We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The villa of a real Emperor”
Review of Villa Adriana

Villa Adriana
Book In Advance
More Info
US$107.56*
and up
Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este
More Info
US$141.03*
and up
Tivoli Day Trip from Rome with Lunch Including Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este
More Info
US$107.56*
and up
Small-Group Tour of Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este from Rome
Ranked #3 of 51 things to do in Tivoli
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This is an exceptional complex of classical buildings built in the 2nd century AD by the Roman Emperor Hadrian, which reproduces the best elements of the cultures of Egypt, Greece and Rome in the form of an "ideal city."
Chamonix, France
Level 6 Contributor
379 reviews
126 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“The villa of a real Emperor”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Hard to find the right words to describe this villa.Of course we can only imagine how it really was,but from its ruins we can tell that the "Romans" were amazing builders and that Adriano was the most powerful man on earth....Extremely interesting !

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lella P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,361
    645
    212
    62
    31
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Interesting... but you have to use your imagination a lot”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Worth a visit, but I would not have it on my "must see" list in Rome. I would recommend reserving a day for a trip to Villa Adriana and Villa D'Este with the best part of it reserved for D'Este.
BTW, the bus ride from Rome to Tivoli was one of the craziest trips I ever tried :) Overcrowded bus with a lot of local "color" and the most crazy Italian driver to match! Lots of fun (which you might not appreciate travelling with kids or older persons) :)

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank redhat72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bacau, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ruins of imperial splendour”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

An excellent trip by Viator to Hadrian's Villa, an impressive complex of roman ruins not far from Rome(about 1 hour).Very well preserved the ruins suggests the magnificence of roman culture and the grandeur of an emperor from the time when the empire was at maximum extension and glory.The beautiful green hills where the complex is situated offer a pleasant view.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sovergab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A bit of work to reach from Rome but well worth the effort”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Hadrian's Villa is one of 2 ruins that are 'must-sees', the other being Ostia Antica. Between the audio guide and complementary map one can get a nice overview. As in Ostia Antica, you can walk about most of the ruins and the close-up gives a richer experience. Many mosaic floors are well preserved, notably in the guards barracks, and it is remarkable they are in such good shape after so much time.
We visited Tivoli (had lunch at Reginella on Via Sante Viola, 6, the owner's wife makes all the pasta dishes) and Villa D'este first and then took the #4 bus to Hadrian's Villa. NOTE: All fees at the villa are CASH ONLY and the nearest ATM is 1 km down the road. The Roma Pass is not valid.
My advice is to look into a coach tour. It really is a trek to go by train/blue bus (which is quite dirty). I can't imagine doing the trip in the summer heat.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank CarolinaCrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cincinnati
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Massive ancient ruins -- like the Roman Forum but without the crowds”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Hadrian's Villa is sometimes called the Versailles of Ancient Rome. It is located about an hour outside of Rome, near the town of Tivoli. We used the metro and bus system described by several TA reviewers. While I would not describe getting there as easy, it was definitely worth it.

We visited the property on our own, with the help of a guide book. You are really able to wander through the ruins, inside ancient structures, so it is a much more "close up" experience of ancient Rome than the Colosseum or Roman Forum. We saw very few people during our visit, and since the property is about 250 acres, if there is a crowd, it is much more spread out. I was initially disappointed when we got there, because the Maritime Theatre, one of the key buildings, was closed to the public due to some preservation work being done. However, Hadrian's Villa is so large, that I definitely was not disappointed by the end of our visit.

I recommend that you read about the Villa, and become a little oriented with the buildings ahead of time, because there is very little information about the structures, once you are out wandering the property. There is a nice virtual tour from Khan Academy's smarthistory website (http://smarthistory.khanacademy.org/hadrians-villa-a-virtual-tour.html), some really cool 3D models of what the Hadrian's Villa might have been like in ancient times from The Digital Hadrian's Villa Project (http://vwhl.clas.virginia.edu/villa/index.php), as well as the ability to use a Google maps like street view feature to wander around some of the site using your computer (http://www.google.com/culturalinstitute/entity/%2Fm%2F06519j?projectId=world-wonders).

Also, we went to Capitoline and Vatican Museums as part of our trip, and there was a lot of art, particularly sculptures, from Hadrian's Villa in both museums. It made a nice, holistic learning experience!

Note: be sure to bring water. Also, watch the bus schedule if you are visiting at the end of the day, because buses run less frequently. NOTE: Roma Pass is not valid for Hadrian's Villa.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank elizabyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Villa Adriana also viewed

Tivoli, Province of Rome
 
Tivoli, Province of Rome
Tivoli, Province of Rome
 

Been to Villa Adriana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing