We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for and this was value for money!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
1 Step from St. Peter
Ranked #1,366 of 3,622 Rome B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for and this was value for money!”
Reviewed 28 February 2011

Having staying in many a hotel I would have to say this is something slightly different. It's more like having your own apartment in Rome. The guesthouse is owned by Frederich, who lives on the top floor. You get your own set of keys and can come and go as you please. The best thing about staying here is the introduction that Fredy gives you; he sits down with a map and goes through the main attractions, how to get there and points out restaurants to go to.

Location: is about a 5min walk away from the metro and about 10mins away from Vatican City. I have no idea what the guy's talking about saying it took him 20mins to get there! There are a host of excellent places to eat and the area is very safe, (STAY AWAY FROM TERMINI station in the evening btw, there are lots of cheap hotels and hostels around there for a reason...). There's also a market near by and a supermarket in this quiet area.

To get there from the airport you just get a bus to Termini and a metro from there to Ottravanio station, Frederich gives idiot proof directions from the metro.

Amenities: The flat has a free internet point and wireless. There's a kitchen and a coffee machine, you can help yourself to as much tea and coffee (and croissants/sweets/yoghurts) as you want all day, you just help yourself to breakfast when you like. There are 3 showers which you share amongs the guests (about 9 rooms all together).

At a cost of about £40 quid a night, it's not 5 star hotel standards however if you're looking to travel on a budget and are fed up of generic hostels/hotels then you'll really struggle to get anywhere as good as this.

Would highly recommend for young people/couples/backpackers or anyone looking for some peace and quiet.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank horrorshow69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    8
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
20
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wuppertal, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 26 January 2011

The management (Friedrich) was helpful, friendly and professional. Very convenientl location for sightseeing in Rome. The subway is two minutes away. From there it´s a short ride to the city center and most of the museums, historical sights, etc.. The walk to the Vatican is in fact a short walk. The management (Friedrich) was very helpful, giving me good advice about the best way to get around Rome, where to eat, shop, etc.

The rooms were clean and well taken care of.

The next time I go to Rome I will book my room there Again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timfjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2010

One of our friends recommended we stay at this place and we werent disapointed. It's very close to the metro even though we pretty much walked everywhere. The place is clean and we dont have any complaints. The staff was amazing help and told us where to go and what to see. It was the perfect stay to our perfect weekend in Rome.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fxxxit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Jolla, Ca.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2010

Fredderic has his B and B/ Hostel more like an really nice, clean apartment with a lift. We had a large comfortable bedroom,use of a kitchen,super clean tile baths,large TV /dining room where we helped ourselves to breakfast. There is also free TV and computor access as we were 2 of the thousands unable to leave for a week, in route from Siciy , waiting for a return flight to La Jolla , California and really needed to get on line..
Also available at any time free was yogurt, cereals,milk,croisants, snacks , candy and a wonderful gourmet coffee maker-all free.It was very convenient to groceries,restaurants, Metro and buses- 2 blocks away
We will definately stay here on our next trip to Roma. A GREAT BARGAIN!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank HappyinLaJolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2008

Stay away. It's not 1 step, more like 20min on foot to the Vatican. NOT convenient to visit center, there's no metro near Pantheon,other. Shower was clogged, flooded the bathroom. BEWARE: I stayed 5 nights, paid 1 in advance and arranged with them to pay the rest later. But the owner banged on my door at 8am, woke me up and yelled demanding money. I offered to go withdraw cash to pay but she accused me of trying to leave without paying (all my stuff in my room). The worst experience ever.

  • Liked — Nothing special
  • Disliked — Regular Location, Unpolite Owners, Bad Service
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cb_traveler_ven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
filmgirldocs
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2008

Staying here is a very smart decision if you are on a budget conscious trip to Rome. Its in as untouristy a neighborhood as you could imagine although the Vatican is the closest big attraction. You will need to take a bus or the subway to get to most of the sightseeing places you will want to go. But at the end of the day, you can escape to an osteria in your neighborhood and feel like you are really living as citizen in Rome and not a tourist looking for a slice of Pizza. The rooms and bathrooms were very clean, quiet and everyone there was very considerate.

If I wanted to save money and stay a bit off the beat and path, I would definitely consider this place again.

  • Liked — It was not in a tourist neighboorhood
  • Disliked — Difficult to get back to late at night
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank filmgirldcos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2007

We stayed here in September for 3 nights and found it excellent. Very clean and tidy, good location if you dont mind a short walk up to the Metro, and very handy if you intend to line up outside the Vatican first thing in the morning.
The introduction to Rome was also very handy, as were the maps and books available to us.
My 60yr old mother also enjoyed staying here. Very good value for money

  • Liked — location, view of Rome from the rooftop, coffee machine!
  • Disliked — internet wasnt working
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank smellytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
B&T Rooms
B&T Rooms
#2,320 of 3,622 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#400 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel des Artistes
Hotel des Artistes
#288 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#95 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1 Step from St. Peter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1 Step from St. Peter

Property: 1 Step from St. Peter
Address: Via Giovanni Bettolo, 52, Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,366 of 3,622 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your 1 Step from St. Peter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 Step From St. Peter Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing