We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Straight outta the 80's”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel Duca d'Este
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Tivoli
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Nice looking place.... nice lobby.... the room felt like it was straight out of the 80's. Not sure how else to describe it. Dated... We went out for dinner and wanted a couple drinks to end the night but the hotel bar was closed by 11pm when we got back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jshook1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (553)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 33 of 553 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2014

Friendly staff, good area. Great family hotel. We stayed here for 1 night as we had trouble finding a hotel in Rome. We had rented a car so it was not too difficult to move around. The distance from Rome is also not that. All in all a good hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnSmith397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La_Direzione, Direttore at Grand Hotel Duca d'Este, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Customer,
Thanks a lot for your review. We look forward soon for another relaxing or culture holiday near Tivoli and Rome. Best Regards, Director Giovanni Ricci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

I spent 4 business-day in this hotel. First of all, in my opinion, it’s no 4* star Hotel (it was built in the 1990 and no maintenance work (re-styling) is done so far!!). When i got in my room (shared with my colleague) there was very bad smell (stuffy) and the room was really tiny. In the bathroom, the bath tub was small for a normal adult person and when i took a bath (or shower) a huge quantity of water came out from the bath tub. The self-breakfast was nothing special (salty & sweety breakfast) and to eat something was very difficult because the “area breakfast” was very small for all customer. The domestic staff (during breakfast – lunch – dinner) was really disappointing, slowly and in many situation the waiters got angry between themself. All outside windows Hotel (clearing by the main road) are competely filthy (it’s no good view for all customer). Wellness Area is made up of Sauna&Turkist Bath (really small room) &Swimming Pool (NOT IDRO).
If the Hotel had’d 4* star, it would’n had been in this way.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rinuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

This hotel is not just a hotel, it is a gem! The staff is so kind and easy to work with, the word accommodating is an understatement. Serena is the head booking agent who made it so very simple to book my 175 pax for their one night stay in Rome a walk in the park. The managements kind heart's and the beauty of the hotel (inside and out) are really something to brag about. They were beyond organized when dealing with the check-in process. They were always staffed up at the front desk to answer any and all guest questions, they addressed each concern that came up in that moment and the guests were completely satisfied. We had a dinner that evening (yes a seated dinner for the whole 175pax) in one of their beautiful dinning rooms and the food was delicious. The wait staff was very professional and the management afforded us the room for an extended period of time. If you have a large group, this is the perfect place to put them. The GM was on hand the night of the dinner to ensure that everything was going well (including the AV) which was impressive to me. He left me in great hands with the Sr. Director of the kitchen and when we ran out of fish...he made more!

If you are a family on vacation, this is the most kid friendly place and you are near Tivoli to visit the famous Villa D' Este gardens with the magic fountain that plays an organ. I can happily report that all 175 of my clients were satisfied beyond the normal expectations. Grazie Mille to everyone at The Grand Hotel Duca d' Este! Bravo Bravo Bravo!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CMWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stayed for one night on a Tuesday in April after a long drive from Campania. After staying in many unusual hotels filled with character during our vacation we knew that this was a modern hotel and probably would not have much personality. There seemed to be very few overnight guests on this occasion. Our overwhelming impression is that this is a business hotel, focused on corporate meetings, banquets, events, etc. with the occasional tour group passing through. The room was quite small and somewhat dated, but clean and well supplied. The restaurant offered a good menu and the breakfast buffet the following morning was extensive. The hotel provided free Internet access in the lobby and free parking. The staff were friendly and courteous. The huge outdoor pool was unfilled. We got the sense that if we had been attending business meetings or a convention we would have been well satisfied. However, non-business visitors to Tivoli should note i) this hotel is very far (20-30 minutes drive in traffic) from the Tivoli that visitors want to see (the old hill town, Villa Adriana, Villa d"Estea) and ii) it is close to the thermal springs and the incredible stench they can produce when the wind is in the wrong direction. Driving tip: Tivoli and surrounding area gave our GPS a nervous breakdown. Get a map or very good directions. Our "map lady" tried to take her revenge by taking us to Tivoli straight up the hill on narrow, steep roads and through sections of town that are reserved for residents only. There is a main road into the town!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GusRobinWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Such as bad location away from the beautiful hill town of Tivoli. Dirty rooms and rude idiotic staff.
Avoid at all costs

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdRock007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

The hotel was ok and even had a swimming pool that looked good. However, we were fooled by the location shown in the map featured in Tripadvisor. It's about 10kms off from the place shown there.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
2  Thank zeppo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tivoli hotels
0.4 mi away
Victoria Terme Hotel
Victoria Terme Hotel
#1 of 15 in Tivoli
646 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tivoli
Hotel Tivoli
#9 of 15 in Tivoli
203 reviews
5 mi away
Torre Sant'Angelo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
OC Hotel Villa Adriana
OC Hotel Villa Adriana
#1 of 1 in Villa Adriana
235 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Cristallo
Hotel Cristallo
#6 of 15 in Tivoli
114 reviews
2.4 mi away
Park Hotel Imperatore Adriano
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Duca d'Este? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Duca d'Este

Address: Via Tiburtina 330, 00011, Tivoli, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Tivoli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Tivoli
Price Range: £66 - £839 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Duca d'Este 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Tivoli Terme (Rome), one of the main important thermal city of Italy, Grand Hotel Duca d'Este is the ideal location for the organization of conferences, meetings and events. It is also the right choice for your holidays in Lazio. The Grand Hotel Duca d'Este is a 4 star hotel near Rome, not far from the main motorway connections (only 7 km far from the A24, just 5 km far from A1) and 400 meters from the train station "Bagni di Tivoli" that allows you to reach Rome Termini Station in just 30 minutes. The hotel claims a prestigious position in an area full of charm and historical sites such as Villa d'Este (with its one hundred newly restored fountains and exclusive panoramic restaurant) and Villa Adriana (with its ancient ruins inside a 120 hectares park). For relaxation has a fitness centre (sauna, steam bath, indoor heated pool and small gym) where you can enjoy your stay! And in the summer the good weather will allow you to use the outdoor pool. So...Enjoy your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel Duca d'Este reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Tivoli
Grand Hotel Duca D'Este Tivoli, Italy - Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing