We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the Best!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of B&B Catillo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
B&B Catillo
Ranked #2 of 38 Tivoli B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One of the Best!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

It was not rated # 1 in Tivoli but it should be. After winding roads in the historic district, we arrived in front and saw that parking would be a problem.. The owner came out immediately and joined us in the car and accompanied us to a secure parking lot near by. Could not have asked for better service and nicer people. The old historic building has been restored with great care. Just love the travertine marble everywhere. It is really more like a small family run pensione instead of B & B because it has a lot of rooms. The breakfast room in the cellar is cute and breakfast was abundant. The waitress even asked if she could wrap up what we didn't eat so we could bring it with us. That is the first time I have found this in Italy without asking!! The cleanliness was perfect. For the evening meal, 3 nearby places were recommended and a discount was given if we mentioned where we were staying. Will certainly return and hope to stay longer even thinking about making it a headquarters for my next visit to Rome and catching the train eveyday into Roma Centro.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PatinItaly51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    49
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
66
146
9
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

The staff could not do enough to help out and explain where all the main attractions, restaurants etc were. The room was very nicely decorated and we had a lovely terrace, which was a great surprise. It is a little tricky to get to if you use the GPS so ensure that you follow the directions that are sent to you by the B&B on booking. GPS does not seem to know which roads are one ways, so head for the hospital and follow the directions from there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maurice786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We had a wonderful stay in a lovely, comfortable room. There is lots of walking involved with seeing the fantastic Villas, and a comfortable room is much appreciated. Massimo and Marco are excellent hosts. Breakfast was very good and we could not have asked for better service. The recommendations for meals were wonderful and the name Catillo was recognized with great service and a discount on meal.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eloise505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Spent one night in Tivoli and was glad to spend the night here. Great and helpful service and comfy accommodation. Was even nice enough not picked us up from the train station. Very highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Markprentice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed at the B & B Catillo on our recent visit to Italy and would definitely recommend it. On arrival we were greeted by the friendly and helpful staff who helped us with parking and our luggage and then a great welcome from Massimo who kindly gave us a map and recommended places to visit and restaurants to eat at in the local area of Tivoli. The accommodation was stylish and clean with everything you needed and the B & B was well located only a short walk from shops and the train station which was excellent for travelling into Rome and surrounding areas. The breakfasts were good and the bed was very comfortable. Tivoli is beautiful and there are various good attractions such as Villa D'Este and Hadrian's Villa close by. This is an excellent example of a great B and B with extremely helpful and friendly staff who go the extra mile to make your stay fabulous, many thanks and hope to see you again soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Surferjust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Tivoli offers more that just the gardens so we were glad we stayed the night rather than making a day trip from Rome. This friendly B&B was hard to find despite the detailed directions - possibly our fault though for using the gps, just stick to the directions given! We stayed in what was called 2 connecting rooms. It was at the end of the floor with 2 rooms and a bathroom next to each other in a U shape which you could then slide another wooden door across the U to close off the 3 rooms from the rest of the floor (hope that's not too confusing!) it worked great for us as we put our toddler in the room with the two singles in her cot and we slept in the other room and we could leave her door open but close the wooden door. The bed was very comfortable. The main downfall of the room was the shower kept going hot and cold - annoying but lucky we only slept one night there so not long enough to get really annoyed. The breakfast was simple but efficient.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank PHall_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

The most memorable thing about Catillo is the staff, all apparently part of the same family. Every time we met any of them, be it at the hotel or at the Tivoli streets, we were greeted and our well-being was enquired about. If there ever was anything we needed to ask, help was offered immediately and with sincere interest. We certainly felt welcome!

I also appreciated the confirmation + directions email which was sent to me after my reservation through a booking site. A small gesture, but assures you everything is okay.

The hotel rooms had impressive wooden beams and it was a nice experience to stay in a house which was 400 or so years old. However, the interior decoration was somewhat sparing - frugal to the point of resembling a monastery.. Just a suggestion: a table lamp or two would add some coziness to the rooms. Also, do ditch the ridiculous "house orders" from the desk drawer! You aren't running a hostel, are you?

All in all, in my view Catillo is an okay place to stay while in Tivoli. A decent one with GREAT people.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saituri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tivoli hotels
1.4 mi away
Bed&Breakfast Villa  Adriana
4.1 mi away
Victoria Terme Hotel
Victoria Terme Hotel
#1 of 15 in Tivoli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
0.6 mi away
B&B Il Giardino
B&B Il Giardino
#1 of 38 in Tivoli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa d'Este Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Al Palazzetto
Al Palazzetto
#5 of 38 in Tivoli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.0 mi away
Residenze Gregoriane - Residenza D'Epoca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Catillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Catillo

Property: B&B Catillo
Address: Via Domenico Giuliani 74, 00019, Tivoli, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Tivoli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Tivoli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catillo B&B just 26 Km from Rome, only 400 metres from Villa D'Este, is 900 metres from Tivoli Train Station and just a few steps from the Temple of Vesta and Villa Gregorian. The nearest bus stop is 200 metres away for links to Rome city centre. Tivoli hot springs are 9.5 Km away. Catillo B&B is set in a renovated 17th-century building in the centre of Tivoli. It offers classic rooms with free Wi-Fi. The rooms here feature terracotta floors and either vaulted or wood-beamed ceilings. They come with a flat-screen TV, a safe and private bathroom with free toiletries and a hairdryer. Is 900 metres from Tivoli Train Station and just a few steps from the Temple of Vesta and Villa Gregorian. The nearest bus stop is 200 metres away for links to Rome city centre. Tivoli hot springs are 9.5 Km away. Public parking spaces can be found in the surroundings, either free or at a charge. Catillo new facility Bed and breakfast just 26 Km from Rome, is located in TIVOLI city rich in archaeological heritage UNESCO '(Villa D'Este, Villa Adriana, Villa GREGORIAN, Temple of Vesta and Sibyl, Temple of Hercules, Amphitheatre lisp, Castle ROCCA PIA). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your B&B Catillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B&B Catillo Tivoli, Italy - Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing