We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely superb!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Montani - Luxury Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa Montani - Luxury Guest House
Ranked #155 of 3,734 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Absolutely superb!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a week on our honeymoon. The suite was clean, comfortable and elegantly decorated and had a great view overlooking Porta del Popolo, which, as the name suggests, is the entrance to Piazza del Popolo (i.e. a fifteen minute walk from the Centro Storico, or if you don't fancy a walk, there is a Metro stop right by the entrance to the hotel). Despite the fact we were above a very busy road, we didn't hear a peep as Casa Montani has excellent (I assume) triple glazing, so we slept soundly every night in a very big, comfortable bed. The staff were friendly and all spoke excellent English. They were very happy to make reservations for us and give us suggestions for places to eat/things to do and every morning we had a lovely breakfast delivered to our room. It's not cheap - but you get what you pay for. My only criticism - and it is fairly minor - is that the bathroom was a little bit on the small side. Apart from that, it is a truly fantastic place to stay in Rome, and - if we have the money - we would definitely stay here again. First class!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    46
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
31
214
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

My husband and I spent our honeymoon here (he has also left a review but I wantd to leave my own!!).

The place is approx 45mins car drive from the airport, Casa Montani arranged our car for us to from and to the airport at a cost of 45 euros each way. This is highly recommended as the bus/metro system can be a little over whelming if you havent used it before. The car was waiting for us when we landed with the driver holding up a sign with our name. You pay cash to the driver with no tips expected.

Casa Montana is situated on the 3rd floor of an office block which has a very impresive huge wooden door and a quaint lift to transport you upstairs. The lift is old fashioned with the metal door you open and close and lock with magnets.

The room we stayed in (suite) is lovely. Its decorated very tastefully and the windows hide the noise of the very busy street outside. The noise from traffic didnt really both us even when the windows were open as it was very entertaining watching the bustle that is constant. Rome never sleeps!!

Our room had beautiful furniture and wall hangings, a tea tray filled daily, a mini-bar with a good selection, a safe, a telephone, free Wi-Fi and very generous wardrobe space.

The bathroom is a little on the small side but has a lovely bathroom suite and is laid out well.

The bed is amazing!! It is huge and so comfy!!! As earlier stated by others the breakfast is basic but does the job. You choose what you want the night before and it is delivered on a silver trolley at the time you request. You can choose cereal, youghurt, pastries, cheese and bread, fruit, tea/coffee/hot chocolate and juice.

Our room was serviced to a lovely standard with clean towels when requested and clean bedding on the 2nd night. the room overall was spotless and you can see a lot of attention and care is put into it.

The service we received was immpecable and very non-intrusive. The hosts couldnt do enough for us and gave us very invaluable information about where to go and where to eat etc.

Casa Montani is situated in such a great place. There are local cafes just outside where you can have a pizza and Peroni for 6 euros each which is perfect for lunch.

The Vatican is approx half hour away by foot and all other must see's are all within walking distance. The Spanish steps are beautiful at night and worth seeing in both the day and night.

There are little markets scattered through Rome selling locals paintings and gifts with the sellers enjoying a good barter!!

Rome is how ever expensive you make it. The accommodation is pricey if you stay in the centre. The local cafes/restaurants are very reasonable and offer simple Italian dishes which are beautiful or you could opt for the more expensive cafes/restaurants designed for tourists which offer basically the same dishes.

There are a lot of rose sellers in the Plaza's which can get on your nerves. The best way to avoid them is to either run away (like I did!!) or have a very stern husband tell them no! The minute you accept a rose from them - ''as a gift'', you've had it, they expect ''a little something'' and get quite irate if you try to give the rose back!

Our overall stay in Rome was amazing, the locals are so friendly, its a beautiful place, not too expensive and Casa Montana toppoed it off for us for making us feel so welcome. Thank you so much, we will most definately be back!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cazzaj16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have just returned from spending 4 nights at Casa Montani. This is the best accomodation we have ever stayed in. My father booked this room for us as a wedding gift so we did not know what to expect. When we arrived we were greeted at the door and made to feel so welcome from the word go. We were given plenty of information about where the main attractions where (colloseum, vatican city etc..) the owner even gave us a map and highlighted the streets we needed to follow to get there. When we were shown to our room we were blown away. We felt like royalty. We stayed in the suite which had the main bedroom which had the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in, ample wardrobe space with a safe and a big flat screen tv on the wall with sky. It had a extra room where there was a very comfy sofa, a desk with the mini bar and another flat screen tv. The bathroom was spotless and very stylish. Breakfast was served to our room every morning on a silver trolley and included delicous breads, pastries, fruits and yoghurts along with fresh orange juice and hot drinks. It was absolutley perfect. We would be out of the room at around 9am every morning to walk to the various attractions, by the time we got back to the room around lunch time, our room had been serviced with all fresh bedding, towels and the complimentry hot drinks station refilled with clean cups.We cannot praise the staff at Casa Montani enough for making our honeymoon so relaxing and enjoyable. Thank you so much for making our stay in Rome such an amazing experience. We will deffinatley be returning in the future.

Williams (room 1)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gareth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

We absolutely loved this hotel. The room is perfect, it provides and serene and quiet escape from the chaos of Rome. The design is classic and elegant and there is a perfect little patio with fresh flowers and heating. The bed is comfortable and the bathroom is very nicely done. The room is clean and staff is friendly and helpful. You feel as though you are staying in a friend's flat instead of a hotel. The room is quite small but doesn't matter as most people go to Rome to see the city so time spent in the room is minimal. There are no other amenities like fitness, restaurants, etc, but you are just next to a metro station and across from Piazza del Popolo (tons of shopping and restaurants) so there is really no need for amenities. As long as you know what to expect, there should be no disappointment. Parking is nearby and easy enough to find, although a bit expensive. We loved staying at Casa Montani and found it to be the perfect home base for Rome. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

We stayed here for the final week of our 3 week honeymoon in Italy. We've been to Rome before but wanted to to do it in style this time. And Casa Montani was perfect! Great location, right beside the Piazza del Popolo and the Villa Borghese gardens so everything was within walking distance. Although on a busy main road we never once heard the traffic, the double (or perhaps triple) glazing windows were great. We stayed in the suite, which was the most expensive room they offer. We had a large and very comfortable bed, plently of storage space and breakfast delivered to the room each morning, the silver tray it comes on adds a touch of class! My only (minor) complaint is the bathroom is a little on the small side, and although this place isn't a hotel (more a B&B) for what we were paying I would have expected clean towels every day. But I would definitely recommend this place, I hope we get to stay here again one day!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

This hotel was a real delight - hidden away on the third floor of an office block you are not really sure what to expect when you first arrive. However as soon as you enter the doors of Casa Montani into its plush exterior you are made to feel at home. The location of the hotel is perfect being on the northern tip of the golden triangle and we were able to walk everywhere to explore the sights of Rome.

All the staff and in particular Francisco, Diego and Yvonne were very friendly and helpful. They were all very happy to help us with booking tickets to attractions as well as making recommendations and helping with orientation of the city. They all went over and above the call of duty. We were also able to leave our luggage at the hotel on our final day.

The room was nicely decorated and comfortable and the bed was absolutely amazing - quite possibly the best bed I have ever slept in. It made it difficult to drag myself out to go and visit Rome! Breakfast was basic but nice and always delivered with a smile - it was nice to be able to have breakfast in bed.

This is a fantastic hotel which I would highly recommend. It does not have all the frills of a big hotel so would not suit someone who requires a hotel bar or restaurant or other such facilities. There is however free wi-fi which was great when planning our days in Rome.

It is very comfortable and the staff are very welcoming and I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glos, UK
Level Contributor
87 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

Before you book Casa Montani you need to know this is not really a hotel in the usual sense. There is not a permanent staff as such although someone may be on reception when you arrive. What you get is a serviced room in a fairly smart building with automated entrance. This wasn't a problem for us because we knew this was what we were booking but I can imagine if you were expecting a full service hotel you might be disappointed.
We had the junior suite which overlooks Piazza del Popolo. There is a very busy road in between but no problematic noise when the windows are closed. The room wasn't huge but it was comfortable with a large comfortable bed and a sofa.
Breakfast i agree with some of the negative reviews, was not great. It arrives, at the time you specify in advance, on a trolley. Average rolls, pastry, juice and one coffee. Not really worth having when a short walk away you could enjoy something much better. I suggest they either scrap breakfast and make it purely a room rental, or significantly improve it.
We liked our stay, the price was good compared to most of the similarly rated hotels in Rome and we liked the independent feel of the place.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank thissceptredisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Mario de' Fiori 37
Mario de' Fiori 37
#25 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#52 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,216 reviews
Monti
Nerva Boutique Hotel
Nerva Boutique Hotel
#15 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parioli
Relais Piazza Del Popolo
Relais Piazza Del Popolo
#52 of 1,067 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Campo Marzio
Crossing Condotti
Crossing Condotti
#22 of 3,734 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Campo Marzio
Babuino 181
Babuino 181
#35 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Montani - Luxury Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Montani - Luxury Guest House

Property: Casa Montani - Luxury Guest House
Address: Piazzale Flaminio 9, 00196 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #155 of 3,734 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Montani - Luxury Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Montani - Luxury Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Montani Rome
Casa Montani Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing