We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hostel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Orsa Maggiore for Women Only
Ranked #71 of 1,120 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
St Paul
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful hostel!”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

UI highly recommend this hostel. The staff (especially Carmen!) go way out of their way to be helpful and welcoming. It is in a great neighborhood and is very comfortable. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StPaulgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    77
    20
    6
    4
See reviews for
16
3
105
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

It was a little chilly at night because I was there in December and the hostel is really built for the summer. Plus one of the windows kept coming open on its own (we managed to fix it, though). The entrance to the building is really difficult to find -- you have to use the intercom and it only has a tiny sign by it. Overall, the hostel is clean, spacious, quiet (at least in December) and within walking distance of everything. Everyone is friendly and they give you breakfast and a towel too. Even though I was traveling solo, I met quite a few women to site-see with during the day, and had a great time. I'm not a fan of the "one key per room" thing, though, I'd rather each person get their own key, just in case. The neighborhood it's in doesn't feel super safe, but the hostel itself feels really safe. Also, it has a nice kitchen and communal area, and a fridge where you can keep food.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I went for a weekend with a friend in January. The staff were really helpful and welcoming as we arrived. They helped us in orienting ourselves with the area and identified places for us to see. The room was really comfortable and we were able to lock it so our items were safe. The room was cleaned everyday and beds made. Beds were very comfortable and slept very well both nights. The showers were warm and powerful and plenty of space to get dry. The breakfast was great, lots to eat and fresh coffee!! It is situated near to the area for restaurants and bars so easy to access in the evening. We walked everywhere else - colosseum, Vatican and Spanish steps, trevi fountain etc. people were friendly who stayed there and it was a safe place to travel on your own. All in all, great stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ceri2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights and I must say it was the best decision made. I had some trouble getting here (struggling with directions). Trastevere is a great and cheap place for wine and dine. I could head out in the evenings for some wine, a pizza snack and ended up dishing out less than 3 euros.I felt safe in a women's only hostel. The lady at the reception planned out my entire trip at Rome, with an insider perspective that was vital for a short stay in a big city like Rome. For a change there were beds and not bunk beds, I loved tht. The breakfast spread was a little different, lots of varieties in flavoured yoghurts. I would strongly recommend this to only female traveller!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jayzee_Ind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Me and my friend stayed in this hostel for two nights las week and it was the best hostel experience! The hostel is clean and quiet and very safe. The surrounding area is also very safe. We had our doubts about the general safety of Rome for two girls traveling, but we were pleasantly suprised. The service at the hostel was also great. The receptionist helped us a lot with planning a route for our three days and they were very friendly when we asked them to print some papers. I would definitely recommend this hostel to women of all ages! We were very satisfied!

The location was also very nice. It is right next to the river which is beautiful and it is 10 minutes (max) walking from the St. Peter's square and Vatican city. It is also about 15-20min walk from the Colloseum. Definitely a great hostel!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anika B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I could not desire more from this hostel! Located near the Vatican square and along the ROMANTIC TIBER RIVER, in a calm and peaceful area of the city, FAR FROM the usual TRAFFIC of Rome, you could just take your time and relax, planning your visits in the internal courtyard of this ancient building or in the breakfast area, provided with comfortable sofa,tv,books,etc.
The CLEANLINESS of the structure is IMPECCABLE,the coffee and the breakfast in general is healthy in pure Italian style,the spaces are wide and the view is amazing, with a very enriched garden.The price is really economic despite the central position and the services offered.
I do really suggest it!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anna a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This place is located really close to the river and Trastevere. I found it close to EVERYPLACE I wanted to go.
I stayed in an 8 person dorm- the room was gigantic! It was really spacious and divided into two spaces so it really felt like a four person room.
Other people I was there with said that they didn't have hot water for a shower- it wasn't my experience but it might be worth trying to be earlier in the shower rather than later.
Breakfast was reasonable- good coffee with an espresso machine.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lambNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Hotel Villa Riari
Hotel Villa Riari
#553 of 3,692 in Rome
77 reviews
Trastevere
Domus Corsini
Domus Corsini
#778 of 3,692 in Rome
17 reviews
Esquilino
Generator Hostel Rome
Generator Hostel Rome
#12 of 1,120 in Rome
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
New Generation Hostel Santa Maria Maggiore
Trastevere
Palazzo Velli Suites
Palazzo Velli Suites
#138 of 1,120 in Rome
44 reviews
Trastevere
WRH Trastevere
WRH Trastevere
#195 of 3,692 in Rome
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orsa Maggiore for Women Only? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orsa Maggiore for Women Only

Property: Orsa Maggiore for Women Only
Address: Via San Francesco di Sales 1/a, 00165 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 1,120 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A women only Hostel in the center of Rome. Our Hostel is located inside the Internationa Women's House in a XVI century ex convent. We are in the famous Trastevere district: bars, restaurants and city nightlife are few blocks away, as well as the major sightseeings: St. Peter's Basilica, Vatican Museums, Campo dei Fiori, Piazza Navona ecc. We have some private rooms and some dorms all with wodden ceilings and antique "cotto" tiles. Our Hostel is an ideal place for solo travellers, and for all the people who like to relax after a day out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Orsa Maggiore for Women Only reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orsa Maggiore For Women Only Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing