We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food poor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Park Hotel Villaferrata
Ranked #598 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Marlow
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food poor”
Reviewed 26 September 2012

I can safely say the food at the hotel for our group was the worst I have ever experienced. It was not explained that the pudding (usually a kind of mousse) was not obligatory and that ice cream or fruit were available on request. On the first night there were no vegetables, instead there was bread and undercooked potatoes along with the undercooked pasta with little sauce. This was followed by sponge cake. Not very balanced! Other diners had vegetables and this was put right the following night after complaint. Food arrived haphazardly with vegetables left cooling on the table whilst we waited for minutes for our main course. Room was comfortable, if tired but hotel definitely let down by food.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irenecob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    83
    59
    27
    14
See reviews for
60
99
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Nice looking hotel from the outside but needs more attention to inside. Our en-suite had no towel rail (only four holes in the wall) and the shower head had a life of its own, even after the leaking hose was replaced. However, the poor quality of the food was a great disappointment. Undercooked pasta with very little meat, veg or fish. Very al dente potatoes, and a second vegetable (spinach, chard or something) only provided after our group leader complained. One night we had to almost go on strike to get some potatoes served with our small pieces of chicken! Not what we were expecting from an Italian hotel.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Berwick, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Check my other reviews, and you will see I am fair. So please note that I hate to give this one a zero, but it has to be done.
Two hours before check-in, we wanted to verify we were given a double room; when we checked in, we got a twin.
When we got to our room, there were no towels.
There was wifi, but I needed to phone reception to get the code.
We went to the restaurant, to find we were in between a wedding in a nearby room and a group of French people. Our food took forever and when it finally came, it was horrific.
My wife's pasta was simply not cooked, and my fillet steak was basically off...

When it comes to the hotel, it all looks pretty, but it's a pretty shell which hides many sins. The TV in our room was 12 inch and dated back a decade if not more; when you come out of the elevator, there is NO indication where to go; find out for yourself where room 207 is, for why help the client - and oh, why did anyone even consider making that twin we didn't want 215a?

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Philip_Coppens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Grottaferrata, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Very friendly and helpfull staf. Good value for money. 5 min by car to Frascati station, hotel has a shuttle service. A must do is to have dinner at the neighbours restaurant, one of the best in Grottaferrata. There is a hidden passway, between the trees just in front of the pool area, just ask the staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WaWi21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2012

I loved the decoration of the room along with the surroundings!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Effie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rome
0.8 mi away
Park Hotel Villa Grazioli
Park Hotel Villa Grazioli
#3 of 4 in Grottaferrata
513 reviews
7.4 mi away
Casale della Certosa
Casale della Certosa
#433 of 1,263 in Rome
136 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Verdeborgo
Hotel Verdeborgo
#2 of 4 in Grottaferrata
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Villa Tuscolana Park Hotel
13.1 mi away
Mercure Roma West
Mercure Roma West
#363 of 1,263 in Rome
1,113 reviews
16.6 mi away
Eurogarden
Eurogarden
#511 of 1,263 in Rome
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel Villaferrata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel Villaferrata

Property: Park Hotel Villaferrata
Address: Via Tuscolana Km 23,000, 00046 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #598 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Hotel Villaferrata 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Hotel Villaferrata is set within a park of 2-hectares, on the hills of the Castelli Romani area. All rooms offer air conditioning, free Wi-Fi, and a balcony. A free scheduled shuttle to Frascati Train Station is available, for links with Rome. The rooms come with elegant furnishings, minibar, and a desk. The private bathrooms are complete with hairdryer. Hotel Villaferrata serves a varied breakfast buffet including homemade cakes, toasted bread, and jams. Ristorante Il Babbuino specialises in local and national cuisine. The hotel is located along Via Tuscolana, a 6-minute drive from both Grottaferrata and Frascati. Free parking is provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Park Hotel Villaferrata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing