We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value for Rome Stay”
Review of Borgo al Vaticano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Borgo al Vaticano
Ranked #1,877 of 3,722 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We were pleased with this property, the value for the price and our stay in Rome. The apartment was in a great location and the neighborhood felt safe and more importantly not touristy. There were several restaurants, a grocery store and the Cipro Metro station all within a few minutes walk. The Vatican Museums entrance was also very close. The breakfast provided is a typical Italian breakfast (which tends to be small) with some bread, jam, yogurt, juice, Italian coffee (and pot), tea and some instant coffee. The room was a good size for 5....the bathroom was a bit small (especially for 3 teen girls) but it wasn't a problem at all. The terrace was a lovely outdoor space where we always ate breakfast and sometimes a take-out dinner. Federyka was a pleasant host and she gave a us a very thorough description of sights and how to get to them. Check-in and out was easy....Federyka was also very accommodating with our time of check-out allowing us to keep our bags there during the day for a late train. We would definitely recommend this property and will stay there again if we find ourselves back in Rome.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MMG1894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2013

Nice little appartment. Even thouhg it was not big, it is OK for a family. Locatoin is very good, close to Vatican museums and metro Cipro. Very convenient, especially if your sightseeing priorities are the Vatican and around. Anyway the metro makes it easy to go anywhere in Rome.Good restaurants, cafes and bars in the neighbourhood + shops. Nice terrasse on the roof. Breakfast was as expected - simple and Italian. Hostess Frederyca was very nice and provided excellent service.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marius D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Let me begin with the positives. The owner frederyka was very pleasant and helpful. The location once we had located it, was actually very convenient. The price was good.
There are some not so good things to consider though. The ad states bed and breakfast. Breakfast consisted of a basket of long life breads,biscuits and cakes. No kettle to make tea or coffee, no toaster (frederyka took one from another unit for us when we mentioned it), no milk in the fridge, no cereal or fruit. Many of the wraped pieces in the basket must have been there a long time as they were crushed when we opened them. Not what we expectd for breakfast. We had to buy our own provisions for our breakfast.

A small wall had been built between the kitchen and bed which didn't need to be there. If you read this frederyka, consider removing it. The bed is very low to the ground and with the wall in the way there is not enough room to swing your legs to get out of the bed. It was quite difficult to get out.
The kitchen had 2 cooking plates but one was not working so it was not really suitable for cooking. There were not enough basic items in the kitchen to cook with either, it was not well equipped. Now I know others have stayed here but maybe they have reviewed a different room so please bear that in mind. I don't know how well equipped the others are. We would stay there again if changes were made.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sonandsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

5 in a large studio flat. Was comfortable and good value for money. We got a little more for breakfast than we expected as we had seen previous reviews. Frederica had stocked up on coffee, cereal, cake and biscuits. She also spent time explaining what was around and the best mode of transport. We really were only 20 minutes from St Peter's square and 10 minutes from the Vatican museum. There wasn't space to dry 5 towels and the small bath room could do with a little updating as it suffers badly with condensation and the floor gets very wet.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wingett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

I lived here for 6 days/nights with my family durint the new years 2012-2013
If you are used to luxury and great breakfasts and so on, then this is probably not the place for you. it was a bit tiny and cramped for 5 adult persons, but we had no big problems.
The best thing about this place is the area, its farily close to the centre of Rom and no tourist places near. A lot of great comfortable restaurants nearby and subway 5min away

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ardalan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We stayed here during the month of July in 2012, and the location couldn't have been more convenient. We could walk straight to Vatican City, and the metro station was less than a 5 minute walk. It was very clean, cute, and Federica was very friendly and accommodating. Every morning, we grabbed our provided breakfast with a cup of hot coffee and went up to the rooftop, where there was a romantic sitting area and table that easily accommodated a family of five. We will definitely choose Il Borgo al Vaticano again for our next trip to Rome.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Max B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice L, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Borgo al Vaticano, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Next Door Guesthouse
#84 of 3,722 in Rome
263 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#363 of 1,269 in Rome
430 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#449 of 1,269 in Rome
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,269 in Rome
6,863 reviews
Esquilino
B&T Rooms
B&T Rooms
#1,887 of 3,722 in Rome
92 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#108 of 1,269 in Rome
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo al Vaticano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo al Vaticano

Address: Via Angelo Emo 97, 00136 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,877 of 3,722 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: £48 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The apartment Il BORGO AL VATICANO is situated in the center of Rome, just 2 minutes far from the Vatican's wall. Il Borgo al Vaticano is a welll equiiped bed and breakfast: satellitar tv, conditioning air, central heating, r2 double beds, if necessary a single bed, mirrors, bathroom and private kitchen, minibar, indipendent entry, terrasse with solarium and BBQ. If you need more information, contact us: Federyca Borgo al Vaticano Roma ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Borgo al Vaticano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing