We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and price.”
Review of Merulana Inn

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Merulana Inn
Ranked #571 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good location and price.”
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights in Rome during a recent 10 day tour of Italy. This hotel is a great value given its location and easy access. It's an inn with no permanent front desk service. It's a whole flooring an older building but it has been well adapted. We liked being able to walk from termini station or the subway and being within comfortable walking distance to the coliseum and other major attractions. Breakfast could be better. Eggs were cold and there wasn't much selection. But overall it's such a good place that we would certainly consider this again forints value.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    71
    19
    4
    11
See reviews for
32
138
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Had a pleasant stay for 3 nights recently. Hotel is about 15minutes walk from Termini station. You have to really keep a lookout for the unit number, as the entrance is in between two shops via a very inconspicuous brown door that totally blends in with the building facade. There is only a small sign next to the door to indicate the inn. We missed it at first, and walked way past it and across the street instead. Maybe the inn can provide a photo of the door with the two shops flanking it, it will be easier to spot the entrance that way.
The room was clean and cozy, it faced the inner courtyard with a small balcony so it was very peaceful and quiet throughout our stay. There is usually only one staff at a time during working hours (none after) - on our first day the lady was not really fluent in English but she really made an effort to answer our questions; the subsequent days the staff on duty was able to speak English. Breakfast was simple but decent. Another thing of note is that the lift is quite tiny, it can barely fit two of us with two pieces of lugguage.
Santa Maria Basilica is just 5 minutes away - a really pleasant and not so touristy place to visit. There are restaurants just across the street, we tried one and it wasn't great. If you walk further down the street in the direction of the colosseum there will be more options.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

The hotel a good situation near attractions and train station also nearby were nice restaurants. We stayed 5 days in the hotel with a 5 months old baby and found the hotel perfect for our needs. Room was nicely renovated and very clean. The breakfast buffet had a little bit more than usual assortiment and had nice variety. Still the best thing in the hotel was Roberta, who made this hotel experience something to remember forever. She was working in the reception and in the breakfast, whatever she did it was with a smile and made us feel that we're special guests. Mille grazie Roberta! <3

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Firstly, just let me say- this is not a hotel.... if you want to be pampered by hotel staff and greeted at the door as you come in- dont stay here. However, if you are looking for somewhere that is central, clean, modern, and comfortable- this place is perfect.

You need to tell them prior to arrival when you want to check in (and you need to try and be as precise as possible) as the owner will come in and sit there waiting for you to arrive. If you say your going to arrive at 2pm, and you turn up at 6pm... she wont be happy.

It close to lots of great restaurants and cafes. Its less than a ten minute walk from the main train terminal. Its a 15 minute walk to the Colosseum.

It comes with free breakfast each morning- Toast, cereal, eggs, assorted meats and cheeses, croissants, and other pastries.

The only thing to be aware of is the owner in the morning.... lovely lady, but extremely loud with her talking and laughing in the hallway outside the rooms from as early as about 7am.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Merulana Inn for 10 days in Nov. 2012 and 7 other family members joined us for the last three days. This is an Inn and not a Hotel so there is no front desk and it is not staffed overnight. If you arrive late in the evening you need to inform them so they can be there to meet you. It is located on a completely remodeled floor of an older building. Judi, the manager, and Roberta were very friendly and accommodating. The rooms were spotlessly clean and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and choices varied from day to day. My wife has lactose intolerance and by the second day they provided soy milk! There is no wi-fi but I was permitted to use the Inn's computer when it was available. Judi was extremely helpful. She advised us on things to see and do, assisted us with reservations for a museum, and called a doctor for me when a stubborn bout of bronchitis didn't go away. (The doc's house call was $130.) The location is great, just minutes from Termini Station and a short walk to the Coliseum. I highly recommend the Merulanu Inn if you don't require all the trappings and expense of a major hotel.

Room Tip: Some rooms are larger and have bidets in the bathrooms but all rooms are comfortable. .
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

My mom and I stayed here for 2 nights because it was close to metro and the price was reasonable. People have to keep in mind when booking this guesthouse is that it is a guesthouse so your pretty much on your own after she gives you your keys and explains everything to you. We had no problem finding the place you just have to follow the directions given to you and they do tell you how the building looks and what to look for. This was a great little inn to stay at with free wifi and breakfast but My mom I weren't there for breakfast as we were gone early in the morning each day. I would recommend this place for people not needing to be catered to and who want to be left to themselves. I enjoyed this place because it felt like I wasn't at a hotel but a home which is nice to find.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We recently stayed 4 nights at Merulana Inn and we found it to be clean, comfortable and secure, the breakfast was adequate, the hosts were friendly and welcoming, and the guest house is convenient for the train station and metro.
People considering booking Merulana Inn need to remember that it is a guest house, not a 24 hour/multi room hotel. Its managed by local team and there are only 6 rooms in this guest house.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Doria
Hotel Doria
#339 of 1,258 in Rome
411 reviews
Esquilino
Auditorium di Mecenate
Auditorium di Mecenate
#364 of 1,258 in Rome
544 reviews
Monti
I Dormienti
I Dormienti
#838 of 1,258 in Rome
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Verona
Hotel Verona
#282 of 1,258 in Rome
632 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Leone
Hotel Leone
#432 of 1,258 in Rome
56 reviews
Esquilino
D'Este Hotel
D'Este Hotel
#609 of 1,258 in Rome
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Merulana Inn

Property: Merulana Inn
Address: Via Merulana 19, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
#106 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#178 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#294 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Merulana Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Merulana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merulana Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing