We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home in Rome”
Review of Alex Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alex Inn
Ranked #2,985 of 3,622 Rome B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Home in Rome”
Reviewed 19 July 2012

I love this hotel! While in a very expensive neighborhood (just off the famed Via Veneto) the price is great and breakfast is included. I found Alex Inn thanks to a travel snafu with my first hotel in March 2010; they had overbooked for my first night so they put me up at Alex Inn for the night. I loved it so much that I stay there when I travel to Rome for business! The owner Alexandra is terrific as are her staff. And you can't beat the location; walking distance to major attractions like the Trevi Fountain, Piazza Navona and the Borghese Museum. Also bus lines and a Metro stop - Barberini - nearby. The one drawback is the noise - you can hear other guests coming and going all day and night. But the warmth, comfort and terrace make up for all of that!! And, unlike most other hotels located in condo buildings, you don't have to leave your keys with the front desk so you can come and go as you please!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatuGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    38
    13
    10
    11
See reviews for
8
84
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Will ditto the previous review by Gaia C. The room was clean and comfortable, albeit a bit spartan. Alexandra was terrific, intervening in a dispute with a taxi driver we were having. The rest of staff were friendly and helpful and most spoke English. Having breakfast on the private patio was very nice and a good start to the day (FYI, it is a simple continental bkfst, but more than enough and very good coffee). There was an occasional noise issue, since we were nearest the front desk and people coming in late were a bit loud. Only other issue was lack of e-mail responsiveness; we ended up having to contact La Piccola Maison, where we originally reserved (they switched us over). We would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fossilexpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Its more like a 5 beedroom apartment where you have a room with bathroom and balcony. A bit noisy between the rooms, but perfect area 7 min from Spanish Stairs. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast in the private balcony is a good way to start the day.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Gaia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We had a really nice stay. our room was very cleen and the lady cleaned it every day, we stayed for a couple of nights and enjoyed it so much we are already planning our next visit to Rome, the place is walking distance from almost everything and for the rest we had the bus and metro stop very near. At the check in we got a map and they had already marked all the sightseeing which was very helpful since it was our first visit to Rome, also with great restaurants in the area.
The private terrace was the best part since we could have breakfast there every morning, you get a new menu every day so you can change and pick any number of things you want.
I will recomend it and will stay there again very soon!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed at the Alex-inn for five nifhts in november and very much enjoyed our stay. This was our first time at the hotel and we will definitely be staying there the next time we visit Rome. The rooms are spacious, the hotel is impeccably clean, and the coffee is delicious. The location is fantastic, the team really do make their guests feel at home.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeniffer w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We recently stayed at the clean,delightful and affordable Alex Inn, which is so centrally located near all the ancient monuments and also the metro. Giorgio and the staff were excellent at recommending all the wonderful sights and restaurants and even helped in booking all the museum reservations even before we landed in Rome!
Each day in the morning as we left our rooms to see the various sights, they help us with any inquiries we had. The breakfast which comes included with the stay was great with welcoming service!
We certainly recommend Alex Inn to any one visiting the Eternal City !

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andre a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We found this place through a friend and booked fro 5 nights.
A wonderful surprise. good price, modern room with small balcuny.
the staff is very pleasent and helpful to recommend restaurants and book taxi services.
Good breakfast served in room.
We recommend this place especially to couples.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Residenza Borghese
Residenza Borghese
#723 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Ludovisi Palace
Hotel Ludovisi Palace
#359 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#179 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sleep in Rome Ludovisi
Sleep in Rome Ludovisi
#963 of 3,622 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
I Racconti di Roma
I Racconti di Roma
#659 of 3,622 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Eco Suites
Eco Suites
#2,247 of 3,622 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alex Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alex Inn

Property: Alex Inn
Address: Via Emilia 47, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,985 of 3,622 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Alex Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alex Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alex Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing