We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generally ordinary food and poor service”
Review of Dal Bolognese

Dal Bolognese
Ranked #1,302 of 12,524 Restaurants in Rome
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Campo Marzio
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Generally ordinary food and poor service”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We thought we would try a local restaurant for dinner

Entrees were quite good - both the pastas in particular were good the Caprese was poor. it went downhill from there. We had 4 main meals at our table and 3 of them were awful. The house speciality boiled meats came with all the water on the plate and the fresh vegetables were late and overlooked the zucchini side was good

The stuck up waiters were the worst part. In particular we had to ask for our bill 5 times and it only came when we threatened to walk out

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    297
    169
    82
    69
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Awful!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Poor service. Poor food. Just poor except the bill.
We are very familiar with casual food as well as the Three Michelin starred destinations, but this was neither. Very very disappointing. Never to be repeated

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank justanothertravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hollywood, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good but wasn't our best meal”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I heard a lot about this place. Service was average, the food was ok. I had the octopus salad and their tortolini which they are known for. My mom had fish (it was fried) with fried zucchini fries and a garden salad. (basic and plain) But I guess what do you expect for fried food and a salad in Italy. I had a couple friends recommend this place, but for the price I wouldn't go back.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Juls B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We heard about this restaurant through family. It was very good. One of the best places in Rome. We made reservations through our travel agency. The place was packed with local Italians!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Arianne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Maybe the waiters look miserable because they have to eat the food here”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Or maybe this is the code of conduct required by the owner of his staff. What astounded me is the queue of people waiting to get in, the "reserved" signs on all the outside tables...but this restaurant deserves recognition for charging exorbitant prices for the most bland tasting food served by the most miserable waiters imaginable. And why do most of the dishes come with (equally bland) mashed potatoes. Regulars must have some sado masochistic wish to want to be treated with such disdain. I also can't understand what molecular genius it must entail to be able to extract all flavour from food and replace it just with salt.
Now for the food and spelling bee at a restaurant so clearly targeted at tourists. : would anyone like roast beaf with mushed potato?
Our waiter brought us a jug, or should I say an urn of water so big that I needed to support the underside to pour it. Not once did the waiter offer or fill our glasses. First course for my daughter was 'green ravioli' which was meant to be spinach and ricotta ravioli. The 'green' was the spinach pasta on the outside and a small slice of ricotta placed on the inside with a teaspoon worth of the tomato sauce it came with. The waiter offers my daughter Parmesan cheese for her pasta and proceeded to aggressively douse her lap with most of the cheese. Smiley didn't even ask me if I wanted cheese on my eggplant Parmesan but blessed my lap with a generous showering of cheese as well. The veal alla Milanese with mushed potatoes was one step up from hospital food. We could not get out of this restaurant fast enough. Charmless, tasteless and overpriced. What an irony that they are the only restaurant we ate at that put a service charge on the bill.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank hwicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dal Bolognese also viewed

 

Been to Dal Bolognese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing