We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly service greast location”
Review of Hotel Re di Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Re di Roma
Ranked #160 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly service greast location”
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Friendly and helpful staff ; location near Metro; little balcony was nice; a/c worked fine; breakfast adequate; slippers in Room nice touch; elevator worked well; solid 3 *** hotel

Ice machine would be nice.

Allan S.
Toronto

Room Tip: ask for room with a wra around balcony if you'll have balcony time
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllanS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    643
    550
    83
    5
    3
See reviews for
233
706
43
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mississippi
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

I wish I could give this hotel 5 stars. Really, it's not their fault-- while we were there, Rome's metro was undergoing some construction, causing the line that takes you to the Re di Roma metro stop (which is very close to the hotel) to be closed after 9 pm each night. Considering Romans don't even start dinner until 8 pm or later, this made it tough for us to get back. There is a replacement bus route, which we rode one night, but we were sooooo cramped (literally couldn't move or breathe) with the amount of people on the bus I nearly had a panic attack and vowed not to do that again.

The hotel itself is really nice and clean, and the staff was friendly. The breakfast was pretty good, though not the best we had. The walls were kind of thin though-- my husband complained of getting woken up by our neighbor watching soccer at 3 a.m. one night.

Rome is so big you can't really get a hotel that's close to everything, but this one felt too far from anything. If I had it to do over, I would pay a little more and get something closer to at least a couple of attractions. At least that way if the metro quits on you or something, you can walk back instead of feeling stranded like we did.

In a pinch, I would stay again, but I think I would research other options first, and I would definitely check to see what the metro's construction schedule is.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank secarte2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

We were there in October'10, we chose this hotel with the help of reviews in tripadvisor. It was really a great choise, the hotel was fantastic, very clean and smart and the bathroom was wonderfull :) , the location was perfect and most importantly the staff was very friendly and polite. Metro station is just round the corner, the breakfast was not excellent but better than most of the similar hotels. I will visit Hotel Re Di Roma, if I will have a chance to go Rome again..

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Burcusipal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

Near Re di Roma metro station, good neighborhood, very clean rooms, small breakfast, efficient staff.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caco2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

All the reviews on here are spot on -
the good: friendliest staff EVER, clean, comfortable, near metro, fairly priced, great fast free wifi;
and the bad: so so breakfast, not in the heart of Rome, thin floors/ceilings -
but the real reason to stay here is its location.

Rome is too big to stay near every tourist thing, if your goal is to stay in the heart of Rome you're going to have to choose a "heart" and still do public transport. The Re Di Roma Hotel is not in the heart of Rome but will get you there quickly because of its proximity to the metro. The reason this hotel is most excellent is because it's not in a tourist area! It was by far our favorite hotel during a 3 week trip around Italy. Ask the hotel for restaurant recommendations. Everywhere they sent us was the best food we had in our travels. They were little neighborhood restaurants run by families that couldn't do enough to please us. The folks at these restaurants didn't speak English but we communicated just fine. The prices were so much more reasonable than any of the restaurants we went to near the tourist spots. Also, the shops and bars around the hotel: people don't speak English but can't do enough to help you. It's a neighborhood where the up and comers live so it's safe and there's no riff raff. The staff in the hotel can't help you enough. One night we were going out and the front desk clerk said it looked like rain and gave me an umbrella to borrow.

The negatives. You're not going to find a big American breakfast anywhere in Italy that I know of but the continental fair they offer will get you to lunch. So the only negative that's really worthy of mention is the thin ceilings/floors. First of all, don't be a dummy like us. The hallway noise is also an issue but they've provided a second door that blocks it out if you're smart enough to close it (I plead jet lag dumbness-we figured it out our last night). As for the other noise issues, they really weren't a problem. It's not a riff raff kind of hotel. It was international travelers and business men and there wasn't a loud tv or loud talking problem. Just a few footsteps till whoever removed their shoes, a door closing, some water running. I travel with earplugs and didn't have to use them. Unless you are highly sensitive the noise problem will not effect you.

Pompi. Don't miss it. It's a dessert restaurant around the corner from the Re Di Roma Hotel. It's closed on Monday and open till 1:30 am other nights. Go there your first night in Rome because you'll want the option of going there every night. I don't like tiramisu but I loved this restaurants'. ps. They have several tiramisu flavors: traditional, strawberry (excellent), pistachio and hazelnut plus lots of other desserts.

Note: the Metro is having nighttime construction right now so it closes at 9:30 pm (except Sat night). At every A line metro stop you'll find a bus stop for the M1 or M2 buses. These buses follow the A line metro route so catch one of them to get back to the hotel. Don't forget to purchase your bus ticket in the metro station (same ticket as for the metro) because there isn't one at the bus stop and the bus driver doesn't sell tickets.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank georgia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
53 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

The rest of the reviews on TA have got it right, this is a very nice hotel. This hotel stands out for its cleanliness, its quietness, and its proximity to the metro (though not the location per se).

Rooms are small but space is very efficient. The bed was good (not great). Breakfast was bountiful, if not the best quality (not bad, just not great).

For a weekend in Rome I would definitely stay there again. Its only downside is that it is not very centrally located to all of the monuments. But considering the price and the quality, I would recommend to any couple.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank highschoolband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Great location, convient to underground, rome and other attractions. Staff is friendly and focused on customers.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Transporter_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Chroma Pente
#167 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Hotel Pulitzer Roma
#117 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
Esquilino
Al Viminale Hill Inn & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
SuiteDreams Hotel
SuiteDreams Hotel
#92 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Giuliana
Hotel Giuliana
#132 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#121 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Re di Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Re di Roma

Property: Hotel Re di Roma
Address: Via Vercelli 21, 00182 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#67 Family Hotel in Rome
#106 Business Hotel in Rome
#112 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Re di Roma 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Re di Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Re Di Roma Hotel
Re Di Roma Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing