We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Pulitzer Roma
Ranked #116 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2012

I read the reviews before selecting this hotel: thanks to everyone for contributing! I stayed for 2 nights and the hotel lived up to what I read. It was fairly modern, clean, and overall a great place to stay, especially given the price. While it is not located centrally, that was not a problem since the Marconi metro stop was close. You can buy a metro ticket (I think it was 6 Euros) that allowed unlimited trips in one day, which was very convenient. The only complaints are that the internet was very slow, and the jacuzzi was disgusting, with greenish brown foam on top (as noted in another review).
Note that the hotel is to the LEFT when you exit the metro. The map on the hotel website is wrong. You also can't see the hotel from the station, and with luggage you don't want to start walking the wrong way. One other tip -- there is a small grocery store between the hotel and metro. You can buy large bottles of beer for just over 1 Euro. Cheap, cold and easy to take back to your room after a hot day of walking around Rome :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sickafoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,268)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Pulitzer Roma
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

376 - 382 of 1,268 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2012 via mobile

The first impressions for this hotel are good. Modern style and friendly check in. The airconditioning is awesome, and you need that in the hot summer! The jacuzzi on the fifth floor is very small AND the water is very dirty. Brown foam on top, almost white water, we skipped that, pity because with this weather a jacuzzi would be great. The breakfast is super, lots of choice and fresh. Rooms are not big but modern style with flatscreen tv. Great shower. To get to the hotel is easy but it's far from Termini station and center. About 7 stops with the line A metro to Augustini but the metro is very close to the hotel on the left. There are prostitutes in front of the hotel at night but we did'nt bother. In the area is almost nothing. Except a gelateria and little fruit/mushroom market. Good price/quality hotel !

1  Thank Kevinkamperman
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Pulitzer_Staff, Responsabile reception at Hotel Pulitzer Roma, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2012

Dear Sir

First we like to tank you to write about Hotel Pulitzer, we like all the suggestions of our guests,
Just we like to specify that we change the water on the Jacuzzi every day, but the guests (contrary to what is stated
in Regulation)use a lot of oils and sun creams, but a jacuzzi is different from a swimming pool, and so it
seems so dirty .We hope to see you again
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 6 August 2012

I spend 3 nights in Hotel Pulitzer in Rome. Location - for me is pretty much excellent. It's very close to Marconi metro station from where you can get to Termini in 15 minutes. Obviously the hotel is not in the city center, but it's located in rather quiet suburbian neighborhood. No complains about the service. Room - very clean, with excellent and unique desing. To be honest - it was not very big, but enough for two people. Bathroom was spacious though. :) Breakfast - excellent! And the price - very good for what I've got. I'd recommend this hotel if you don't mind staying outside city center.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DashPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

The fact this place is a short distance from town is nothing when the Metro station is almost next door (1 min walk away), the interior and rooms are top notch, what I've receive paying twice as much. Very happy with the quality for the money. Unfortunately we needed the reception staff/manager to help on occasion, there was not one point in which he didn't fail. I had booked a table at the Mirabelle Restaurant in Rome one evening and asked him to call the place and check if shorts were ok as I didn't bring trousers but had a shirt and leather shoes etc (it was 37 degrees). He declined very very confidently assuring me its fine, we'd be let in. Pleased with his seemingly well informed advice we asked him to call a taxi... which never came... until I prompted him and he said sorry he forgot and then finally booked one. We were late for our reservation that evening, and to top it off were almost turned away from the restaurants because they DID expect trousers (fair enough, but that's why we tried to check first right).

Finally we asked them to book us a taxi to the airport. This is a time sensitive arrangement as you can imagine. The taxi never came, we walked outside with our bags and flagged one down ourselves.

Overall the hotel is great, a few quid more for a deluxe room on the 6th floor with a (shared but rarely used) Jacuzzi on the patio... beautiful.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WheresRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

The hotel is new and the room was confortable, clean and lovely decorated. Also with free wi-fi access.
In general terms a very good relationship between price and quality for an expensive city as Rome, we paid around EUR 70 per night plus taxes.
But you need to be aware that you will be far for the city center (6 metro stations from the Colosseum) and that you will need to make use of the public transport.
The metro is fast but only works till 10.30PM, but busses works all night with 30min frecuency. If not a taxi from Piazza Venezia will cost you around EUR 20.
Do not be surprised Avenida Marconi is a "red zone" on fridays & saturdays nights, but it do not affect at all.
The security staff was very kind providing us with public transport info.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Garcia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

I stayed at this hotel in June 2012. The weather was hot and this hotel was amazing!!!

If you are looking for a modern hotel in rome its very hard to find. This is the hotel for you.

It is a 2 minute walk to the metro station and costs around 1 euro 50 to get to the centre which takes around 5-10 minutes max to get right in the centre.

This hotel has it all a whirlpool on the roof terrace, a gym, bar and room services. I booked a standard room which costs me £80 per night i got a corner room which has a huge balcony with views of rome.

I was a little unsure to book this hotel because of its location i am so glad i did. This made my holiday.

5+++++++++++++++++

The 1 tip i would give is breakfast was a little expensive so i would go to the coffee shop on the way to the metro stop 1 minute walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

(+) very good breakfast, large & friendly bathroom(shower), good aircondition, good connection to the city*, friendly staff, not expensive fees, free internet, free parking spaces in the neighborhood, near newspapers stand for public transportation tickets**, slippers, plenty of towels

(-) far from city center, no shaft in bathroom, dangerous room door handle, too high toilet bowl, no shower curtain, a little hard mattress

* Metro station Marconi 150m / Bus 170 station in front of the hotel (to be preferred)
** the whole day ticket (6E) brings journey peace

Room Tip: The higher the better !
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sery1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Relais 6
#35 of 1,267 in Rome
1,891 reviews
Domidea Hotel
#232 of 1,267 in Rome
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Re di Roma
#155 of 1,267 in Rome
1,311 reviews
Esquilino
Suite Dreams
Suite Dreams
#102 of 1,267 in Rome
1,485 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pulitzer Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pulitzer Roma

Address: Viale Guglielmo Marconi, 905, 00146 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#53 Business Hotel in Rome
#70 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#108 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#142 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#215 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £63 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pulitzer Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Pulitzer has 83 double rooms including 1 junior suite. The style is chic & glamour due to the use of luxury materials and finishes, starting from the flooring in Wenge coloured wood that matches the colour of the fabrics and furnishings ranging from white to black, and taking in shades of brown to create a warm, welcoming and cozy atmosphere. The bathrooms of the rooms are a modern interpretation of the 1920s New York style using small ceramic tiles, in this case in black, which go well with the Wenge wood flooring and the contemporary style sanitary fixtures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Pulitzer Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pulitzer Roma Hotel
Pulitzer Roma Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing