We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not in Tivoli it is 10k away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Duca d'Este
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Tivoli
Reviewed 27 July 2011

The Hotel itself is a nice hotel. It is more a business hotel but as a base to explore Rome and with a car the location is fine but if you want to go for a walk or into town for a coffee the location is not good at all. The food is delicious and the waiters are really friendly and efficient. The pool is lovely and is huge so you can have a good swim. The hotel was clean and the bed and towels were changed every day. I would not fault the hotel on anything only its location it is a bit restricting in an evening if you want a drink and dont want to pay for a taxi every night. We found ourselves going out every day and going down for dinner quite late then straight to bed after dinner. The hotel would also be fine for a stop over on route somewhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EthelLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (524)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

33 - 39 of 526 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2011

We stayed here for one night, and I agree with some of the reviewers that the hotel (lobby area, etc.) shows some age. But our experience was fine. Our room was fairly small, but equipped with the amenities you expect from a 4-star, including a nice tile bathroom (TV is not flat screen, however). Although it fronts a very busy main street, we had no street noise, and the grounds behind the hotel are really lovely. The neighborhood is a little downscale, and there are no really good restaurants within walking distance, so we ate at the hotel restaurant, and it was pretty good. Breakfast was OK, nothing special, but a good pastry selection. Staff were friendly.

When deciding where to stay in this area, I had seen several reviews of other hotels noting the sulphur smell of the mineral springs, but we had no such smell either in our room or walking outside. There is ample free parking, and that's a real perk. Also, there's a fitness room, but it costs extra---I think the hotel should make this free. Although there are some good sights in Tivoli (10 minutes away), it's not a real attractive town, so staying down the hill in Bagni di Tivoli might be better than staying in TIvoli's city center. Overall, the hotel is probably a 3 1/2 star, but decent if you get a good rate.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lchjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

This hotel has got to be the worst hotel I've ever been to. The carpets were disintegrating and in the corners there were MASSIVE dust bunnies. The bed sheets were stained, and the wall paper was black in areas and hanging off the walls. The bathroom was so filthy and looked like it had never been cleaned as there were dried soap suds over the shower. It was so bad we had to walk out even though we had already paid. The pictures they use to advertise are either very old or very well photo shopped. Trust me when I say do not stay at this hotel, even just for hygiene reasons.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Markogabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2011

We stayed for one night and we payed 126€. The reception was ok, the staff were helpfull and nice, so we decided to stay for the night. But the problem was the room. It was small, with old decoration, old mattress and an even smaller bathroom. The shower was tiny, and at the bottom there was mold. The worst was the smell, it was as if we were inside the thermes, we didn't sleep all night. Breakfast was poor for a four star hotel. Internet at a fee and free parking.
I would not recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Veraki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

The hotel was very adequate for our needs. We took advantage of ample free parking on site as well as the hotel internet service which met our needs. The restaurant served an excellent meal and the wine list was adequate. The property stands out as one of the better facilities in the area and is located just accross the street from a shopping mall. The drive to Villa d'Este was only 7 km almost straight up the road. Breakfast exceeded our expectations. Would highly recommend this facility if you are passing thropugh and want to experience the sites around Tivoli.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Windsor2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2010

Realy nice Hotel, not the bet of locations For Rome, Can not fault this Holet

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DoubleH1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 20 August 2009

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tivoli hotels
0.4 mi away
Victoria Terme Hotel
Victoria Terme Hotel
#1 of 15 in Tivoli
632 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tivoli
Hotel Tivoli
#9 of 15 in Tivoli
200 reviews
2.7 mi away
OC Hotel Villa Adriana
OC Hotel Villa Adriana
#1 of 1 in Villa Adriana
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Torre Sant'Angelo Hotel
2.4 mi away
Park Hotel Imperatore Adriano
0.2 mi away
Idria Hotel
Idria Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tivoli Terme
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Duca d'Este? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Duca d'Este

Address: Via Tiburtina 330, 00011, Tivoli, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Tivoli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Tivoli
Price Range: £64 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Duca d'Este 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Tivoli Terme (Rome), one of the main important thermal city of Italy, Grand Hotel Duca d'Este is the ideal location for the organization of conferences, meetings and events. It is also the right choice for your holidays in Lazio. The Grand Hotel Duca d'Este is a 4 star hotel near Rome, not far from the main motorway connections (only 7 km far from the A24, just 5 km far from A1) and 400 meters from the train station "Bagni di Tivoli" that allows you to reach Rome Termini Station in just 30 minutes. The hotel claims a prestigious position in an area full of charm and historical sites such as Villa d'Este (with its one hundred newly restored fountains and exclusive panoramic restaurant) and Villa Adriana (with its ancient ruins inside a 120 hectares park). For relaxation has a fitness centre (sauna, steam bath, indoor heated pool and small gym) where you can enjoy your stay! And in the summer the good weather will allow you to use the outdoor pool. So...Enjoy your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Duca d'Este reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Tivoli
Grand Hotel Duca D'Este Tivoli, Italy - Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing