We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i wanted to start write "good hotel" but then big failier happend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Pulitzer Roma
Ranked #116 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“i wanted to start write "good hotel" but then big failier happend”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

After 5 nights this hotel was learned by me from many aspects. This hotel has a good service and their willingness to support the visitor's needs. However they destroyed all their image by having bad decisions in our last day.

Water block-
At the Last night of our stay there was a cessation of water. Early in the morning we called the reception and been told that it's an area problem. They couldn't have handled this situation, and just gain time. I demanded to get straight answers, because we had half day tour and yet we didn't get any solution for not having water (no shower). No need to explain the need for water of my children and wife. After 5 hours of waiting, they were asked to find a room in other hotel for us, just to have shower, they refused. I spoke to the manager himself, we received annoying answers and running out of responsibility. The hotel blamed the municipality, or might they were blocked because other reasons? it can be investigate .... Roma is not a third world city; it cannot accept water cessations in hotels. In addition, this hotel management behavior is childish and it's not professionally at all. No water in hotel from midnight until afternoon we left? is this sound reasonable? the answer is BIG NO . It is not enough to say "we are so sorry, there is water blocked not because of us , it's across the street " and hour by hour the time is pass and they kill our last day and we had to start our journey back and left the hotel .

Regardless the above mentioned please note...(not everything was bad)

Room -
We had 2 rooms, that were located on the back side of hotel. Rooms 109-110.

Breakfast -
The breakfast was good, i can tell it was a real 4 stars breakfast (European style). However, they could have provided more vegetables and types of cheese specialty for vegetarians.
The cold fish could be an option too. They granted us with a very good cappuccino.

Location -
The area is nice, however it was not in a mid-town location. Personally I would have preferred Tresevere area or Campo the flori. However This hotel is located near a metro station, so it has benefits and a plenty space of free parking on the street.

Bar -
The bar is boring, has no atmosphere, better for business type.
This time, I was with my family.

Pool & Gym -
The hotel has no swimming pool. However, there was a small jacuzzi. The Gym was poor and small.

Late check out -
We ask to stay and they granted us 2 hours with no argue or payment, they were fair in this case.

Service -
It seemed the stuff is well trained. They are hospitality. However i must say they are not effectively , for instance we ask the reception which TV station can we watch the soccer game half an hour before it started . They say out will be on channel 1 . the game already start and nothing were in TV , and many calls i made they lead me to the downstairs bar . As you can imagine, the bar was full (great game of Mondial) . Couldn't they prepare themselves at least to provide us the right information without let us down after half game almost over.
Finally -
This hotel could have gotten my 5 stars rate if it treated the water cessation in a better way. For instance, they could have offered an alternative hotel just for taking a shower; instead they offered us 2 bottles of water.

Tip-they supplied water boil for coffee and Tea. First thing you buy is milk and your all set.

Room Tip: ask the back rooms 108-110 .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronnie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pulitzer_Staff, Direttore at Hotel Pulitzer Roma, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest,

First we'd like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for writing this review . Your comments are very important for us and help us to improve our service.

The observation regarding our bar service we consider very personal, as usually the clients appreciate the quiet and intimate atmosphere that is created every evening at dinner time.

As for the water problem we know that caused you and all our guests of the moment a big inconvenience but we know also that we did our best in that moment to help our clients.

Even if the water problem started in the evening, compared with the other hotels in the area, we managed to furnish the water until the morning after thanks to our water reserves that unfortunately with the hotel fully booked ended about 06:30 am.

The problem was solved at 13:00 a clock and really it was due to the broken tube on the main street near the hotel that involves all the public exercises and also all the buildings around.

Once again we apologize with you for the disservice you have had and we really hope we'll have the possibility in the future to have you as our guests once again.

Kind regards

General Manager
Domenico Ieva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    524
    549
    133
    22
    13
See reviews for
119
597
50
281
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The hotel is not in the city center, however the metro station and bus stop is near by, 7 metro stops(around 15 min) and you are at Termini Station. Modern, stylish and clean hotel; each room with air condition, mini fridge and wi-fi. Very helpful and nice staff, great food and cocktails in the restaurant. We would recommend this place to our friends ans family and we are thinking about coming back in autumn.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kasienka2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We spent 7 nights at Pulitzer in june 2014. Great holidays in Rome in a very pleasant hôtel. Very pleasant and available staff. Nice and quiet room with balcony. Well equipped bathroom. The hotel is very clean. Its location is very convenient: 200 m to the next metro station. Only one issue: wifi in the room: almost ineffective.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kinenveu-CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We were traveling through Rome and had less than 15 hours between flights and found the Pulitzer via Tablet, so knew that this met certain boutique/design requirements and was really impressed by the hotel's gorgeous fine art and decor. We would have loved to have stayed longer taking the Metro was so easy into the city center and it's on the way to Fiumicino Airport so very convenient. Traveling w/ our 7yrold son taught us a lot about the varying allowances and the Pulitzer graciously accommodated him w/out extra charge and had a separate bed made up in the spacious room adjacent to their garden. All in all lovely!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank szs818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We went to Rome to have a small and beautiful wedding. The staff of pulitzer help us organize some major things like the transportation for the people and other. The hotel was very good. Is away for the city centre but believe me with metro station just 50 meters away, you can be in there in about 10 minutes...I think i will go again

Room Tip: the superior room is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeHal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I booked this hotel for my mum's birthday based on previous tripadvisor reviews and we were not disappointed. Our room was beautifully styled, spacious and clean with a great balcony. Staff were very pleasant and helpful with good English (particularly Alena on reception). It's location, a VERY short walk away from the metro, was so handy- literally 5 mins away from the Colosseum and 10 minutes from Termini. Breakfast was also fantastic and great value. I would happily book this hotel for any future visits to Rome - I loved it!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kirsty b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Myself and my Boyfriend picked this hotel based on the reviews, price and location, and it was exactly what we wanted. The hotel was is in a quiet neighbourhood just outside of Rome (which was quite nice after our busy touristy days!). Staff were very friendly and welcoming. The hotel wasn't crowed or busy, it was very relaxed, and at times it felt like we had the place to ourselves. Rooms were a good size, modern and very clean. There was a choice of two lovely terraces, and a good bar which served delicious cocktails! We used the gym, and although it was quite basic, it was fine. We did love the Jacuzzi on the roof terrace, it was fab to relax in with a drink after a busy day of sightseeing. We didn't eat at the hotel as we were room only. Now for the selling point-2 mins walk from the metro station... this was fantastic!!! We bought a 7 day travel pass from Marconi station and used the metro's all week. They take you to all the major sites. It's hassle free, cheap and easy. We'd jump on the metro and head off to the attractions in the morning, come back to the hotel, and then jump back on the metro about 8pm and go out for drinks and food. We enjoyed the restaurants around the Spanish steps, so visited them the most (watch out for the men selling rose, tell them firmly no). The last metro was 11:30pm (which is fine because most restaurants and bars shut around then), we'd start heading back at 11pm and had no problems. I could go on and on about our Amazing holiday, but really it's best that you do what we did, and just explore and discover for yourself!
A few tips....travel passes are more effective than the Roma pass. You do not need a tourist guide for the Colosseum. You will need a tourist guide for the Vatican, the queue is very long outside, it's very busy inside, and you have to queue inside for more things too. Being part of a tour meant we were able to queue jump, which was a massive blessing! Be polite but firm with men selling things....especially roses at the Trevi Fountain and Spanish steps, they will just put roses in a females hand and pester the man for money. Visit the Trevi Fountain at night! (again avoid the men with cameras telling you they'll take a picture of you for free). When it comes to bars, cafes, restaurants...discover them for yourself, some will be better than others, with nice little touches, but none of them are bad...from what we experienced. Overall....We love Rome, it was better than I had even imagined it would be!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Relais 6
#30 of 1,258 in Rome
1,874 reviews
Hotel Re di Roma
#157 of 1,258 in Rome
1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Giuliana
Hotel Giuliana
#137 of 1,258 in Rome
1,273 reviews
San Lorenzo
No photo provided
Esquilino
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pulitzer Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pulitzer Roma

Property: Hotel Pulitzer Roma
Address: Viale Guglielmo Marconi, 905, 00146 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#53 Business Hotel in Rome
#54 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#70 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#142 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#215 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pulitzer Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Pulitzer has 83 double rooms including 1 junior suite. The style is chic & glamour due to the use of luxury materials and finishes, starting from the flooring in Wenge coloured wood that matches the colour of the fabrics and furnishings ranging from white to black, and taking in shades of brown to create a warm, welcoming and cozy atmosphere. The bathrooms of the rooms are a modern interpretation of the 1920s New York style using small ceramic tiles, in this case in black, which go well with the Wenge wood flooring and the contemporary style sanitary fixtures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Pulitzer Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pulitzer Roma Hotel
Pulitzer Roma Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing