We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food & very intimate”
Review of Osteria del Pegno

Osteria del Pegno
Ranked #269 of 12,362 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food & very intimate”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

A good all-round place to visit. Fab also to create your own dish with them...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VicciQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    551
    296
    67
    10
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
istanbul
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Small restaurant, delicious food but don't expect a marvel!”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

After reading several reviews about this restaurant, we decided to try. You can not locate it in standart tourist maps but it is very close to Navona Square. (3 minutes on foot)
On a Friday night, we went but the restaurant is very small and it was fully booked. The nice gentleman (probably the owner) told us that it was not possible for that night so we made a reservation and came back the next day. (it is really a popular restaurant among tourists and locals, without reservation, small chance to find a place)
We tried some appetizers and two pasta dishes, one with clams the other with a spicy ham. We also had a bottle of house wine. All the food we ate was delicious but have to admit nothing so extraordinary. At the end of the day, you are in Rome, there are soo many places that serve good food. That is one of them. (the pasta we make at home is much more delicious, sorry Osteria del Pegno)
You can go there, you will not regret. But it was not significantly different from the other restaurants we tried.
The dinner for two costs around 40-50 Euros.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank aysem_duygu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev
Level Contributor
127 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“The best experience in Italy”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We came to this place first time accidentally in January 2005, just walking around Piazza Navona. It was full, so we book a table and came next day. It was one of the best dinner in my life. It is very small and cozy place, with flowers on the tables, and wines bottles on the shelves around the walls. The owners is serving the table, and do his best. It is very nice to see how he speaks with many constant clients.
we had pasta with mushrooms, different antipasta, and rabbits. Everything was delicious. House wine was also good. For dessert owners provides some compliment for a season. We had mandarins, and homemade pine.
Every time we are in Rome, we are coming here. So far so good. Menu is always up to seasons, you can check with the owner what is fresh today, an what he will recommend.
High recommended. You have to be there once you in Rome.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexey2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great evening with delicious meal, great atmosphere and service”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

This little back-alley restuarant was recommended to us by a friend that owns another restuarant in the area. She personally walked us over and introduced us to the owner and he said he was fully booked. He made us reservations for the next evening and they could not have been nicer. Great food, good service and atmosphere was calm and relaxing. Definitely recommend if you can find it. ;)

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mnhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best osteria !”
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We ate at 4 different restaurants for diner and this was our best in Rome. This place is worth finding, in Rome's never ending lefts and rights and street name changes at every intersection! The lamb was succulent and the caprese divine. The only place we would come back to.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank 69Calvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osteria del Pegno also viewed

 

Been to Osteria del Pegno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing