then took a train from Platform 6 two stops to S Pietro, then walked. This seems as simple a way as any to do it. If you fancy a day out of the touristy busyness, go up the road instead of down to the Villa Doria Pamphili - an absolutely beautiful sprawling park with lovely walks and wonderful views. This again was a Federico suggestion and one of our holiday highlights. You can walk up in about half an hour/40 minutes which again lets you sample the local culture (Gelataria Tony and La Taverna were two gems we found along this road) or the tram stops near the park entrance.

When it came time for us to sadly leave, we once again were indebted to Federico for organising transport back to the airport for us, and he came to see us off too. We hope to be back to Rome in the next few years, and I hope Federico will still be letting out this apartment then because we have no intention of staying anywhere else!!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Oct 2017
Eilidith,
What can I say about your comments ? Actually this looks more a novel than a review..... I can only say that I am happy if I have contributed to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable.... and thank again you for having selected my place. I start to believe that I am really lucky because I happen to have very special guests. Eilidith and Co. have been nice , witty and elegant guests. Needless to say, the house has been left in pristine status, communications have been easy and..... it was a pleasure having them in my place ! I too hope to be able to see them again in Roma (not too much into the future considering my age.....).
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Footloose...
The Hague
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect family-friendly apartment”
Reviewed 28 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

I was attracted to this apartment by its name borrowing from the famous painter Kandinsky. The large two bed-roomed apartment is tastefully decorated with reprints of Kandinsky's works, among other items. It has air-conditioning, and wi-fi. There were plenty of bed linens, and the kitchen and bathroom were fully equipped.
Federico spoke flawless English, and was a perfect host. He arranged to have us picked up at the airport, had stocked up the breakfast basket with bread, toast, croissant and the fridge with butter, eggs, fruit juice, milk, mineral water. While leaving the place, I had forgotten a packet that needed to be stored in the refrigerator. Federico made sure that I could pick it up from a convenient location on our way back a week later.
The neighbourhood is friendly with bars, cafeterias, restaurants, and a pizzeria. We took Federico's tips about the fish specialty restaurant downstairs and the pizzeria down the road. We loved the lemon ricotta pasta from a fresh pasta shop he had suggested. The bus and tram stops are close to the apartment. One can easily reach the Vatican City with Bus 792 followed by 98 and one of the favourite locations Trastevere with many eateries and the basilica of Sta Maria by tram 8, and Termini Roma station by Bus H.
Thank you Federico for all your help!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2017
Bhaswati, Victor and Pasha have been super guests ... It is always a pleasure to host highly educated people !!! Excellent communications to try and solve some unexpected problems related to forgotten items. House left in perfect shape, clean and in order. I hope that they will select my place again should they come back to Roma. It would be a pleasure.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouD1010
North Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
“First trip to Rome!”
Reviewed 2 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Thank you Federico for making our first trip to Rome such a wonderful stay. Your apartment was perfect for us, and you were so very helpful. From our first enquiry about the apartment until you waved us goodbye nothing was too much trouble...from booking a taxi for us from the airport to filling the fridge with breakfast delights and coffee for our first morning. The apartment is exactly as described and is well appointed with all you need. There is a small balcony as well, which was big enough to enjoy a morning coffee on.

We walked from the apartment to the centre of Rome. It took about 50 minutes. We also used the bus and tram network, and the complimentary tickets Federico kindly gave us helped us use the tram for the first time.

There are a good number of restaurants and take away outlets, supermarkets​ and cafés around the apartment.

We booked the apartment having read such positive comments on trip advisor and can only add to them. We would rate the overall experience of enquiring, booking, and staying in Kandinsky House 12/10. It made our first (and not our last!) visit to Rome such a wonderful experience. Thank you very much Federico! Until our next visit...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jun 2017
There are times when you feel that you have met people who are not just guests... Louise and Paul (and their children with difficult Welsh names for me...) were a friendly family I was more than happy to host. By the way, my recollections of trips to Whales are of warm people and good food....
As usual, when you host a (real) family, they took care of the place as if it was their own.... Needless to say, the apartment was left spotless. I would sincerely have them again in Rome, perhaps for a longer stay....We could share some culinary (and drinking....) experience.
Many thanks for your review.... Under my white beard you could see some blushing !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfected by a caring host”
Reviewed 27 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The apartment projects comfort and a warm feeling of being well equipped for a very long stay. It all started from the good and timely communication with Federico (in perfect English) about the upcoming trip. The host with greet you and help settling down; in our case, it included even carrying our heaviest bag on the stairs.

Everything about the apartment and is not only explained precisely but also described in the printed and illustrated materials sitting on the dining table. There, you will also find the detailed descriptions of near-by eateries, stores, major attractions, etc. – all with maps and hours of operations. Public transportation is also covered at length (with maps). Federico gave us our first bus tickets as well.

The care included a great variety of food for the first morning after arrival.
Listen to the details about how the locks are working, how to turn on the burners on the gas stove, how to operate a cloth washer… But if you miss something and cannot find it in the instructional materials mentioned above, contact the host. He is responding promptly.

The apartment is in a safe neighborhood. Parking is easier to find around 7 .. 8 am and then around 5 .. 6 pm.

We’d be happy to stay at Kandinsky House again, both because of its feature and thanks to its caring host.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 May 2017
Tatyana and Ted have been fantastic guests...It has been a pleasure being able to supply them with all the info they needed. it would be a pleasure hosting them again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert...
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed 7 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Apartment is spacious with all conveniences. Most impressive start up pack provided. Close to transport, bus, tram and train all nearby. Easy to reach from airport. Federico is friendly, helpful and very approachable. Really appreciated soya milk, and vegan margarine on arrival, very thoughtful.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2017
Barbara and Robert are "5 star" guests …. a dream for hosts. Communications where excellent and the house was returned in perfect state with everything cleaned/washed/folded ed put back in its place---- Hope to see them again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidD300...
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A Winner”
Reviewed 6 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Federico is the ultimate host. He supplied us with large amounts of information right from the first contact we had with him. He also supplied us with a quantity of breakfast items upon our arrival which was very gratefully received plus he was at the apartment early in the morning to meet and greet and show us the apartment and how things worked. The apartment itself was very well furnished and everything that is required for a long stay (17 nights) was there. Quite well located to access Trastevere and the old city. A tram stop almost at the door (number 8) gets you to Piazza Venezia in about 15 or 20 minutes. The area was quite safe as far as we were concerned with no problems encountered . We highly recommend Federico and the apartment (Kandinsky House). One point that needs to be included in a factual report is the probability of ambulance siren noise due to the proximity of a large hospital.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendliness and the assistance of the owner
Liked least: The noise of rome
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2016
David & Cheryl, Thanks for your nice review. It has really been a pleasure hosting you. There is no need to say that the apartment was left in pristine state…. I'm happy that the apartment was up to your expectations and I hope that you will contact me again should you return to Rome. I promise I'll contact you when (hopefully) we come to Australia !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing