We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Lunch”
Review of Vineria Il Chianti

Vineria Il Chianti
Ranked #356 of 12,437 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$47 - US$63
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Trevi
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely Lunch”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This was recomended to us by our Roman friend. While it wasn't the best food I've ever had, it was delicious, I didn't feel ripped off, & our server was so much fun. I will be back this summer for another lunch or dinner al fresco.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jgiorgianni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,496 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,201
    932
    204
    92
    67
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Walpole, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Worse meal in Rome”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We ate outside imidmapril wih a reservation made by our hotel. This place was recommended by them and tripadvisor. We were seated on a long table next to others mid table. We waited almost 30 min to be greeted and placed our wntire order to our surely waitress. She obviously didn't want to be there. Everyone around us were served what looked like a homemade pizza bread hot from the oven in addition to thhe regular bread. We were not but asked our server in Italian for one. 20 min later she threw another bread basket on our table having noted that we never touched the first one. The people seated next tous ate this as they never received bread from her. All of the dinners came out after an hour plus of waiting except for my pumpkin pasta which I was excited to try. She shrugged when we asked about it. Everyone finished their meals and mine had still not come. We asked for the check after we found our server and with Thr check she brought my pasta which was a tasteless pasta with cheese swimming in butter,...since I was starving at that point I ate it but it had no essence of pumpkin at all and no sage in the sauce despite having a sage leaf atop. We waited almost 30 additional minutes to pay the check a no sign of our server so we went in to pay at the register. Save yourself a lot of time and money and have a great meal down the street at Piccolo Buco which we loved and I will review separately.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JeannineH-M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best so far in the area!!!”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We tried Spiriti e forme yesterday. It was good - but this one is great! Great service, great wine expertice (its also wine bar) and great food! Even a bit cheaper. And the attitude of the waiter was polite and professional. We had 3 pizzas within approx 10 minutes. Very fast anyway.
Elegant interior without being too posh. Clean design toilets.
The setting outside is open, warm and nicely lit as well (no neon).
Go there - you wont regret :-)

Helpful?
Thank PeterStar
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rishon
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We had dinner the first night in Rome and were very disappointed with the service and the food.
The wine was find but the meat was dry and not tasty. Also the prices were much more then average

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank O10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worldwide
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Recommended by a local”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

On our visit our hotelier recommended this restaurant and we decided to go and check it out for a dinner. It was good that we called ahead, since it seems to be fully booked all evenings. We got a good table, and both of us had different meat dishes which came highly recommended, the ossobuko and the wild boar, both very good and perfectly cooked and we got a good wine recommendation from the waiter to go with the meal. Next time when I am in Rome, I will go again.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank WorldwideVikingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vineria Il Chianti also viewed

 

Been to Vineria Il Chianti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing