We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Restaurant in Rome, very hard to beat! (Pantheon)”

Settimio Al Pantheon
Ranked #1,596 of 12,362 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Colonna
pesaro
Level Contributor
221 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“The best Restaurant in Rome, very hard to beat! (Pantheon)”
Reviewed 6 January 2013

for me is the best restaurant in Rome, very hard to beat, is very close to the Pantheon. If you are in Rome, this is the only place to eat! Every time I go is a reconfirmation. Imperative to try : Artichokes alla Romana ("exceptional") Puntarelle Salad ("divine") Vegetable soup ("a lust"), Chitarrine or spaghetti cheese and pepper (a must"), spaghetti Amatriciana, cod with polenta ("a magic combination not to be missed). Farro soup, Broccoli stir-fried etc.. The wines : imperative! only the house white or red wine in open bottles. in the menu' one plate of the other better. the prices are very honest (€ 30 each). Septimus and his wife is the cherry on the cake! I was there yesterdays with 4 friends for business dinner and my guests were delighted! I suggest to see the pictures of the plates here attached.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank eo b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    66
    18
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic truffles!”
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Settimio is our favourite restaurant in Rome. We come to Rome every year at Christmas and always eat here. We love the pasta with truffles. The chicory and tiramisu are excellent and the wild game menu is superb. The staff are friendly and generous. Thoroughly recommend!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank graceeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Truly Roman cuisine!”
Reviewed 16 November 2012 via mobile

No frills, but very genuine and excellent cooking! We sort of stumbled in by chance but it had caught our eye because it did not look touristic oriented. And in fact there came mostly parliamentary employees as it seemed. Family run place with middle-high prices but well spent. We had only antipasti and primi and dessert: among others tagliolini with tartufo bianco which is a real delicacy, but also the other dishes were excellent. Don't miss the gelato di castagne!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fraperowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
70 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent ristorante in Rome”
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We loved this place so much we went there twice during our five nights in Rome! The place is family run and the service is very friendly, and you will see locals eating there (always a good sign.) Some of our favorites were the carciofi all Romana (artichokes) and the bruschetta con pomodoro. All of the pastas were very good, and on our second trip I even managed to finish a second course of veal saltimbocca, which was outstanding. My wife nearly fainted over the caffe affogato, it was that good. A few nights later we were in Positano at a very nice restaurant and she tried one there, but said it didn't even compare to the one they had made at Settimio. I've bookmarked this place in my mobile and we will go back on our next trip to Rome.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stefano104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“It was hard to find terrible food in Italy but we did!”
Reviewed 17 October 2012

After many wonderful meals during our trip all over Italy on our second to last day we happened upon Ristorante Settimio. Attracted by their interesting menu, we passed up other restaurants nearby and were very disappointed we did. The roasted lamb special was overlooked, dry and very salty. The wild boar was over powered by a pungent spice and the side of vegetables were cooked to mush. A very unhappy dining experience!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KFaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Settimio Al Pantheon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing