We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply wonderful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Montani - Luxury Guest House
Ranked #134 of 3,758 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Simply wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2008

We stayed at Casa Montani for a romantic long weekend in Rome from the 8th - 11th Nov. It was absolutely perfect.
We booked via the hotel's own website, considerably cheaper than one of the normal hotel sites, cut out the middleman.
We took the suite which was exactly as the hotel photos show, very nicely appointed, good space and wonderfully peaceful. The bed was huge and very comfortable and everywhere was immaculately clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful, booking restaurants and giving good advice whenever asked.
As other reviews have said breakfast was delivered to the room on a silver trolley a few minutes after phoning reception. Fresh orange juice, pastries, choice of coffee, breads, yoghurt and cheese, just what you need for a long day exploring the delights of the Eternal city. The only very minor critism would be that a slice or two of ham or salami would have been nice, we forgot to mention this but I suspect that if we had it would have been provided. One tip, the mini bar is actually cheaper than buying water bottles, coke etc from the local shops and cafes so take advantage.
The location was just right, we walked everywhere, to the Colossuem, Vatican, Villa Borghese, Pantheon, Spanish Steps, Piazza Navona, Trevi Fountain etc etc, everywhere was a maximum of 20 minutes walk away, most much less.
It was great to return to the peace and tranquility of this luxury town house every evening before heading out to enjoy a local restaurant, it felt like home, or at least an idealised version of home! That was a key attraction, not so much a hotel but a special private residence.
We cannot recommend Casa Montani enough, we have stayed in Rome before but will only stay here in future. We just hope all the good reviews do not make it too popular!

  • Liked — Location, luxury, tranquility
  • Disliked — Nothing really, wireless connection dropped out occasionally but I should not have been checking email anyway!
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank roaming-briton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    46
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
33
217
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Casa Montani for 5 nights at the tail end of our honeymoon. Though I have travelled to Rome before, staying at the Case Montani made me feel like it was the first time. The hotel is immaculate, and the staff could not have been any more helpful.

Despite rooms in Europe being on the smallish side when compared to hotel rooms in the US, the rooms at the Casa Montani were spacious and had all the modern amenitied one would find in a five star property. They had character, and you could tell that the owners (Giusseppe) took pride in both the design of the rooms and the maintenance.

The location was perfect. Close enough to all the action, but not stuck right in the middle where the noise and crowds are disturbing. Half a block from the Metro station which has great access to all of Rome's major attractions.

Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stary in Rome, but not spend a forture. Truth be told, the hotel, for all that it was, was a real bargain, particularly when the Euro is so strong compared to the US Dollar.

I would never stay anywhere else in Rome again!

  • Liked — Everything.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ESQTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Towson, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2008

At the last minute, almost on a whim, we decided to go to Rome. We booked the last two rooms available at the Casa Montani based on the reviews we found here at Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed in the least. The hotel which is really more of a five room luxury townhouse is exactly what the reviews said it would be.

It is located within easy walking distance from everything we wanted to see - all the popular tourist destinations - on the Piazzale Flaminio overlooking the Piazza del Popolo. It is right next to the metro stop Flaminio-Piazza del Popolo, line A - if you want to take it. We walked to the Spanish Steps in five minutes. Within ten or so minutes, we were at or near the Trevi fountain, the Pantheon, Piazza Navona...

The hotel is family run and offers exceptional personal service. My husband and I booked one room through hotels.com and my mom and dad booked another room at the same time through venere.com. We did not realize that we were actually booked for the same room until we arrived at the Casa Montani. Guiseppe, who greeted us at the door, graciously explained the computer glitch and offered to upgrade one of us to the last remaining suite for the same price as a regular room. This generosity exceeded our expectations. Guiseppe really is a friendly guy and a wise businessman who not only put up with my dad's 1001 questions about the hotel but gave us lots of tips and information about the city, restaurants to try and a map/directions to meet up with our tour guide the next morning.

All the rooms are non smoking and equipped with individual digital air conditioning/heating controls, a telephone, free WIFI access ( an activation code is required), satellite & pay-per-view TV which is displayed on a large LCD flat screen TV, a safe, mini-bar (which is well stocked and affordably priced), a desk and a marble bathroom with a shower, free hermes shampoo/conditioner/body wash and a hairdryer. The towels were nice and fluffy and the king size bed we had in the room rivaled the comfort of my own select comfort bed at home.
We stayed in room 2.

The suite that my parents stayed in (room 1) was almost twice the size of the regular room since it also had a separate living room with a second large LCD flat screen TV, a convertible single sofa bed and a bigger marble bathroom with a bathtub. (The regular rooms only have a shower in it. But there is a nice huge massage shower head and lots of room in the actual shower area. Twice what we had in a hotel in Evian, France earlier that week.)

Another bonus is that breakfast (which is included in the price) is served in your room. The breakfast served could be compared to a continental breakfast served back in the states but it was far more delicious and did I mention it was delivered to your room?

None of us have anything negative to say about this place and we have stayed at 4-star luxury resorts around the world. I only fear that after this and countless other positive reviews get posted, we will not be able to get a room the next time we want one!

  • Liked — The accommodating personal service, comfortable bed, plush furnishings and marble bathroom.
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank M_Marvel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2008

Casa Montani is as billed in the reviews below. The hotel is located on the 3rd floor of an apartment block, accessible by a decently spacious lift and stairs. Despite the very noisy streetscape outside, the rooms are extremely well insulated and cooled, and this yielded a very comfortable night's sleep.

The property is beautifully furnished, and the room we stayed in, although not large, was nicely appointed and the space was well used. The bathroom also was very well-decorated, and although the lack of a bathtub was a shame, the sizeable rainfall shower was a better choice given the bathroom's size.

Aside from the hotel's facilities, it is also very well-located indeed, on the northern edge of the Piazza del Popolo, next to the metro and right by the Villa Borghese.

And most importantly, any problems we had were promptly and fairly dealt with. Guiseppe is obviously a sensible businessman and the hotel deserves its success.

We strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobAndTru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2008

9/2008 Casa Montani, Rome Italy
Reviewer: C. Gagliardi, USA

This townhouse is simply beautiful; it's like a jewel in the heart of Rome. The locale is perfect; walking distance to all the main attractions, and the Metro Train Station is directly across the street as well.

It is maticulous; the owners are lovely people; decorated beautifully. Service was supurb!!! We had a lovely breakfast brought into our room each day, which was absolutely delicious!!!!

I can't say enough about Casa Montani! It was a great experience and most welcoming after our busy days in the city.

MAGNIFICO!!!!! THANK YOU, Charlotte and Carmen, FOR MAKING OUR STAY SO MEMORABLE!!!!! :-)

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank heyred13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2008

Not a great deal to add to the previous reviews.

Fantastic place to stay. Beautifully decorated and furnished rooms. Amazing bathrooms, excellent air-conditioning and windows that really do shut out the noise below. You'll only appreciate how good the windows are once you open them and hear the din from below !!

It's also in a great location. Directly opposite the archway into Piazza Del Popolo. Loads of great eating places within a 5/10 minute walk. They will give you a list of recommended places if you ask.

Great mini-bar which was very inexpensive and the breakfasts were delicious. Juice, coffee, pastries, youghurt, bread rolls with cheese, jam, butter etc.

Giussepe is a very friendly guy who will give you loads of information on your arrival. All the staff are equally friendly and helpful.

When arranging my trip to rome I was put off by the price of accomodation. Casa Montani was great value for money and I would not hesitate to return here.

  • Liked — Friendly staff and stunning rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdroar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perpignan, France
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2008

Just returned from a special birthday trip to Rome and stayed at Casa Montani... I can honestly say it was one of the best accomodations I've ever experienced. I've been to Rome on many occasions and stayed at 5 star hotels like Boscolo etc. but this little B&B which only has five rooms beats it all! The rooms are decorated in impeccable taste, with comphy beds with Frette linen and gorgeous mirrors and flat TV screens, the bathrooms are to die for - travertine marble and power showers, Hermes products and fluffy towels. The mini bar is indecently cheap and the breakfast (included in the price) is totally delicious. The owners, Guiseppe and Charlotte, are most welcoming and always available to help (as well as Carmen, the manager) - their restaurants recommendations were most appreciated. The metro is apparently just around the corner but we didn't use it as everything is within walking distance (the Spanish steps, Trevi fountain, Piazza Navona etc.) - who wants to take the metro in Rome? It breaks my heart to write this review and share this treasure as the place is so beyond it's price and it will unevitably go up... but I feel they deserve all the success - so book now to avoid dissapointment - I wouldn't stay anywhere else next time in Rome!

  • Liked — Desing and hospitality
  • Disliked — Our stay was too short!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Motienko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Mario de' Fiori 37
Mario de' Fiori 37
#24 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Locarno Rome
Hotel Locarno Rome
#614 of 1,290 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Parioli
Relais Piazza Del Popolo
Relais Piazza Del Popolo
#51 of 1,088 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Babuino 181
Babuino 181
#37 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
Campo Marzio
Crossing Condotti
Crossing Condotti
#33 of 3,758 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Parioli
VICO Rooms&Terrace
VICO Rooms&Terrace
#276 of 3,758 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Montani - Luxury Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Montani - Luxury Guest House

Property: Casa Montani - Luxury Guest House
Address: Piazzale Flaminio 9, 00196 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 3,758 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Montani - Luxury Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Montani - Luxury Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Montani Rome
Casa Montani Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing