We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Feel the history !! Really worth to visit !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Adriana

Villa Adriana
Book In Advance
More Info
US$99.74*
and up
Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa
Ranked #3 of 50 things to do in Tivoli
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This is an exceptional complex of classical buildings built in the 2nd century AD by the Roman Emperor Hadrian, which reproduces the best elements of the cultures of Egypt, Greece and Rome in the form of an "ideal city."
Voronezh, Russia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Feel the history !! Really worth to visit !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Hadrian's Villa is an excellent example of archeological site of the second century AD. It's UNESCO World Heritage Site.
In Hadrian's times it was big and significant place that covered not less than 1 square kilometers and had more that 30 buildings. It's really unique as it has traces of Greek and Egyptian architecture.
Now it's quiet place where you can feel the history and imagine passed times.
I would recommend to visit it with guided excursion. We were really lucky as our guide was great one. He told us basic facts + some interesting fact about emperor Hadrian and life of those days. He also gave a free time near each site to realize what and how it was. I think it's the best format of visiting the Villa.
It's surely worth to visit !!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ruisenor_NatalyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,025 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,192
    569
    183
    55
    26
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
416 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Rushed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We visited Hadrian's Villa as part of a Viator/Green Line Tours 4.5 hour afternoon bus trip.

The whole afternoon was rushed and not nearly enough time to enjoy either Hadrian's or d'Este Villas.

Hadrian's is basically an archeological site and our tour guide wasn't able or interested in explaining very much about the detail. Also, looking at the site plan and the one map that was located where we visited, it would appear that we only visited about 20 or 25% of the site.

For what it is worth, d'Este Villa was by far the more enjoyable, but that was because of the gardens.

If you go, find a way to spend more time there.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank pakabay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
196 reviews
101 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Amazing experience - a trip back in time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

We were lucky to travel with a professor who specialises in this site. She certainly brought it all to life for us. It is an extraordinary expanse of space - more like a small town than a villa - with everything one would need to impress a visiting potentate - and , it has to be admitted, better plumbing arrangements in Roman times than those at the hotel we were staying at nearby!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank penny_howard1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roma, Italia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“What a pity! So beautiful and so disregarded”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Who is the director? can not he/she see how the Villa is treated badly?
The Exhibition 'Adriano and Greece. Villa Adriana between classicism and Hellenism' is an example of a wasted heritage: beautiful objects, beautifully presented, in a hidden corner of the villa, where you come up with unclear directions, scrutinized (?) by inattentive attendants.
You can walk and discover even a car parked in the park close to the venue of the exhibition! Was it Adriano's car?
They say that there is a recorded guide, available at the entrance. is it true?

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank cc_1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chamonix, France
Level Contributor
368 reviews
122 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“The villa of a real Emperor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Hard to find the right words to describe this villa.Of course we can only imagine how it really was,but from its ruins we can tell that the "Romans" were amazing builders and that Adriano was the most powerful man on earth....Extremely interesting !

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lella P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Villa Adriana also viewed

Tivoli, Province of Rome
 
Tivoli, Province of Rome
Tivoli, Province of Rome
 

Been to Villa Adriana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing