We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service!”
Review of Merulana Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Merulana Inn
Ranked #576 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great service!”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Very happy with our stay at the Merulana Inn this October! Great location within walking distance of many attractions and very close to the Termini station. The rooms were both spotlessly clean on arrival and cleaned and replenished (inc. fresh towels) each day while we were out. Although we were an hour later then expected for arrival we were met by Roberta who was extremely friendly and helpful! Despite her limited English she explained everything we needed to know and made us feel very welcome! Would definitely stay here again if any of us get the chance to return to Rome again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kt_sutton88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    71
    19
    4
    11
See reviews for
32
138
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
372 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We booked this place through Expedia. We knew that it wasn't a full service hotel so followed the instructions to inform the Merulana Inn of our arrival time so that someone could be there (particularly important for us as we were arriving at around midnight). We tried emailing and calling but got no response from the email and the phone number seemed unobtainable. We ended up calling Expedia and asking them to try to get a message to the Inn. We never received a confirmation so were a little worried when we arrived. We rang the bell several times and got no response, then we tried ringing the phone number on the door and still no response. We had just started talking about what to do next and the door was activated - what a relief! Once inside we were given a warm welcome by Roberta. She spoke very little english but tried her best to explain everything. The room was clean and nicely decorated, but lacked space in some areas. The bathroom was spacious and clean. The bed was comfortable and we had a decent nights sleep although we did hear some traffic noise in the morning. Breakfast was good, with very nice juice and coffee and a small selection of things including sliced bread, egg, cold meat, cheese and cake to set us up for the day. A small niggle was that the toaster took ages, which was a nuisance when more than one person wanted toast. We were very pleased with the location of the hotel which was just 10 minutes from Termini and close to the Forum and Colloseum, and easy access to so many other sights. The Inn was on the 3rd floor of a building and there was a tiny, quirky lift. Roberta and her english-speaking colleague were friendly and helpful but not always there, which was fine for us but maybe not for everyone. We stayed for 4 nights and overall we enjoyed our stay and thought it was good value for the location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main road if traffic noise troubles you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCSLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

We had 3 nights in Rome and stayed here and really enjoyed it. It's really close to the main train Rome Termini, about a block away and also within walking distance to the colesseum and Roman Forum. We actually walked everywhere from our accomodation, with the furthest attraction being a good hours walk, the Vatican. Definitely worth a visit when in Rome.
The accomodation was very clean, and also very comfortable. The shower was fantastic. Judy is very friendly and provides a delicious breakfast each morning at 8am.
The inn is on a main street so at night it can be quite noisy so for that reason and only that reason alone we haven't given the accomodation a 5 as everything else was fantastic.
Would definitely stay here again as there are a lot of restaurants around and it's situated perfectly.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LizandMattJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights in Rome during a recent 10 day tour of Italy. This hotel is a great value given its location and easy access. It's an inn with no permanent front desk service. It's a whole flooring an older building but it has been well adapted. We liked being able to walk from termini station or the subway and being within comfortable walking distance to the coliseum and other major attractions. Breakfast could be better. Eggs were cold and there wasn't much selection. But overall it's such a good place that we would certainly consider this again forints value.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Had a pleasant stay for 3 nights recently. Hotel is about 15minutes walk from Termini station. You have to really keep a lookout for the unit number, as the entrance is in between two shops via a very inconspicuous brown door that totally blends in with the building facade. There is only a small sign next to the door to indicate the inn. We missed it at first, and walked way past it and across the street instead. Maybe the inn can provide a photo of the door with the two shops flanking it, it will be easier to spot the entrance that way.
The room was clean and cozy, it faced the inner courtyard with a small balcony so it was very peaceful and quiet throughout our stay. There is usually only one staff at a time during working hours (none after) - on our first day the lady was not really fluent in English but she really made an effort to answer our questions; the subsequent days the staff on duty was able to speak English. Breakfast was simple but decent. Another thing of note is that the lift is quite tiny, it can barely fit two of us with two pieces of lugguage.
Santa Maria Basilica is just 5 minutes away - a really pleasant and not so touristy place to visit. There are restaurants just across the street, we tried one and it wasn't great. If you walk further down the street in the direction of the colosseum there will be more options.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meltwinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

The hotel a good situation near attractions and train station also nearby were nice restaurants. We stayed 5 days in the hotel with a 5 months old baby and found the hotel perfect for our needs. Room was nicely renovated and very clean. The breakfast buffet had a little bit more than usual assortiment and had nice variety. Still the best thing in the hotel was Roberta, who made this hotel experience something to remember forever. She was working in the reception and in the breakfast, whatever she did it was with a smile and made us feel that we're special guests. Mille grazie Roberta! <3

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mikki313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Firstly, just let me say- this is not a hotel.... if you want to be pampered by hotel staff and greeted at the door as you come in- dont stay here. However, if you are looking for somewhere that is central, clean, modern, and comfortable- this place is perfect.

You need to tell them prior to arrival when you want to check in (and you need to try and be as precise as possible) as the owner will come in and sit there waiting for you to arrive. If you say your going to arrive at 2pm, and you turn up at 6pm... she wont be happy.

It close to lots of great restaurants and cafes. Its less than a ten minute walk from the main train terminal. Its a 15 minute walk to the Colosseum.

It comes with free breakfast each morning- Toast, cereal, eggs, assorted meats and cheeses, croissants, and other pastries.

The only thing to be aware of is the owner in the morning.... lovely lady, but extremely loud with her talking and laughing in the hallway outside the rooms from as early as about 7am.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Royce341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Doria
Hotel Doria
#335 of 1,257 in Rome
409 reviews
Esquilino
Auditorium di Mecenate
Auditorium di Mecenate
#360 of 1,257 in Rome
538 reviews
Monti
I Dormienti
I Dormienti
#841 of 1,257 in Rome
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Leone
Hotel Leone
#427 of 1,257 in Rome
55 reviews
Esquilino
D'Este Hotel
D'Este Hotel
#584 of 1,257 in Rome
126 reviews
Monti
Tirreno Hotel
Tirreno Hotel
#366 of 1,257 in Rome
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merulana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merulana Inn

Property: Merulana Inn
Address: Via Merulana 19, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
#178 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#294 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Merulana Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Merulana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merulana Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing