We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst Experience in a Hotel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cardinal Hotel St. Peter

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cardinal Hotel St. Peter
Ranked #646 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worst Experience in a Hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

This hotel was by far the worst hotel I've ever stayed in in my entire existence on Earth. To call this a four star hotel is a fabrication at the least. The staff is the least helpful paid group of workers I've ever experienced. Upon arriving and checking in, they informed us (3 college students) that we needed to be quiet as they don't want to sacrifice their 4 star rating and upset the other guests. Okay, we can take that, we weren't planning on being rowdy or anything. So we head upstairs to find three twin beds pushed together when it was supposed to be a queen and a twin but hey we can eat that too.Soon thereafter, we start to get ready for bed and find stains all over our sheets...so we ripped them off and slept with mere blankets because we had just flown 11 hours and couldn't fathom a 10 minute elevator ride and walk to reception. Then the following night, we asked for some suggestions for dining that evening and the reception couldn't decide which direction was which so we decided we'd wander around, that is until we stepped outside the hotel and realized this area was just shy of Baghdad. Moving along, we tough out this night making it to a mediocre pizza place, arrive home, somewhat excited to use my laptop and converse with home, when we arrive at our room to find that my macbook pro was stolen, as were an ipod, iphone, a nikon d60 camera, and various other electronics. In all, it was about $4000 worth of merchandise. We filed a police report and the hotel manager said we should have put our things in the safe, mind you, fits a stack of four passports at max. Infuriated and frustrated as it is our final night and we fly out at 6 am, we storm through the halls absolutely outraged. Only to find that two of our neighboring rooms and three upstairs rooms have also been robbed. Evidently they have this problem keeping hotel staff as this has occurred numerous times. At this point, the feeling I have for the hotel is that I wish to burn it and all of the surrounding shanty town to ash and bring sweet old American justice to this horrible area.

Room Tip: don't pick a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank 260StephenV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    276
    236
    105
    73
See reviews for
193
317
20
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Four star it's ok! standard toilet holder coming out wall . Lights switches not working bathroom mirror hanging off wall..Heating ridiculous hot rooms. No kettles or tea facilities in room. It's got a pool and garden maybe different in summer ! Not impressed

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mysterioussexylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HERE
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stayed in this hotel before 5 years in the middle of the summer. The hotel was a budget one. 4 stars but not too expensive.We got a double room which was very nice and modern. I like it very much. The problem was that the room was on the ground floor just near the main entrance which was not good as we couldnt open our windows and we didnt have a view at all.The room was not big, but quite fair for 2 ppl.Breakfast, which was included in the price, was quite good with many things to eat for almost any tastes. The staff was very polite and helpfull all the time.The hotel had an open pool which was lovely despite the fact that we didnt use it as we had to explore the whole Rome. The hotel is situated in a quite district, just 2-3 klm from Vatican city which was our first destination. The first time we did it on foot, so its not too far, unless you cant handle it. If you dont want to walk and you dont afford to pay for a taxi, you can walk about 3-4 hundred meters and take the bus.
Overall we had a great time with a logic budget. I ll consider to visit it again if ill come back to Rome, which by the way is the most romantic city ever.

Room Tip: Dont take a room on the ground floor. Prefer the upper floors as the hotel has excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

We were forced to stay here for one night due to an electrical fault at our original booking. The room was small but nicely furnished, (very hot!) we turned down the heat and went out to explore. (staff gave no instructions and appeared not to want to converse (any language). It took 30 minutes to fathom out the walk to St Peters square, ( map given by original hotel ((Executive Style Hotel, who were pleasant, helpful throughout.). Once there, we allocated our OMNIPASS tickets and there was no going back, we had a great time ! Breakfast at Cardinal St Peters was very nice, lovely cakes and pastries, pleasant !( but the following hotel was SO much better ! ) however, we did access the rooftop terrace,(closed) and got a lovely view of the dome of St Peters, took our own wine and grabbed some chairs. (What a shame this was not meant to be accessible ! the toilets up there were open, plenty of chairs and tables and hot tubs, but not working! (it was 17 degrees, 10 pm!-would have been lovely!)
Tried to get a good night sleep but room was SO hot ! turned off heating and opened windows wide ! Relief! MISTAKE MISTAKE !!!!!!! Noise from tanks, electric or whatever it was, was constant!(we were at the back of hotel) it was as if there was a generator followed by constant hot water heating, WE GOT NO SLEEP!
On the whole. if you pre book your room, make sure you have a balcony (we didn't) , make sure staff explain transport and turn off the heat! you might enjoy !
We were offered no transport next day to our original hotel, no apologies and were almost bullied into paying for mini bar ( which we did not use, despite being told we (might?) be entitled by original hotel. (OVERALL IMPRESSION? Hmmmmm........)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VALLOWE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

The hotel staff stole more than $4,000 worth of personal items including a macbook laptop, iPhones/Ipods, and many nice cameras. Do not stay here or you may get your items stolen. There hot tubs don't even work. Also its extremely far from anything fun in the city.

Room Tip: Dont get a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tripmaster2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
massimo v, Direttore at Cardinal Hotel St. Peter, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Mr(s)

We have received reports of this type of theft only by a students group that stayed in our hotel mid March.
To state that these valuables have been robbed by hotel staff , is considered by our law, defamation , so we'll do the necessary reports regarding to this aspect.

The hotel is equipped with safes in all rooms

The safes are capacious to contain the ipads too. We do not understand how is it possible that these valuables, (if there really were all these ) were not kept in the safe.

It is strange to think, nowadays, that college kids, leave the inseparable i-phones in the rooms and do not take them with them when visiting the Eternal City.

It is also strange that the cameras are left in the room during a city visit of one of the most beautiful cities in the world.
(Were there really all these cameras ?)

The hotel has just one room with a jacuzzi bath which is of course working. This room has not been assigned to you. So why do you report things that are not true ?

The hotel is located in the Vatican area , 15 minutes from St. Peter's Square and 20 minutes from the city center by public transportation. public buses run very frequently.

In the offer that was sent to you the location was certainly highlighted and this hotel in this location was chosen by you.We certainly understand that the city centre can be more appealing but we are not in the middle of nowhere as you would like to make it appear.

Given the wrong information about the jacuzzi, about the location of the hotel, we wonder if maybe you are mixing up with another hotel ?

No properties in the world , much less in the united states , is liable for property left unattended.

I remain at your disposal.
Best regards
Massimo Valentini
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

We chose the Cardinal St. Peter for a weeks stay in Rome. We wanted a base for the city and a pool to relax by. The price was fantastic, and the rooms a good size and very clean. The real jewel of this hotel is the staff. They are some of the friendliest and most helpful we've encountered. We used the hotel shuttle car from the airport which was great. A five minute walk down the street to the free bus service,and your in the centre of Rome in less than 10 minutes. When we return to Rome we will stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahmissb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fraserburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

We have just returned home after staying five nights in this hotel. It was a bit difficult to find as everyone we asked gave different directions and many people just didn't know of it. However, after finding it and working out the public transport etc we were delighted. St. Peter's square is within walking distance for people who are able to walk.
The weather for the middle of February was excellent and made our holiday.
The hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful. There was plenty selection for breakfast and this set us up for the day. The rooms are very comfortable and clean with all the amenities you need. Free WIFI in the foyer is fine, but would be better if it was available in the bedrooms.
After a busy day sightseeing, it was a nice quiet location to return to. Would recommend it to anyone visiting.

Room Tip: The rooms out on the L shaped limb have the best view of St. Peter's Basilica.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kedronbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
NH Roma Villa Carpegna
#318 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
Trieste
Hotel Panama Garden
Hotel Panama Garden
#156 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Cristoforo Colombo Hotel
#529 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Black Hotel
#593 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
Grand Hotel Tiberio
#263 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
A.Roma Lifestyle Hotel
#42 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cardinal Hotel St. Peter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cardinal Hotel St. Peter

Property: Cardinal Hotel St. Peter
Address: Via Leone Dehon 71, 00165 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#297 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cardinal Hotel St. Peter 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cardinal Hotel St. Peter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cardinal Hotel St Peter
Cardinal Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing