We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only if you're desperate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Twin Cities Hostel Rome
Ranked #237 of 1,148 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

The only real redeeming feature of this hostal was the room, which was clean with a relatively comfy bed. Our stay otherwise tarnished our view of Rome. We had pre warned the staff we would be arriving early off an overnight train, but the guy working there still wasn't ready for us, he was really quite unhelpful and lacked the basic knowledge any backpacker would want about Rome. There were no showers or bathrooms for us to use to refresh ourselves before a day touristing around Rome, nor was there anywhere to store our bags other than in the common room. The kitchen was awful, as was the common area, and the free tea and coffee that was advertised never eventuated. Staying here meant we saw more of Rome than we normally would as we're didn't want to go home at night. So that's a plus I guess.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Eileen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

When we arrived - granted it was early in the morning and before their usual check in time, but it was still 9am so not ludicrously early, we were greeted with a young man who we had clearly woken up, who had little to know enthusiasm about showing us around, there was nowhere to leave our luggage for the day so that we could go and explore, and his knowledge of the surrounding area was average at best. We couldn't use the bathrooms because we hadn't officially checked in, and having just come off an overnight train, you can imagine how badly we wanted to freshen up. It was quite out of the way, although the metro station is very close. Upsides, the bathroom we had was fabulous and the bed was very comfortable, with an actual duvet instead of the normal blanket you get at hostels. Wifi also worked fairly well, although the 'unlimited coffee and cereal' that's talked about is yet to be seen, I'm unsure how you would use anything in that "kitchen"

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Tessa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I have mixed feeling about this hostel. For the price you get a decent stay.
The Good: the owner allowed us to check in early and shuttled us to the adjacent property (B&B).
The room was fit with the basic needs-clean linen-decent bed-average cable-working shower/restroom.

On the other hand you need to know what you are getting into. We stayed t the B&B which was locate in a separate dwelling about two blocks away.

We stayed during November and the heating was lacking. We heard this is true in all of Rome. But the heat could have really been better. The thermostat is set at 68 degrees and could not be increased. This was very frustrating at day three. Also, the linen was mildewed, the clothes washer worker intermittently, and it was cold!

This is probably a decent place in the summer but be advised when traveling during the winter.

Room Tip: Have owner go over how to use kitchen, clothes washer, and in house cell phone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samuel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Beautiful hostel, staff is very friendly and helpful. The hostel is located near the metro, in 10 minutes you get to center of Rome. This area is very cheap, safe and few noise. Racommended for all!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gianlu_94s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Room Tip: At the Viale da Vinci adress there is a dorm. While we had a room with a privat bath, the owner took...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank MaciejMarta
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 11 February 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank Uday K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 6 February 2014

This place is great. Francesco and his wife were extremely friendly and cool. This is a great place for travelers on a budget and has a nice kitchen for those who wish to do their own cooking.

It may be a little far from city centre, but it's only 1.50 EUR and four stops away from the Colloseum.

Definitely recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ostiense
Oly Hotel
Oly Hotel
#423 of 1,269 in Rome
640 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel des Artistes
Hotel des Artistes
#255 of 1,269 in Rome
1,311 reviews
Ostiense
Hotel San Paolo
Hotel San Paolo
#195 of 1,269 in Rome
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ostiense
Il Tetto di San Paolo
Il Tetto di San Paolo
#213 of 1,148 in Rome
51 reviews
Ostiense
Eroom42 Guest House
Eroom42 Guest House
#268 of 3,721 in Rome
46 reviews
Esquilino
Alessandro Downtown Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twin Cities Hostel Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twin Cities Hostel Rome

Address: Viale Leonardo da Vinci 223, 00145 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ostiense
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #237 of 1,148 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Price Range: £17 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Cheap Rome Hotel for travelers worldwide... Cozy and relaxing rooms with A/C, located in the new area of the University Rome3. Located only 4 MEtro stops away (5 minutes metro ride) from the roman Colosseum makes it easy for quickly visiting the ancient city center. Multi-language staff is on site 24h, to guarantee Your security and requirements providing you hips of information and free Maps of the city. Plenty neighborhood for restaurants, pizzeria, fast-food, kebabs, and a couple of bars for a guinness beer to enjoy your newly made friends, 2 italian grocery stores where you can taste buffalo mozzerella on the way or italian olive oil and ham, 1 move theater and many other coffee shop for a cappuccino at 1€. Free A/C june through sept, from 10pm to 8am. Kitchen use 24h with home made coffee always on tap, tea and cereal. We have no curfew, 100M/b free WI-FI and a computer free for everyone, Garden for smokers and not! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Twin Cities Hostel Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Twin Cities Hostel Rome Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing