We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic breakfast, wonderful staff, highly recommended”
Review of Crosti Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crosti Hotel
Ranked #155 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2010

Stayed here for a few nights with my partner - first time to Rome. Easy walking distance from the main station (can't remember the name of it now)
Outside is lit up and looks lovely. The guy at the desk was fantastic, gave us a map of Rome, circled all the famous spots and added in a few suggestions of his own that the 'young kids' like to go to.
Bathroom was spotless which is such a high priority for me. Bed was big and comfortable.
The breakfast each morning was a treat!. Fritatta and cold meats and breads, fruit, cereals and great coffee. The big creamy desserts were a bit odd for breakkie but hey, you're on holiday!!

Booked through the hotel website and got it for slightly cheaper than those expedia/last minute sities.

Walking distance to most things or there are train stations around if you cant be bothered.

Loved it, Wouldnt hesitate to recommend it

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank may_and_morb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (908)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

439 - 445 of 908 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2010

Being in Europe many times and staying in Rome alone several times - this hotel is a treasure. Recently renovated, spotless with a good room size and the price asked - you will have a great value for your money.
Breakfast is delicious and plentiful, guys at reception are very helpfull. Basically, I highly recommend this hotel.
The only thing I could say against is a tiny elevator (fit for 2 people without bags) and a small shower cabin in the bathroom - which however is of a standard size.
I am sure you will enjoy your stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CndnTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2010

Excellent value, great location to reach all sites. The entire Hotel was spotlessly clean, our room provided good storage, good bed with lovely linen. The ensuite facility was excellent with a powerful shower and lovely white thick towels changed daily. We appreciated the safe deposit box and mini bar in room. The breakfast was plentiful and provided the biggest choice of any continental breakfast we had encountered and was served by a lovely lady. All staff were friendly from our initial welcome to when we left at the end of our week's stay. The reception staff, in particular Germano and Pietro, who were always pleasant and helpful with directions and recommending restaurants. We particularly enjoyed the Da Vincenzo where both the food and service was excellent. We also enjoyed other restaurants nearby - namely Monte Arci and Andreas. In particular we must mention Bar Montebello exactly opposite the Crosti - a lovely friendly place where we ended each evening with a coffee and liquor. We felt quite safe in the area even late at night. The sites are wonderful but do visit Campo Fiori flower and vegetable markets, cross the river and view Travestere which is more peaceful and local. We walked everywhere (using the map) and soon familiarised ourselves with the locality. Would recommend using the Hotel to book a Taxi direct to the Airport. So quick and easy and only a few euros more than using the train.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CheshireChallenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2010

Although quite warm in Rome in August, Crosti Hotel was an easy 10-15 minute walk from Termini Station, even with luggage. The staff were friendly and helpful (especially older front of house gentleman and breakfast room supervisor who makes a great cappucino). We arrived early morning after a long flight and were delighted to find our room had already been made up and was available to us. Our room was spotlessly clean and we immediately enjoyed hot showers.
Upon returning to reception, we were given a map of Rome, information about sightseeing and, upon asking, great suggestions for nightly dining in the area. We travelled by foot, bus and train in and around Rome and found the Crosti very handy to these services.
A cold buffet breakfast was included in the room rate and although compact, the choices were varied (fruit, cheeses, meats, pastries, cakes, tarts, juices, breads, frittata, cereal etc) , plentiful and fresh. The lemon custard and almond tart was divine!
As a smaller boutique hotel, I couldn't recommend Crosti Hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2010

My family stayed in two of their apartments for two nights. Their apartments were extremely clean. Special thanks to the wonderful cleaning lady, Claudia. Just like home, equipped with a clean bathroom, full kitchen, a washing machine, a flat-screen tv…etc Breakfast was great but had to walk a few blocks from the apartment. Located within a 5 minutes walk from metro station (castro pretorio) or a 10 minutes walk from Roma Termini. A hidden gem in Rome!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mcrooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2010

As the taxi driver drove up to the Crosti, we felt that we had just passed much of Rome's finest tourist spots to find ourselves tucked away in a small and quaint hotel.

Walking in, you enter a small lobby that is ideally European. It is equipped with knowledgeable staff sitting behind a small desk and little else. But, we can see the lower breakfast area that soon will feature a good breakfast for us in the morning. One that features eggs, processed meats (not my favourite), cereals and sweets.

Going into the room, we have a regular card-key that gets scanned to let us in. The room features a large armoir, drawer space and the safe. The window can open and we can see outside, but would rather not. The view is of the back alley and nothing more. The washroom is of a good size, especially considering that European bathrooms are considerably small usually. A great shower with strong water pressure and a heated rack to hang our towels. This was a great 'old school' add-on. The bed was the highlight, it was firm and comfortable.

Going to sleep on the other hand was interesting. Upon closing the lights, we realize that the card slot (where the room card is placed when entering to turn on the electricity) emits these blue lights that are so strong when closing the lights. It turned into a strange club 54 atmosphere. I needed a sock to put over the card to hide these lights. They were incredibly bright.

The location was what drew us to the Crosti, it is close to the train station. Surprisingly enough, the Crosti provides a great end point when done sight-seeing. Starting from the Colosseum, one can walk to all the main sights in almost a straight line and walk all the way back to the hotel. We caught all of the sights at night this time and really enjoyed the walks back, it felt comfortable and safe.

There is a supermarket close, but we never utilized it. Other than that, restaurants are available in the entire city, seemingly within ten steps of each other. Nothing of major note is really around the hotel other than that.

The Crosti is a good hotel when you don't need to be be so close to all of the main sights. It allows you to enjoy a nice stroll through the city, especially in a city where every corner is a picture perfect moment.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bombakid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2010

The Crostil Hotel in Rome on the street, "Via Castelfidardo," was a great hotel. It was clean and about a 30 minute walk to Ancient Rome. As a solo traveler, I felt safe. The breakfast was good and the staff was very friendly. They were helpful with any questions I have and went above and above and beyond to make sure I was taken care of with any requests I had. Pietro at the front desk was especially friendly, accomdating and always helped me out with anything I needed. I would definately stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tbrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#223 of 1,271 in Rome
1,088 reviews
Esquilino
Smooth Hotel Rome Termini
Smooth Hotel Rome Termini
#47 of 1,271 in Rome
518 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Camelia
Hotel Camelia
#133 of 1,271 in Rome
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Best Western Hotel Artdeco
Monti
Hotel Grifo
Hotel Grifo
#106 of 1,271 in Rome
1,167 reviews
Esquilino
XX Settembre
XX Settembre
#200 of 1,271 in Rome
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crosti Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crosti Hotel

Address: Via Castelfidardo, 54, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #155 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £48 - £297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Crosti Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 star hotel in central Rome, a few minutes' walk from Termini Station in the heart of the capital. The CROSTI HOTEL is in an ideal position to visit Rome ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Crosti Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing