We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable and nice room”
Review of B&B Savoia

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
B&B Savoia
Ranked #1,478 of 3,644 Rome B&B and Inns
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“Affordable and nice room”
Reviewed 9 June 2010

Finding an affordable and nice room on the high season in Rome was not easy. But luckily we find one through our friend’s recommendation. With the price you pay for one night you will get a spacious room, a clean and also spacious bathroom, a big bed, and breakfast. The breakfast was self service, which makes us a little bit confused at the first morning. But the next morning we make our own breakfast with a great selection. Toast and eggs, toast with jams, cereals, yoghurt, coffee and tea.

We are a young family with 2 years old daughter. Augusto was very kind and very considerate to our daughter. He provides us with a free baby cot, toys, full fat milk, and special cheese for our daughter. He also tells us the safe places for our daughter to play.

Augusto was very nice and helpful from the booking process, the time when we stayed there and until the moment we were leaving. His kindness and service are the things we would never forget.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sofi_samsura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    16
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
38
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2010

We stayed just one night and found the room spacious and clean,the kitchen well appointed and the common hallway with desk and computer access very convenient. Augusto was very friendly and helpful in helping us get a ride to the airport arranged .He was just terrific in quickly finding us a nearby Band B to accomodate us when we were suddenly faced with an unexpected 6 day extension in Rome beacuse of the Icelandic volcanic ash problem.Its a great neighbourhood as we discovered-very conveneient but also quite sepaprate from the main tourist attractions. Its a great neighborhood, and you will get a very authentic feel to your stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alandrabkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2009

We truly enjoyed our stay at BandB Savoia! It was our first trip to Rome and it was great to stay in a place surrounded by locals rather than a hotel. The place is charming and the neighborhood was safe. We stayed at the Magnolia room, which was huge! We had our own closet, dresser and a large private bath. They even changed the sheets everyday for us! It was also very handy to have a safe in the room too. Augusto was very friendly and efficient. From the moment we booked our reservation with him, he has been very helpful and prompt in answering any questions we had, which was very reassuring. The breakfast was self-serve and they provided quite a few selections of cereal, yogurt, juice, fruit and some supermarket type of pastries. The only comment I would have probably would be to have fresh bread/pastries-it would be nice. Their kitchen is also open for guest to use all day long as well as his computer to do internet (free Wi-Fi available as well). Overall, we're glad we chose BandB Savoia and we hope we can go back there again and will definitely recommend to friends!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pvtan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2009

Very friendly. It was one of my first B&B experiences and overall it was quite positive.

We stayed in the Magnolia room; we were charged quite a reasonable rate considering the time of year and the location. It was not completely central -- closer to the Villa Borghese in the northern end of the centre -- but all the same, convenient for a couple of young walkers. There's a closeby bus that goes straight downtown, and the transit is cheap -- 1 euro each way, cash fare.

There was a small problem when we checked in -- Augusto had miscounted the days we needed to stay, and for a while, he tried to make sure he could accommodate us in another room for its lower rate or find a friend's establishment to put us up. But it was fine in the end, and he was kind about it the entire time. He was not pushy about payment, and gave us a receipt without prompting.

The room overall is very clean and neat. The furniture is not the most modern, but they're all solid and it's nice to have all the surfaces for dumping change and trinkets. A wardrobe with hangers let you hang up wet clothes too.

There's housekeeping every two days -- Augusto told us he'd take any towels left on the floor, but he just takes them all and gives you fresh towels anyway! His business partner, Antonio, we met a couple of times during our week-long stay and he was equally kind.

B&B Savoia has lots of key amenities -- a stocked kitchen (with stove and microwave, and a fridge shelf for each room), a washing machine and drying lines, and television for long nights (although we couldn't figure out how to work the satellite).

The bathroom is cosy, but not inconveniently so. It was clean and modern. My one beef with it is that the water does not drain very quickly in the shower, so you often spill water on the floor. Otherwise, everything works perfectly, like new.

My only complaint about the B&B overall is that it can be a little noisy -- even with the windows and shutters closed, you still hear traffic. To be fair, living in dense buildings in big cities are always like that (I'm used to living in thick windows in Toronto). I'd suggest low-key ear plugs for sensitive sleepers.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gyip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
110 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2009

Augusto and Antonio helped make our stay in Rome a great one. You can come and go as you please and the open kitchen lets you snack at your leisure...The location is in a residential area in the city but close to the bus system. The Rome bus system will get you everywhere you want to go. The service was excellent, but gave you some room breathe.

All in all, I'd stay there again and again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adesmar123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2009

We stayed in the Cherry room. The bathroom and shower is separate from the room, but you still have your own. I really enjoyed our stay here. The kitchen is well stocked with milk, water, cookies, cereals, etc. It's located in the residential area of town. We took the bus to all the attractions with our Roma pass (very useful for $25 euro, it's worth it). I would highly recommend this place and would definitely stay here again. See my photos.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jensfbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2009

It's been a while since I visited Augusto, but just wanted to say what a comfortable and welcoming experience we had at Savoia. The place doesn't look or feel like a hotel, and this is a good thing- with the hosts' friendliness and off-the-beaten-track, Italian neighbourhood setting, it's more like being a guest at a friend's house. Passing through the entrance into what is actually an apartment building, we met a friendly neighbourhood cat in the courtyard. The room we stayed in (Magnolia, I think) was spacious, comfortable, and atmospheric, which inlaid floors and pretty antique furniture. The bed wasn't ready upon arrival, but we were quite early and they fixed it up right away. Breakfast was a laid-back experience, chatting about football with Augusto over pastries and yogurt. Overall a great place to stay. If you seek a more anonymous experience, then a hotel is probably a better fit for you. If you're looking for a comfortable, friendly, affordable place to stay with buckets of character, then go with Savoia.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Expatastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
MF Hotel
#533 of 1,257 in Rome
257 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#390 of 1,257 in Rome
408 reviews
Esquilino
B&T Rooms
B&T Rooms
#2,228 of 3,644 in Rome
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,257 in Rome
6,624 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#95 of 1,257 in Rome
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Savoia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Savoia

Property: B&B Savoia
Address: Via Savoia 72, 00198 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,478 of 3,644 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our bed and breakfast is in a prestigious property built in the 1920's with most of its original features preserved and set in a pretty garden. Renovated to a high standard, each room has first class en-suite facilities and all are decorated in keeping with the age of elegance.Historical B&B in the center of the City, 5 minutes away from the Archaeological Area. Children super-welcome ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing