We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and affordable”
Review of Merulana Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Merulana Inn
Ranked #575 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2012

If you don't need a full-service hotel, this is a great option in Rome. We stayed here for two nights in June 2012 during our honeymoon and left completely satisfied. The room and bathroom are pretty spacious by European standards and the breakfast was better than nearly every other place we stayed in Italy and Greece. The staff are really informative and helpful and we really appreciated the free wi-fi.

While the big attractions aren't right outside your door, Merulana is really well situated. We walked to Trevi Fountain and the Pantheon every night and had no problem getting to the Colosseum, the Forum, Termini Station, and plenty of other places in less than 15 minutes.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rp1384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (225)
There are newer reviews for Merulana Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2012

we have stayed here at the end of April 2012.
Cleanliness was perfect, rooms are not very large but also enough for a medium sized standards. House keeping changes sheets and towels everyday.
Location is great when you arrive from Airport to Termini.
It is about 15 minutes walk distance to Colosseum and historic center and 5 minutes to Termini and also subway station. Rome does not have a great subway system like Paris or Moscow, so do not expect to use subway too much, you will be walking all day probably.

There are no reception, only house keeping lady comes mornings to prepare breakfast and for house keeping activities. It seems there are no security issue in the flat. Doors are opened with your magnetic cards. Elevator is too small, and does not work some times.

Breakfast was acceptable, with coffee. Milk and fruit juice are not supported to drink :)
As we have spend just 10 minutes for breakfast each day, get some nice things on your daily walk from little cafe's to enjoy Rome.

Value for 450 € for 4 nights for a room was a good value, could be a little more cheaper :)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bkraoren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Hi there, I have just returned from a weekend in Rome at the Merulana Inn. First of all, it's important to say that this is NOT a hotel. So, if you're expecting room service, 24 hour reception etc, this is not the place for you. However - for a cheap and central place to stay, it is hard to beat.
The rooms are very modern and secure (you are given a security swipe card to access the main front door, room doors etc). The beds are huge and the bathroom was large, modern and very clean. We had a lovely sunny balcony too. We arrived quite late at night and were met by Alex who was very friendly and waited until we were settled in before leaving for the night.
The breakfast in the morning is great. Yes, it is quite small, but it was absolutely fine for us, we went out to explore Rome every day on full stomachs!
It was my birthday on our first day and I had put out my birthday cards I had been given. When we came back that night, there was a bottle of red wine, two glasses and a bottle opener left in our room. What a lovely gesture.
The location of this guesthouse is ideal. Just round the corner from Termini station, it is very easy to get to from the airport and we walked everywhere else, we didn't use any other form of transport once!
I would definitely recommend the Merulana Inn to others - in fact, I already have!
ps - just a quick tip, when going to the Colosseum, you need to take photo ID with you, otherwise they won't let you hire an audio guide. We queued for ages on the first day and didn't realise until we got right to the ticket desk which was annoying.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

I stayed here with my partner in February 2012, the Guest House is lovely and well kept, Judy is extremley helpful, we arrived an hour early and she still checked us in and gave us our room and then as we had a late flight she advised we could leave our bags once checked out and collect them when we wre ready very handy as we had the whole day.

The location is brilliant it is about 10min walk to the Colosseum and about 30mins into the centre with Trevi Fountain and Spanish Steps, the longest walk was the vatican which was around an hour, however there are buses and the metro but we opted to walk and see the sites on the way.

It is like a bed and breakfast the staff aren't there all day just in the morning but they leave all the contact numbers should you need to contact them (we never needed to), the beds were comforatable and they made the bed and changed all the towls daily, I would highly recommend this hotel due to it's central location and the Inn was perfect

Room Tip: We were in room 6 just tucked up at the back nice size and the room from the hotel pictures
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Westsussexgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

THIS IS NOT A HOTEL!! please don't expect this, it is an unmanned Inn, I.E. you have a room and bathroom, but no staff in the place of residence during the day or night. If you are not happy with this then DO NOT STAY THERE!!

So now that is out of the way, how do you find it. If, like we did, you come in by Leonardo express train (14 euro's one way and takes 32 minutes!) then the inn is VERY easy to get to. You walk down the left side of the train station to the Zebra crossing, then walk all the way towards the Church of Santa Maria Maggiore. If you are stood in front of the church, you will see two streets. You take the street that is on the right, as you walk look very closely at the LARGE doors. the second one you pass will have the Merulana on the 3rd floor.

You will be met by Judy, who is Brilliant, extremely helpful (she spent most of a day ringing the airport trying to find our missing luggage!) and very good with local travel advice, restaurants, the best canoli's in town etc.

The breakfast is very basic, but its a buffet continental breakfast with bacon and scrambled eggs. and thats it. VERY clean throughout, rooms cleaned and made daily.

As for location, for us reasonably fit and active, it was a 10 minute walk to the Colosseum. We also walked from the Vatican through the center of Rome and back. But you are also located 10 minutes away from the Termini (train, Tram and Bus station) with the number 40 express taking you straight to the Vatican.

Bus tours also leave the Santa Maria Maggiore every 15 minutes, this will enable you to hop on and off at all the major attractions.

We came back from the Inn, on the 31st December 2011 and spent 4 nights there with absolutely no issues (inc Wi-Fi.

we would recommend it.

Negatives are that for many people who like to find the nooks and crannies of a city, it is a long way out from the hustle and bustle of the city......however for others this would be a positive.

Room Tip: We had room number 2, near the back and it was large, clean and perfect for us who wanted just somew...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robphys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

This wonderful small "guest house" was perfectly situated for us, a large appartment with 6 bedrooms on 3rd floor (lift). Easy walking distance to many of the best locations. Judy was most helpful with advice on buses, metros etc. All the staff were very pleasant. Breakfasts were very good for this type of accommodation and the rooms immaculate with all we needed. Our room was at the back which was quiet. We valued the independence afforded by the swipe keys for entry etc. We shall return...sooner, rather than later. Patricia and Beryl, sisters from Yorkshire.

Room Tip: The rear faces into a courtyard and is quiet at night.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

MERULANA INN, ROME. Hotel Management of the future? He can see you but you can't see him!

Found online. Don't be fooled by the photos.

We booked online using Hotel Club "Rates to Go". 170 Euros per night.

The hotel is difficult to find, mainly because this is NOT a hotel, with any discernible building or hotel staff, but part of a floor run remotely by an unknown entity with video cameras (creepy?) and one staffer who is not there most of the time.

Make no mistake, this is an experimental and unethical business venture, where a Manager without a name or contact number, who you will never see (but he can see you!), runs the business remotely from a secret location using technology to abolish practically all labour costs. Don't believe that insincere welcome. At 170 Euros a night, you are paying proper hotel prices, but will not receive any hotel services. You never know who you are dealing with....They have you full personal details and you will never know their name, address or number.......

We went to the third floor and were met by Ms G. One of the first things she pointed out was the remote controlled front door. If necessary the unknown Manager can usher you in and see what's going on using the cameras installed in the ceiling...She took one of our credit cards for what we thought was a room guarantee (ie, for mini-bar - but there wasn't anything in the fridge). We only found out the next morning when we asked her, that she had charged the credit card for the entire 4 night stay, even though we had only just arrived.

DAY ONE, first night....We needed to take a shower, but there was NO HOT WATER. Zilch. By this time Ms G. had left the building. There is a sign suggesting a number for emergencies. Whoever answers is totally disinterested. There was nobody to take action to fix what appears to be a problem they have known about for a long time...The hotel does not have and has never had enough hot water for its guests.

So we decided that we had better eat. We made a point of booking a "hotel" that says it has Wi Fi due to its obvious uses on the road. There was NO WI FI, it simply did not work. When we got back we decided to watch TV. There were 300 stations, all in Italian. Ok we're in Italy.

The walls of the tiny room we were given were battered, light fittings didn't work, the plastic bath looked like it had never been cleaned and the tap was hanging off the bathroom wall with silicon gel. When we eventually did take a COLD SHOWER the bath did not drain...The shower curtain was ineffectual and the entire bathroom flooded. Again, nobody we could report this to. Oh dear...

DAY TWO. We rose to a another cold shower and a breakfast room full of disgruntled customers. None of them had hot water. While the breakfast was scheduled for 8.00am, Ms G. did not arrive until 8.45am. The breakfast is delivered the previous day and is basically white bread, some packaged croissants, a fatty manufactured sausage slice, plastic cheese slices yoghurt and tinned fruit and some bright yellow scrambled eggs that had been "interfered" with. There was foul tasting luke warm instant coffee in a jug and two carafes of coloured artificial substances masquerading as fruit juice. There were 12 people in the little breakfast room (it was impossible to all sit at the tables) .....

We questioned Ms G. abut our credit card being charged in full and she made us wait for a long time while another lady, presumably related to the mystery owner, came and dealt with this. It was clear that there was some tension between Ms G. and her employer, by their raised voices. Ms G. had changed from her jeans into a black and white hotel service costume. On a solitary positive note, we managed to get a temporary refund from the mystery lady.

In the end we had a COLD SHOWER and went out to see Rome, at last. We went to use the taps in the room and this time THERE WAS NO WATER AT ALL.

The WATER PROBLEM and the WI FI PROBLEM dogged us for the entire 4 night stay, including DAY 3 and DAY 4. The BREAKFAST continued to be TERRIBLE, and we were made to feel UNWELCOME by Ms G. ....We also noticed that in her spare time Ms G.was asking guests to leave positive reviews of the hotel. ...We caught her writing her own reviews! tsk tsk...

CHECK OUT was a DISGRACE. We had a plane to catch and we tried desperately to negotiate a satsifactory outcome regarding the room rate in view of everything that had gone wrong. It was not fair that we should pay 170 Euros per night. The mystery video manager off-site was called. He instructed the "receptionist" to ensure that we do not leave. In a farcical routine, this woman attempted to take our backpacks out of our hands, with a view to holding them until we paid. Fortunately we were able to keep hold of our things as she attempted to steal them. We needed to meet our plane, so we left immediately. Our attempts to sort out the bill had come to nil. We have never in our lives been faced with such an unprofessional outfit. THEN WE FOUND LATER THAT THE FULL AMOUNT HAD BEEN TAKEN UNAUTHORISED FROM OUR CREDIT CARD. WE COMPLAINED TO THE BANK AND THEY LAUNCHED AN INVESTIGATION. THE MONEY WAS EVENTUALLY RE-CREDITED TO OUR ACCOUNT. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED! DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL. It's a horror movie.

Room Tip: Apparently there are good rooms and small rooms. You will be offered the good room, even if it isn...
  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank WorldTravellerMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Doria
Hotel Doria
#329 of 1,267 in Rome
420 reviews
Esquilino
Auditorium di Mecenate
Auditorium di Mecenate
#399 of 1,267 in Rome
551 reviews
Esquilino
WRH Suites
WRH Suites
#735 of 1,267 in Rome
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel
#98 of 1,267 in Rome
935 reviews
Monti
Hotel Verona
Hotel Verona
#273 of 1,267 in Rome
645 reviews
Monti
Antico Palazzo Rospigliosi
Antico Palazzo Rospigliosi
#677 of 1,267 in Rome
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merulana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merulana Inn

Address: Via Merulana 19, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
#85 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#178 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#294 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £63 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Merulana Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Merulana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merulana Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing