We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ancient Romance/Romans ok but unsafe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ancient Romance B&B
Ranked #1,732 of 3,735 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed here in the mid-2000's so it seemed a good choice to stay again. Location is excellent; staff is friendly; rooms and bath are clean; breakfast (served in room) is much better than average for B&B of this type.
However, while we knew to expect to use three keys and a small elevator to reach our room, we did not recall and were alarmed to find that the key to our room, and the key to the outer "apartment" door are required to EXIT. There were 3 of us, including one elderly traveller. We asked for an additional key so that if 1 or 2 wished to go out the other(s) could stay & relax. We were told no additional keys. Even if the room was left unlocked, the outer door also required a key in order to leave (double dead-bolts - no thumb latch). THIS IS A FIRE TRAP! We brought this to the attention of the staff and they said they knew. How can this be legal?

The only other complaint is that staff reserved taxi to the airport a half hour too early and we had to scramble or lose our ride. This also caused us to miss the hotel breakfast we paid as part of the room price and spend more on an expensive and rushed meal at the airport.

If you book, see if they have changed the lock situation, or will at least guarantee you 2 keys. That's such an easy and inexpensive fix for a potentially very dangerous situation! Otherwise, your entire travel party has to stay in the room or leave together at all times.

Room Tip: Read safety warning in review. Rooms are on the top floors. Ask for ones that face the street. The o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank viamia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Proprietario at Ancient Romance B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

First of all, I am very happy to read that this guests decided to come once again at our place. That means they enjoyed our property.

That said, regarding the "fire trap", I just think they were a little too anxious...

All B&Bs are normal apartments, so you need to open the room door, then the main apartment one to exit, like all around the world.

There is a fire extinguisher on each floor, like Italian Law rightly order and if somebody wants to exit without his partner or relatives (we have only a quadruple room, then just double and triple, so there is a set of keys every two-maximum three persons -not enough...!?-), our reception is open between 7.30 am and 10pm, so there is always somebody at the desk to open the door to any guest.

I hope next time they will be more relaxed in order to enjoy the holiday...

My best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2013

Room was amazing - clean, spacious, well decorated and comfortable. The location was literally a stone's throw away from Vatican city and St Peter's Cathedral. The place ticked all the boxes for us.

The only thing that stopped this being a 5/5 for us was the lack of a reception/someone to speak to in case of emergencies for example or just for some info during our stay. The place was a little tricky to find although luckily we google-mapped it before we arrived (look out for the Blue Ice shop downstairs). We couldn't get in as no one answered the bell. Two other guests who were staying there let us in. There was a sign on the door saying the manager had nipped out for 20 mins and will be back shortly. However the two ladies advised that he won't be back unless we ring him. We didn't want to switch on our phones as the roaming charges would cost us a bomb. We did try the phone in the reception area but it didn't work. Luckily, the manager returned not long after and we checked in fine. He also gave us some really good tips on where to go/sight-see, what buses to take, where to eat. Unfortunately that was pretty much all we saw of him - we did try and look out for him the next couple of days as we needed to check out really early in the morning. We had to leave a message with the maid - it would have been ideal if a taxi could be called for us (as other hotels/B & Bs usually would) but we had to sort that out ourselves.

Nevertheless the room itself and the location was perfect. Breakfast was delicious and our room was tidied everyday before we got back. Comfy bed and great air-conditioning. Genuinely one of the best rooms we've stayed in during our travels. Would definitely recommend notwithstanding lack of reception.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muffinfactory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Me and my friend stayed at the Ancient Rome B&B back in June for 4 nights.
The whole experience was amazing, the family who run this B&B couldn't do enough for you and I'd encourage anyone to stay there.

The location was perfect, literally a 10minute walk to the Colosseum and into the bustling centre.

Charming hotel, lovely cozy rooms! Cannot wait to return :-)

Room Tip: Rose room - so cute!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CM2887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised with this charming bed and breakfast. I recently stayed 3 nights in a newly renovated room with private bath, closet, A/C, tv, and WiFi. The staff was so friendly and brought coffee, paninis, pastries, etc. to our room for breakfast. The location was great, in a safe but lively neighbourhood only a stone throw away from Vatican City. However, they will make you wait to check-in since there isnt someone constantly working there, so be precise with your arrival time and don't panic if they are running late.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fraugluecklich1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

It's called b& b because its small but it's really like a very good and cozy hotel,room is very big comparing to European standards and very comfortable,it's close to metro,Vatican and I enjoyed staying in there,specially if you want to go shopping!which I highly recommend,because rom is the best place for that and the location of the hotel is good and close to ottavio street.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gj_jeiran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

My husband and I stayed at Ancient Rome for 5 nights. This is a charming hotel in a beautiful area of Ancient Rome. It is about a 50 Euro cab ride from the airport and about a 15 minute walk from the main train station (Termini).  The location is perfect for sight seeing; just a 10 minute walk from the Colosseum and a short walk to the Trevino fountain. The restaurants in the area are excellent (we recommend El Baretto) and there are lively squares in the evening. We loved the area. The hotel staff; Francesco and his daughters are friendly and very helpful. Francesco gave us good information before arriving at the hotel to make sure we didn't pay too much for a taxi (only use the city authorized white cabs). No complaints. Enjoy your stay!  When in Rome, we highly suggest that you book tickets in advance for the Vatican museum and the Colosseum. This will give you front of the line privileges and save you lots of time. You can also get a tour with a guide outside the attractions. This will cost a bit more but will get you ahead of the queue and give you an informative tour. Just make sure they have a badge as a licensed tour company.  

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

Excellent ! We enjoyed a lovely stay with fantastic air conditioning which was very welcome in 40 degrees heat
Francesco and his family are very hospitable and the garden terrace is a welcome place to have a drink or breakfast !
We will be returning

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wendy606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Suite Rome
Suite Rome
#301 of 1,164 in Rome
27 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#458 of 1,271 in Rome
297 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
6,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#350 of 1,271 in Rome
434 reviews
Domidea Hotel
#221 of 1,271 in Rome
661 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#111 of 1,271 in Rome
1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ancient Romance B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ancient Romance B&B

Address: Via Ottaviano 9, 00192 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,732 of 3,735 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: £38 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ancient Romance B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Ancient Romance” is a bed and breakfast located in the wonderful, historical and artistic area of the Vatican City, in the hearth of ancient Rome. It is just 50 metres far from San Pietro square and the Vatican Museums. Our B&B has just been renovated and it is situated in a splendid late-19th-century building, in via Ottaviano, on a quiet pedestrian precinct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Ancient Romance B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ancient Romance Hotel Rome
Ancient Romance Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing