We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and convinient accomodation in Rome”
Review of Merulana Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Merulana Inn
Ranked #572 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice and convinient accomodation in Rome”
Reviewed 18 January 2013

We spent three nights in this hotel. It was a pleasant experience.
Conviniently located within walking distance from Termini, it is easy to reach when arriving from the airport. Rooms are modern and clean. I found beds very comfortable. Good size, newly renovated and clean bathroom.
Location is close to some main attractions like Forum, Colloseum, San Giovanni. Just next to Santa Maria Maggiore basilica. If you like working you could reach all the main Rome sites by foot within 45 minutes, like we did. Otherwise there is a metro close by.
Breakfast is quite basic, but good. I recommend you to have your coffee in one of the many bars arround the corner instead.
Be prepared it is not really a hotel, but one floor in a resedential building. So check the map in advance, it is quite straitforward to find it. Also if you are arriving in the afternoon, agree with the hotel staff before hand, as they are not present the whole day.
Friendly staff. Very good value!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Svetlana348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    70
    19
    4
    11
See reviews for
31
138
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012 via mobile

Husband and I stayed for 2 nights in mid November and loved it. Perfect location - walkable to termini station and Santa Maria maggiore, we also walked to the colosseum from hotel. It's not a usual hotel, but situated in an Italian residence with only about 6 bedrooms. We stayed in room 2 - spacious room with door and view of a typical Italian street/courtyard. Has air con and black out blind behind curtain. Judy who ran the residence is so friendly and helpful. Our flight back was late at night, we left our suitcases there and she gave us a key to get back and collect/ freshen up. Cheapest way into Rome from fiumicino airport is coach at 6 euro to termini station - just over 30 mins, and 5 mins walk to hotel, if u get a cab make sure they keep their meter on or u will pay a fortune! We loved it and would highly recommend.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank LLandJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greece
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Stayed at Merulana Inn in June 2012 and had a wonderful stay! The room and the inn in general are beatifully decorated, the breakfast is good and the location is perfect for walking around Rome and of course anyone who catches the train from Termini Station to the airport. We were in quite a rush on the day of our departure but still managed to get back to the hotel grab our bags and with a brisk walk be at the station in 5' and catch the train to the airport!! Phiou...

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kouklina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

The Merulana Inn is very nice - once you get in through the front door....that's the hard part. There was no one there when we arrived and no one answered the emergency phone no. that was posted outside the (very hard-to-find) door. We actually had to get a very nice clerk in an adjoining hotel help us out. It took 2 1/2 hours to find someone to come and actually let us into the room that we had paid for. Once inside, however, the suite was quite nice. One further word of caution though: As the clerk who finally showed up to let us in warned: "Don't touch the door!" (It opens automatically and you don't dare try and pull or push it open.) Also, watch out if you're overweight, as the elevator to the residence is pretty damn narrow.

Room Tip: Call or e-mail 2 days ahead to let them know exactly when you're going to arrive. There's no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meachelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

First of all I'd like to say, ingone all the "bad" reviews. If you're looking for a guest house, a clean, staff friendly place to stay, in a great location, then this one is the one you're looking for.

When first reading the reviews, I was a bit sceptical. When I saw the check in time was 13:00-13:30, I've just emailed the hotel, and they confirmed someone will be waiting for us on our arrival (we landed in Rome at 7pm). Right at the arrival we were greeted by a lovely lady, OK - maybe she didn't speak a word of English, but -bless her- she tried really hard to explain everything, eventhough all you need to know is in a guide in the room. She showed us around, where the breakfast area was and how the key-cards work .... after check in, we were pleasantly surprised with the quality of the room- clean, well presented, aircon-ed room, with lovely bathroom and a balcony facing the communal garden (nice and quiet).

Next day, we've woken up, and had a lovely breakfast. Please don't expect a full on English breakfast being served to you. Fresh bread,some salami and ham, cheese, pate and various spreads, cakes and pastries , or cereals is (I think) all you need to get you to start the day and to get you through the lunch. I saw people complaining about the breakfast, but seriously- come on people... I think it was spot on!

The location couldn't been more perfect! 5 minutes from the coloseum and the museum. Pantheon, vatican city and plenty more - all withing walking distance. No need to catch a taxi or a bus. We've managed to see all the main attractions i.e - Coloseum, Pantheon, fontana di trevi, Piazza Navona, St. Peter's Basilica (Vatican City) , Sistine chapel, Cantel Sant'Angelo and the Museum all in 7-8hrs by walking - in pouring rain! And It was great! So I'd give 5* for the location.

There are also plenty of little coffe places, and places to eat near-by.

On our last day, we had to check out by 10am, however our flight didn't leave until 7pm, so we asked if they can look after our baggage. We vere pleasantly surprised, as we were worried we would have to carry all of our stuff with us all day, but the lady at the guest house (this one spoken really good english:-) was more than happy for us to keep our bags there, also gave us a spare key card, so we can get in - in case she's not there when we come back - and left the staff toilet open for us incase we need to use it ! If this isn't what you call a great service then I don't know what is!!!!!

Anyhoo, I'd strongly recommend this guest house, friendly, clean, great location. We will surely be staying here again!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SimSim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

The Merulana Inn has a great location! Very easy to get to places, few blocks away from Termini, easy walk to Colesseo or further walk but a straight street to Spanish Steps. We stayed here for 4 nights and loved it!

This place is not a hotel, there is no one working at a "front desk", infact, there isn't a front desk, so like another reviewer mentioned, if that's not what you want, then this is not for you.

For us, it was really cool. The place is super clean and we were lucky to have the room with the mini patio/balcony. Since we know this isn't a hotel, i have emailed them weeks in advance to make sure that someone is there when we arrive. When we arrived around 5pm on a Wednesday, we were greeted by this Italian lady (think her name is Roberta), she doesn't speak much English, and we don't speak any italian. However, we communicated via body/hand language and i think it works! =)

This place is really charming as it is very "old school". We get a kick out of the elevator every time as it is a small narrow elevator, with 2 doors and there is a fold-up seat inside. The place is clean, the location is great and the ladies working there are super friendly. No complains about this place!

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank moniccazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We spent 3 very hot days in Rome at the end of June. Our attractive, bright, air-conditioned room was a welcome sight after a long session of sight-seeing.
The quarters are small, but provide all that is needed for a pleasant stay. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom had all the necessary facilities. Breakfast (included) was tasty - breads, cold meat and cheese, egg, maybe bacon, juice and coffee.
The Manager, Judy, was extremely friendly and helpful. She seems to know the city (at least the tourist sites and buses) very well, and is eager to provide lots of information. what she doesn't know, she will try to find on the computer.
I would be pleased to stay here again on a future trip to Rome.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hawkeye131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Auditorium di Mecenate
Auditorium di Mecenate
#343 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Monti
Tirreno Hotel
Tirreno Hotel
#355 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Doria
Hotel Doria
#340 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Maikol Family Guesthouse
Maikol Family Guesthouse
#1,027 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#90 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Monti
Hotel Santa Prassede
Hotel Santa Prassede
#696 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merulana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merulana Inn

Property: Merulana Inn
Address: Via Merulana 19, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
#104 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#178 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#294 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Merulana Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Merulana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merulana Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing