We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, quiet and excellent value for hostel accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Orsa Maggiore for Women Only
Ranked #72 of 1,169 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Trastevere is a little out of the way but it is a lovely part of the city to explore anyway. Just a short walk up the hill from the hostel there is a fantastic view of the whole city.

I was in a room with four beds and an ensuite bathroom with shower. The shower filled up with water but this seemed to be just a way of ensuring you only spent 2 minutes running the water! The bathroom remained clean and dry throughout my two day stay.

The comings and goings of the other two women were very considerate and did not disturb me too much. There was a basic breakfast included - toast bread, cheese, jam, cornflakes, milk and coffee/tea.

I would definitely stay there again as it was much cheaper than the alternatives. It was may and so we didn't need the large fan in the centre of the ceiling. Probably warm in summer.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2014

The hostel is simple and located only about 10 minutes walk to the Vatican City. I stayed in a 4 bedded room with en suite shower. Whilst the bed and room was clean, the shower was in quite a poor state and didn't seem very clean.

The staff were rather friendly and gave great directions and tips for travelling around. Breakfast was a simple spread of bread, cereal. fruits, yogurt and coffee.

For the price per night, it's definitely a great place for budget travelers.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynlynlynlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The hostel is located in a quiet neighbor almost by the river. Rooms are big and clean. The kitchen is a place we can chat with other ladies after a day's walk. Thanks to this cozy hostel, I really enjoy my stay in Rome. will come back next time when I visit Roma again.

Room Tip: one bed in a 8 beds room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
1  Thank Julia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this place for 2 nights. I had a great experience. Orsa maggiore has a wonderful location. It's just five-minute walk to vatican or twenty-minute walk to clossium. They have many wonderful resturants around hostel, just walk only 5 mintues. I really recommend this place for staying with pleasure.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Pang K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

UI highly recommend this hostel. The staff (especially Carmen!) go way out of their way to be helpful and welcoming. It is in a great neighborhood and is very comfortable. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StPaulgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

It was a little chilly at night because I was there in December and the hostel is really built for the summer. Plus one of the windows kept coming open on its own (we managed to fix it, though). The entrance to the building is really difficult to find -- you have to use the intercom and it only has a tiny sign by it. Overall, the hostel is clean, spacious, quiet (at least in December) and within walking distance of everything. Everyone is friendly and they give you breakfast and a towel too. Even though I was traveling solo, I met quite a few women to site-see with during the day, and had a great time. I'm not a fan of the "one key per room" thing, though, I'd rather each person get their own key, just in case. The neighborhood it's in doesn't feel super safe, but the hostel itself feels really safe. Also, it has a nice kitchen and communal area, and a fridge where you can keep food.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I went for a weekend with a friend in January. The staff were really helpful and welcoming as we arrived. They helped us in orienting ourselves with the area and identified places for us to see. The room was really comfortable and we were able to lock it so our items were safe. The room was cleaned everyday and beds made. Beds were very comfortable and slept very well both nights. The showers were warm and powerful and plenty of space to get dry. The breakfast was great, lots to eat and fresh coffee!! It is situated near to the area for restaurants and bars so easy to access in the evening. We walked everywhere else - colosseum, Vatican and Spanish steps, trevi fountain etc. people were friendly who stayed there and it was a safe place to travel on your own. All in all, great stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ceri2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Flaminio
Best Western Hotel Astrid
Best Western Hotel Astrid
#196 of 1,271 in Rome
741 reviews
Esquilino
Generator Hostel Rome
Generator Hostel Rome
#9 of 1,169 in Rome
245 reviews
Esquilino
Alessandro Downtown Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
Casa Di Santa Francesca Romana
Esquilino
Alessandro Palace Hostel
Alessandro Palace Hostel
#28 of 1,169 in Rome
761 reviews
Esquilino
The Yellow
The Yellow
#15 of 1,169 in Rome
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orsa Maggiore for Women Only? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orsa Maggiore for Women Only

Address: Via San Francesco di Sales 1/a, 00165 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 1,169 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Price Range: £25 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A women only Hostel in the center of Rome. Our Hostel is located inside the Internationa Women's House in a XVI century ex convent. We are in the famous Trastevere district: bars, restaurants and city nightlife are few blocks away, as well as the major sightseeings: St. Peter's Basilica, Vatican Museums, Campo dei Fiori, Piazza Navona ecc. We have some private rooms and some dorms all with wodden ceilings and antique "cotto" tiles. Our Hostel is an ideal place for solo travellers, and for all the people who like to relax after a day out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Orsa Maggiore for Women Only reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orsa Maggiore For Women Only Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing