We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed everything about this place!”
Review of Il Focolare

Il Focolare
Reserve with
Il Focolare is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #983 of 12,362 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$34 - US$45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Monteverde
Casa Grande, Arizona
Level Contributor
236 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Enjoyed everything about this place!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We happened upon this neighborhood restaurant in Trastevere while vacationing in a cottage nearby an we had a wonderful meal there. We started off with the tempura-fried mixed vegetanbles, which were almost a meal in themselves, followed by a shared salad, the veal in marsala sauce for me and veal with porcini mushrooms for him, and a side of marinated zucchini. The tastes were absoluitely outstanding and each dish enhanced the others. Even though we were really full after that, we splurged and ordered the creme brulee and the chocolate cake.
There were happy people at other tables also, each enjoying the ambience and relaxed but attentive service. I don't know how you could complain about a price of 67 euros for all this delicious food, which included wine, by the way!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank miznovember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    149
    53
    22
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
61 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Overpriced and way overrated. I will never go back.”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Il focolare used to be good restaurant, but those days are over. The first courses were particularly bad: the spaghetti "alle vongole veraci" claimed to have fresh, large clams. Instead there was a scattering of tiny clams, mostly dabs of clam outside their small broken shells. And the pasta was drowned in not particularly good oil. The real disgrace was an exorbitantly priced spaghetti all'astice (rock lobster), which we were assured would have just a little bit of fresh tomato. What arrived was half a rock lobster that had been desiccated in the cooking, and the pasta was drowned in a sticky (and not at all fresh) tomato sauce that had been mixed with the roe and guts of the rock lobster, AND which was full of little pieces of SHELL. Completely inedible. We returned the dish virtually untouched, and pointed out the bits of shell to the waitperson, who seemed wholly unconcerned. We were charged for the dish, but made no fuss. We were just glad to get out of there and NEVER go back again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Itala11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice
1 review
“Great food, nice atmosfere and friendly service”
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Just the right balance between classy and traditional food. The service was very helpful and friendly. I will certainly return.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
40 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent neighborhood restaurant”
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Taken here by Italian friends who live in the neighborhood. We all started with a huge platter of mixed raw, smoked, and fried seafood that was wonderful. I then had a grilled salmon with grilled mixed vegetables, while my wife went for the steamed version - steamed salmon, steamed mixed vegetables. Both excellent .Our friend had a beautiful plate of tuna crudo, his wife had a seafood pasta. Again, both of their choices were excellent. Both wives had forest strawberries that were perfectly ripe, and my tiramisu was very good. Good wine list with reasonably priced options.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank eclectic_traveler043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outdoor Patio Great”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Good Service a Good food Waiters helpful and friendly. A little disappointed that owner never came by to talk while son our waiter did.
We ate there 5 times over ten days. Execellent

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Il Focolare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing