We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There is no reason to eat poor quality food in Rome”
Review of Dal Bolognese

Dal Bolognese
Ranked #1,176 of 12,437 Restaurants in Rome
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Campo Marzio
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
773 reviews
622 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“There is no reason to eat poor quality food in Rome”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Our hotel recommended this restaurant - they must get kickbacks. Rude, indifferent service and overpriced. The Antipasto was good but really at EU47 it should have been superb. A disappointing meal on our first night in Rome - Sunday and our favorite places were closed. Surprisingly there were some elegant Italians at the next table and they seemed happy so perhaps they serve the locals something better. Avoid.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JNWSuisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    296
    167
    82
    67
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Generally ordinary food and poor service”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We thought we would try a local restaurant for dinner

Entrees were quite good - both the pastas in particular were good the Caprese was poor. it went downhill from there. We had 4 main meals at our table and 3 of them were awful. The house speciality boiled meats came with all the water on the plate and the fresh vegetables were late and overlooked the zucchini side was good

The stuck up waiters were the worst part. In particular we had to ask for our bill 5 times and it only came when we threatened to walk out

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Awful!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Poor service. Poor food. Just poor except the bill.
We are very familiar with casual food as well as the Three Michelin starred destinations, but this was neither. Very very disappointing. Never to be repeated

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank justanothertravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hollywood, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good but wasn't our best meal”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I heard a lot about this place. Service was average, the food was ok. I had the octopus salad and their tortolini which they are known for. My mom had fish (it was fried) with fried zucchini fries and a garden salad. (basic and plain) But I guess what do you expect for fried food and a salad in Italy. I had a couple friends recommend this place, but for the price I wouldn't go back.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Juls B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We heard about this restaurant through family. It was very good. One of the best places in Rome. We made reservations through our travel agency. The place was packed with local Italians!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Arianne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dal Bolognese also viewed

 

Been to Dal Bolognese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing