We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (243)
Filter reviews
243 results
Traveller rating
105
89
30
8
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
105
89
30
8
11
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 243 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Room was amazing - clean, spacious, well decorated and comfortable. The location was literally a stone's throw away from Vatican city and St Peter's Cathedral. The place ticked all the boxes for us.

The only thing that stopped this being a 5/5 for us was the lack of a reception/someone to speak to in case of emergencies for example or just for some info during our stay. The place was a little tricky to find although luckily we google-mapped it before we arrived (look out for the Blue Ice shop downstairs). We couldn't get in as no one answered the bell. Two other guests who were staying there let us in. There was a sign on the door saying the manager had nipped out for 20 mins and will be back shortly. However the two ladies advised that he won't be back unless we ring him. We didn't want to switch on our phones as the roaming charges would cost us a bomb. We did try the phone in the reception area but it didn't work. Luckily, the manager returned not long after and we checked in fine. He also gave us some really good tips on where to go/sight-see, what buses to take, where to eat. Unfortunately that was pretty much all we saw of him - we did try and look out for him the next couple of days as we needed to check out really early in the morning. We had to leave a message with the maid - it would have been ideal if a taxi could be called for us (as other hotels/B & Bs usually would) but we had to sort that out ourselves.

Nevertheless the room itself and the location was perfect. Breakfast was delicious and our room was tidied everyday before we got back. Comfy bed and great air-conditioning. Genuinely one of the best rooms we've stayed in during our travels. Would definitely recommend notwithstanding lack of reception.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muffinfactory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Me and my friend stayed at the Ancient Rome B&B back in June for 4 nights.
The whole experience was amazing, the family who run this B&B couldn't do enough for you and I'd encourage anyone to stay there.

The location was perfect, literally a 10minute walk to the Colosseum and into the bustling centre.

Charming hotel, lovely cozy rooms! Cannot wait to return :-)

Room Tip: Rose room - so cute!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CM28877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised with this charming bed and breakfast. I recently stayed 3 nights in a newly renovated room with private bath, closet, A/C, tv, and WiFi. The staff was so friendly and brought coffee, paninis, pastries, etc. to our room for breakfast. The location was great, in a safe but lively neighbourhood only a stone throw away from Vatican City. However, they will make you wait to check-in since there isnt someone constantly working there, so be precise with your arrival time and don't panic if they are running late.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fraugluecklich1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

It's called b& b because its small but it's really like a very good and cozy hotel,room is very big comparing to European standards and very comfortable,it's close to metro,Vatican and I enjoyed staying in there,specially if you want to go shopping!which I highly recommend,because rom is the best place for that and the location of the hotel is good and close to ottavio street.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gj_jeiran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

My husband and I stayed at Ancient Rome for 5 nights. This is a charming hotel in a beautiful area of Ancient Rome. It is about a 50 Euro cab ride from the airport and about a 15 minute walk from the main train station (Termini).  The location is perfect for sight seeing; just a 10 minute walk from the Colosseum and a short walk to the Trevino fountain. The restaurants in the area are excellent (we recommend El Baretto) and there are lively squares in the evening. We loved the area. The hotel staff; Francesco and his daughters are friendly and very helpful. Francesco gave us good information before arriving at the hotel to make sure we didn't pay too much for a taxi (only use the city authorized white cabs). No complaints. Enjoy your stay!  When in Rome, we highly suggest that you book tickets in advance for the Vatican museum and the Colosseum. This will give you front of the line privileges and save you lots of time. You can also get a tour with a guide outside the attractions. This will cost a bit more but will get you ahead of the queue and give you an informative tour. Just make sure they have a badge as a licensed tour company.  

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews