We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quirky and very authentic” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tale Quale Come L'ortica - CLOSED

Tale Quale Come L'ortica
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Parioli
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Quirky and very authentic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

Bottom line - food was delicious (and half the price of the City) - the staff speak very little English but the menu was understandable, home cooked Italian food, lovely.
(ps: on the door it says "Tale Quale" but it appears to be known as l'Ortica)

Helpful?
Thank DGB-2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    24
    2
    10
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

This place is a real gem. Decorated with lots of art and has nice homley feeling, very cosy and friendly ambience. The food was authentic, neapolitan dishes as good as in south Italy. We had an amazing starter and lovely pasta, tasted as homemade. Dessert was spledid and we enjoyed our dinner a lot. Owner and staff are very friendly and chatty. HIghly reccomeded and we will be back for sure.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Principessauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Strange restaurant”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

We went here last week after it being recommended by The Duke hotel.
The owner and the waitress were waiting at the door as we arrived. As we walked in, we realised we were the only customers. We should have realised then !!!
We were brought one handwritten menu between 4 of us, which had a choice of 1 starter !!!!!
Soooo we chose 2 starters to share, which was ham and mozzarella to be told they hadn't got any mozzarella but have ricotta instead !!!! V strange substitute. When they arrived, 1 plate had 4 pieces of ham, the other had 3 !! We had to laugh, but by this time realised we had made a big mistake.
For the main course 2 of us had fried spaghetti with tomato, which was greasy spaghetti with some cherry tomatoes on top. My husband had lasagne which looked a few days old and had been microwaved, and the 4th meal we think was tuna.
The most odd thing about the evening was the waitress either sat at another table or stood by it just staring at us the whole time, very weird.
We arrived at 8.15 and left at 9pm
Don't bother with this restaurant, 10 mins to Piazza del Popolo and you have the choice of many good restaurants.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank skintbint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb food, wonderful atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

Had one of the best meals I've enjoyed in Rome in this splendid little restaurant last night.

If you're not staying locally you'd have to go looking for the place, but it's well worth the effort: a warm and genuine welcome from the owner, and then a dining experience that our party won't soon forget. The hand-written and -decorated menus show a strong Neapolitan influence, and seemed pretty very varied: certainly more than enough options to cater to our party's range of dietary quirks. After some delicious antipasti I had the sea urchin pasta (excellent), and for the main a marvellous plate of amberjack (not a fish with which I was previously familiar). The puddings we tried were also extremely good, and not the usual tired fare one finds in Roman restaurants. The place has a great atmosphere, too... there's been real thought put into the restaurant's design, with some eye-catching curiosities and pieces of modern art hanging on the walls. Also worth looking out for: the gigantic Bialetti moka pot tucked away in a corner.

Somewhat surprised to find such negative reviews on here from Italian-speaking contributors. The usual doubts about authenticity arise in these cases.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Linus84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astoria, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic hidden gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Duke Hotel last week and while walking around found this quiet gem. We walked in, the older gentleman welcomed us into this amazing place that feels more someone's home. The place felt so relaxing and homely and just great. The food, OMG the food! The lady proposed a great bottle of white that went great with our food. Speaking of which he food was Amazing! so amazing we asked for more and asked her to surprised us with the ext plate. Simple but perfect pasta. I will go again, I will tell my friends.

Thank you!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank emmanuele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing