We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Guesthouse in Rome”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Merulana Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Merulana Inn
Ranked #489 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Guesthouse in Rome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

My mom and I stayed here for 2 nights because it was close to metro and the price was reasonable. People have to keep in mind when booking this guesthouse is that it is a guesthouse so your pretty much on your own after she gives you your keys and explains everything to you. We had no problem finding the place you just have to follow the directions given to you and they do tell you how the building looks and what to look for. This was a great little inn to stay at with free wifi and breakfast but My mom I weren't there for breakfast as we were gone early in the morning each day. I would recommend this place for people not needing to be catered to and who want to be left to themselves. I enjoyed this place because it felt like I wasn't at a hotel but a home which is nice to find.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Summerbreze18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    69
    19
    4
    9
See reviews for
29
137
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

We recently stayed 4 nights at Merulana Inn and we found it to be clean, comfortable and secure, the breakfast was adequate, the hosts were friendly and welcoming, and the guest house is convenient for the train station and metro.
People considering booking Merulana Inn need to remember that it is a guest house, not a 24 hour/multi room hotel. Its managed by local team and there are only 6 rooms in this guest house.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MJtravels2913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

We had walked up & down Via Merulana for an hour looking for this hotel in the pouring rain & dark.

Eventually a cafe owner across the road advised us where it was.

On arrival we were greeted by a woman named "Judy". Bearing in mind we were wet, tired & stressed this woman was far from friendly or welcoming. She informed us we were late as we should have checked in by 1430 as this was the time she went home. We told her we could not find the hotel. All she could say was we should have phoned her to say we would be late. Quite how we could do this as she went home at 1430 was not made clear. She also seemed confused as to whether the Merulana was a hotel, inn or guest house.


Fortunately we never saw this woman again.

Gripes major & minor:

No fire notices or any evidence of fire doors/alarms/sprinklers etc. Electronic entry door. Did this unlock in case of fire? Also this door stayed open way too long if anyone was lingering in the hallway behind.

Dark dingy door from the pavement populated by obviously homeless people watching our every move.

Only a small sign to one side stating it was the hotel. Which could not be seen in the rain & dark. This is even a struggle to be seen on Google street view in daylight.

Rip off prices for facilities/services received.

No information on the hotel itself or any literature, other than a map, on the sites of Rome, transport, restaurants etc. A booklet on the best shops was however provided!

The water in the shower would suddenly go from warm to scalding.

No staff available to answer questions or be of any assistance for most of the day. Reception consisting of a desk with a computer in a corner. The only literature on this desk being business cards for the hotel & no phones either private or public seemingly available.

Courtesy tea/coffee/water in the room was not always replaced on a daily basis. Milk, not even satchets of whitener, was ever provided.

Indifferent breakfast. Instant coffee/stale bread & croissants/basic supermarket brand orange juice/cheese/ham etc.

Safe deposit box not working.


Good points:

Clean room/sheets/towels

The breakfast woman was extremely friendly.

Close to the main rail terminal & airport transfer stops. Also Coliseum & Foro.

In summary we found the place extremely odd & badly run. We would not reccommend this establishment to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wath_Boy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013

We spent three nights in this hotel. It was a pleasant experience.
Conviniently located within walking distance from Termini, it is easy to reach when arriving from the airport. Rooms are modern and clean. I found beds very comfortable. Good size, newly renovated and clean bathroom.
Location is close to some main attractions like Forum, Colloseum, San Giovanni. Just next to Santa Maria Maggiore basilica. If you like working you could reach all the main Rome sites by foot within 45 minutes, like we did. Otherwise there is a metro close by.
Breakfast is quite basic, but good. I recommend you to have your coffee in one of the many bars arround the corner instead.
Be prepared it is not really a hotel, but one floor in a resedential building. So check the map in advance, it is quite straitforward to find it. Also if you are arriving in the afternoon, agree with the hotel staff before hand, as they are not present the whole day.
Friendly staff. Very good value!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Svetlana348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012 via mobile

Husband and I stayed for 2 nights in mid November and loved it. Perfect location - walkable to termini station and Santa Maria maggiore, we also walked to the colosseum from hotel. It's not a usual hotel, but situated in an Italian residence with only about 6 bedrooms. We stayed in room 2 - spacious room with door and view of a typical Italian street/courtyard. Has air con and black out blind behind curtain. Judy who ran the residence is so friendly and helpful. Our flight back was late at night, we left our suitcases there and she gave us a key to get back and collect/ freshen up. Cheapest way into Rome from fiumicino airport is coach at 6 euro to termini station - just over 30 mins, and 5 mins walk to hotel, if u get a cab make sure they keep their meter on or u will pay a fortune! We loved it and would highly recommend.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank LLandJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greece
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

Stayed at Merulana Inn in June 2012 and had a wonderful stay! The room and the inn in general are beatifully decorated, the breakfast is good and the location is perfect for walking around Rome and of course anyone who catches the train from Termini Station to the airport. We were in quite a rush on the day of our departure but still managed to get back to the hotel grab our bags and with a brisk walk be at the station in 5' and catch the train to the airport!! Phiou...

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kouklina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

The Merulana Inn is very nice - once you get in through the front door....that's the hard part. There was no one there when we arrived and no one answered the emergency phone no. that was posted outside the (very hard-to-find) door. We actually had to get a very nice clerk in an adjoining hotel help us out. It took 2 1/2 hours to find someone to come and actually let us into the room that we had paid for. Once inside, however, the suite was quite nice. One further word of caution though: As the clerk who finally showed up to let us in warned: "Don't touch the door!" (It opens automatically and you don't dare try and pull or push it open.) Also, watch out if you're overweight, as the elevator to the residence is pretty damn narrow.

Room Tip: Call or e-mail 2 days ahead to let them know exactly when you're going to arrive. There's no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meachelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Auditorium di Mecenate
Auditorium di Mecenate
#356 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Monti
Tirreno Hotel
Tirreno Hotel
#351 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Doria
Hotel Doria
#306 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Maikol Family Guesthouse
Maikol Family Guesthouse
#1,045 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#80 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Monti
Hotel Santa Prassede
Hotel Santa Prassede
#656 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merulana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merulana Inn

Property: Merulana Inn
Address: Via Merulana 19, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
#79 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#178 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#294 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Merulana Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Merulana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merulana Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing