We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nightmare in Rome”
Review of Merulana Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Merulana Inn
Ranked #521 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2012

The Merulana Inn is very nice - once you get in through the front door....that's the hard part. There was no one there when we arrived and no one answered the emergency phone no. that was posted outside the (very hard-to-find) door. We actually had to get a very nice clerk in an adjoining hotel help us out. It took 2 1/2 hours to find someone to come and actually let us into the room that we had paid for. Once inside, however, the suite was quite nice. One further word of caution though: As the clerk who finally showed up to let us in warned: "Don't touch the door!" (It opens automatically and you don't dare try and pull or push it open.) Also, watch out if you're overweight, as the elevator to the residence is pretty damn narrow.

Room Tip: Call or e-mail 2 days ahead to let them know exactly when you're going to arrive. There's no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meachelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2012

First of all I'd like to say, ingone all the "bad" reviews. If you're looking for a guest house, a clean, staff friendly place to stay, in a great location, then this one is the one you're looking for.

When first reading the reviews, I was a bit sceptical. When I saw the check in time was 13:00-13:30, I've just emailed the hotel, and they confirmed someone will be waiting for us on our arrival (we landed in Rome at 7pm). Right at the arrival we were greeted by a lovely lady, OK - maybe she didn't speak a word of English, but -bless her- she tried really hard to explain everything, eventhough all you need to know is in a guide in the room. She showed us around, where the breakfast area was and how the key-cards work .... after check in, we were pleasantly surprised with the quality of the room- clean, well presented, aircon-ed room, with lovely bathroom and a balcony facing the communal garden (nice and quiet).

Next day, we've woken up, and had a lovely breakfast. Please don't expect a full on English breakfast being served to you. Fresh bread,some salami and ham, cheese, pate and various spreads, cakes and pastries , or cereals is (I think) all you need to get you to start the day and to get you through the lunch. I saw people complaining about the breakfast, but seriously- come on people... I think it was spot on!

The location couldn't been more perfect! 5 minutes from the coloseum and the museum. Pantheon, vatican city and plenty more - all withing walking distance. No need to catch a taxi or a bus. We've managed to see all the main attractions i.e - Coloseum, Pantheon, fontana di trevi, Piazza Navona, St. Peter's Basilica (Vatican City) , Sistine chapel, Cantel Sant'Angelo and the Museum all in 7-8hrs by walking - in pouring rain! And It was great! So I'd give 5* for the location.

There are also plenty of little coffe places, and places to eat near-by.

On our last day, we had to check out by 10am, however our flight didn't leave until 7pm, so we asked if they can look after our baggage. We vere pleasantly surprised, as we were worried we would have to carry all of our stuff with us all day, but the lady at the guest house (this one spoken really good english:-) was more than happy for us to keep our bags there, also gave us a spare key card, so we can get in - in case she's not there when we come back - and left the staff toilet open for us incase we need to use it ! If this isn't what you call a great service then I don't know what is!!!!!

Anyhoo, I'd strongly recommend this guest house, friendly, clean, great location. We will surely be staying here again!!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SimSim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

The Merulana Inn has a great location! Very easy to get to places, few blocks away from Termini, easy walk to Colesseo or further walk but a straight street to Spanish Steps. We stayed here for 4 nights and loved it!

This place is not a hotel, there is no one working at a "front desk", infact, there isn't a front desk, so like another reviewer mentioned, if that's not what you want, then this is not for you.

For us, it was really cool. The place is super clean and we were lucky to have the room with the mini patio/balcony. Since we know this isn't a hotel, i have emailed them weeks in advance to make sure that someone is there when we arrive. When we arrived around 5pm on a Wednesday, we were greeted by this Italian lady (think her name is Roberta), she doesn't speak much English, and we don't speak any italian. However, we communicated via body/hand language and i think it works! =)

This place is really charming as it is very "old school". We get a kick out of the elevator every time as it is a small narrow elevator, with 2 doors and there is a fold-up seat inside. The place is clean, the location is great and the ladies working there are super friendly. No complains about this place!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank moniccazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We spent 3 very hot days in Rome at the end of June. Our attractive, bright, air-conditioned room was a welcome sight after a long session of sight-seeing.
The quarters are small, but provide all that is needed for a pleasant stay. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom had all the necessary facilities. Breakfast (included) was tasty - breads, cold meat and cheese, egg, maybe bacon, juice and coffee.
The Manager, Judy, was extremely friendly and helpful. She seems to know the city (at least the tourist sites and buses) very well, and is eager to provide lots of information. what she doesn't know, she will try to find on the computer.
I would be pleased to stay here again on a future trip to Rome.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hawkeye131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We stayed at Merulana inn for 4 nights in September 2011.

The room was quite small but had nice colors and decoration. The bathroom was also quite small, but OK. The breakfast though was fairly poor and not much variety. However the lady who worked there was very helpful and kind. She made us feel at home, which really suits this hostel; it comes across as small but nice hostel that feels like your second home.

The location is good, only a short walk away from Colosseum and the main train station. I could for sure stay here again! Good value for money.

Note: we had some problems with our key cards, one day they suddenly didn't work and we had to call the lady (who is not there all the time) to get it solved, so I'd advice anyone to check your cards every morning before you leave your room, so that you don't come back and can't get in!

Due to the problems with the keys, and the mediocre breakfast, I rate this hotel as "average". I guess we were unlucky, because it seems very nice,

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScratchMap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We loved our stay and would recommend Merulana to anyone visiting Rome.

Our room was quiet everything was exactly as shown on the website photos. The room, hallway and breakfast area were all kept spotless by Judy and her staff. Breakfast was always delicious and nutritious. Judy and Roberta were both helpful when we asked for their advice and recommendations. The hotel has a great location being close to the main train station. We enjoyed short walks to many sites including the Colesseum.

The three of us (my wife, twelve year old daughter and myelf) loved every minute of our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

If you don't need a full-service hotel, this is a great option in Rome. We stayed here for two nights in June 2012 during our honeymoon and left completely satisfied. The room and bathroom are pretty spacious by European standards and the breakfast was better than nearly every other place we stayed in Italy and Greece. The staff are really informative and helpful and we really appreciated the free wi-fi.

While the big attractions aren't right outside your door, Merulana is really well situated. We walked to Trevi Fountain and the Pantheon every night and had no problem getting to the Colosseum, the Forum, Termini Station, and plenty of other places in less than 15 minutes.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rp1384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Doria
Hotel Doria
#347 of 1,271 in Rome
436 reviews
Esquilino
Auditorium di Mecenate
Auditorium di Mecenate
#432 of 1,271 in Rome
563 reviews
Monti
Hotel Ivanhoe
Hotel Ivanhoe
#319 of 1,271 in Rome
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Tirreno Hotel
Tirreno Hotel
#449 of 1,271 in Rome
599 reviews
Monti
Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel
#85 of 1,271 in Rome
985 reviews
Monti
Tourist House
Tourist House
#798 of 1,271 in Rome
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merulana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merulana Inn

Address: Via Merulana 19, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
#178 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#184 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £57 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Merulana Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Merulana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merulana Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing