We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, affordable”
Review of B&B Savoia

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
B&B Savoia
Ranked #1,395 of 3,692 Rome B&B and Inns
Toronto
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly, affordable”
Reviewed 20 October 2009

Very friendly. It was one of my first B&B experiences and overall it was quite positive.

We stayed in the Magnolia room; we were charged quite a reasonable rate considering the time of year and the location. It was not completely central -- closer to the Villa Borghese in the northern end of the centre -- but all the same, convenient for a couple of young walkers. There's a closeby bus that goes straight downtown, and the transit is cheap -- 1 euro each way, cash fare.

There was a small problem when we checked in -- Augusto had miscounted the days we needed to stay, and for a while, he tried to make sure he could accommodate us in another room for its lower rate or find a friend's establishment to put us up. But it was fine in the end, and he was kind about it the entire time. He was not pushy about payment, and gave us a receipt without prompting.

The room overall is very clean and neat. The furniture is not the most modern, but they're all solid and it's nice to have all the surfaces for dumping change and trinkets. A wardrobe with hangers let you hang up wet clothes too.

There's housekeeping every two days -- Augusto told us he'd take any towels left on the floor, but he just takes them all and gives you fresh towels anyway! His business partner, Antonio, we met a couple of times during our week-long stay and he was equally kind.

B&B Savoia has lots of key amenities -- a stocked kitchen (with stove and microwave, and a fridge shelf for each room), a washing machine and drying lines, and television for long nights (although we couldn't figure out how to work the satellite).

The bathroom is cosy, but not inconveniently so. It was clean and modern. My one beef with it is that the water does not drain very quickly in the shower, so you often spill water on the floor. Otherwise, everything works perfectly, like new.

My only complaint about the B&B overall is that it can be a little noisy -- even with the windows and shutters closed, you still hear traffic. To be fair, living in dense buildings in big cities are always like that (I'm used to living in thick windows in Toronto). I'd suggest low-key ear plugs for sensitive sleepers.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gyip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    16
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
39
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2009

Augusto and Antonio helped make our stay in Rome a great one. You can come and go as you please and the open kitchen lets you snack at your leisure...The location is in a residential area in the city but close to the bus system. The Rome bus system will get you everywhere you want to go. The service was excellent, but gave you some room breathe.

All in all, I'd stay there again and again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adesmar123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2009

We stayed in the Cherry room. The bathroom and shower is separate from the room, but you still have your own. I really enjoyed our stay here. The kitchen is well stocked with milk, water, cookies, cereals, etc. It's located in the residential area of town. We took the bus to all the attractions with our Roma pass (very useful for $25 euro, it's worth it). I would highly recommend this place and would definitely stay here again. See my photos.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jensfbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2009

It's been a while since I visited Augusto, but just wanted to say what a comfortable and welcoming experience we had at Savoia. The place doesn't look or feel like a hotel, and this is a good thing- with the hosts' friendliness and off-the-beaten-track, Italian neighbourhood setting, it's more like being a guest at a friend's house. Passing through the entrance into what is actually an apartment building, we met a friendly neighbourhood cat in the courtyard. The room we stayed in (Magnolia, I think) was spacious, comfortable, and atmospheric, which inlaid floors and pretty antique furniture. The bed wasn't ready upon arrival, but we were quite early and they fixed it up right away. Breakfast was a laid-back experience, chatting about football with Augusto over pastries and yogurt. Overall a great place to stay. If you seek a more anonymous experience, then a hotel is probably a better fit for you. If you're looking for a comfortable, friendly, affordable place to stay with buckets of character, then go with Savoia.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Expatastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cluj
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2009

Finaly got time to thanks Augusto and Antonio for their hospitality.We've been to rome last year for 2 weeks and the place was great. Maybe rome too hot for my prefference but the rooms have cooling sistem so in the night was perfect.In fact it was so good that this year we sent our parents to them and our godfathers. Thay came very pleasd from there and if rome will be a destination again, then Savoia will be the place.
So Augusto, keep the frige full because you got my recomandation for all who want to visit Rome.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank florinl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantilly, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2009

My wife and I stayed at the B&B for four nights and totally enjoyed our stay. Augusto, who owns the B&B is a superb host who goes out of his way to make sure you feel you're at home. The Kitchen is always open for your use, stocked with cookies, cereals, juices, milk and bread. There is even a fridge with a shelve where you can keep things if purchased from the grocery store (just down the road). Room was big and spacious. Bathroom shower was quite small but that standard in Europe. Great location, close to the Bus Stops where you can catch various buses to the City. I definitely will be staying here again next time in Rome. GRATIS AUGUSTO!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klg1829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cluj Napoca, Romania
1 review
Reviewed 4 May 2009

We are 2 couples and we stayed for 5 night at B&B Savoia and we really enjoyed our time there. Augusto and Antonio are very nice and helpfull. The rooms are very clean and very nice decorated.

Me and my wife stayed in magnolia room and we sleeped very well on the comfy bed (I so someone said is noisy but i think they were very sensitive ... it's not noisy)

So because a have to come back to Roma (Fontana di Trevi says so :D) i will stay for sure at B&B Savoia

Bogdan& Mihaela
Romania

Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank incident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
MF Hotel
#558 of 1,261 in Rome
271 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#381 of 1,261 in Rome
417 reviews
Esquilino
B&T Rooms
B&T Rooms
#2,161 of 3,692 in Rome
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,261 in Rome
6,741 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#98 of 1,261 in Rome
1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Savoia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Savoia

Property: B&B Savoia
Address: Via Savoia 72, 00198 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,395 of 3,692 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our bed and breakfast is in a prestigious property built in the 1920's with most of its original features preserved and set in a pretty garden. Renovated to a high standard, each room has first class en-suite facilities and all are decorated in keeping with the age of elegance.Historical B&B in the center of the City, 5 minutes away from the Archaeological Area. Children super-welcome ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing