We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large, spacious rooms”
Review of Palazzo Maggiore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palazzo Maggiore
Ranked #11 of 37 Tivoli B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My husband and I recently visited Italy for our wedding/honeymoon. We debated about staying in Tivoli for the night and were so glad we did. The villas in Tivoli are gorgeous and we had a great time. Palazzo Maggiore offers incredibly spacious rooms. Our room featured an outside patio sitting area, a bedroom and a large living room. The owners of the hotel are incredibly welcoming. We watched the US World Cup game in their living room as it was not playing in town. They were incredibly gracious to invite us to watch the game with them. We had a great stay and would recommend Palazzo Maggiore to future travelers.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lindsey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

Palazzo Maggiore is a little difficult to review as you really are getting more than a B and B. For 70euros a night we had two adjoining double rooms and two bathrooms which are tastefully furnished in keeping with very old building which gives the impression that it was built to last. It is difficult to find but the owner emailed us with very detailed instructions to get to the B and B from the railway station and it took about 8 minutes to walk. It is stuated in a warren of narrow streets so beware of the odd car . The Palazzo has a very restful atmosphere and the room has a small terrace. Breakfast was included and brought to the table in our room. The owner and daughter speak English and were very helpful with restuarant recommendations and details of how to get to Villa Adrianne.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McdonaldsLinlithgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Stayed here a few years ago for a birthday treat. Took us ages and ages to find, winding around the little streets. However, stopped at a bar and a very kind chap escorted us to Palazzo Maggiore.
Beautifully furnished little rooms. The shower room was a revelation as it was built at the top of a stairwell.
Very central and easy to walk to wonderful tavernas and restaurants.
My husband had pre arranged for flowers and champagne in the room for my arrival which the owners were happy to deal with.
So thankful for the parking arrangements! An absolute must in Tivoli.
If you want a quirky, well furnished, central and friendly place to stay, this is the one for you.
.Not suitable for the infirm or elderly because of the toilet/shower arrangements.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mariaPortsmouthUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

... describes EVERY element of our 5 night stay at Palazzo Maggiore. Steeped in natural Italian essence, this Tivolian secret was the perfect setting to rest after busy days exploring Tivoli* and Rome.
Situated in the beautiful old quarter of the town, ideally located, the rooms were extremely comfortable and stylish. Our host was charming and delightful (so too her family) and ensured our visit was perfect.
Breakfast on Monica's terrace kept us going all morning and we would thoroughly recommend booking an evening meal - be ready with Michelin marking tho' as she and Marco cooked competitively!
Parking was essential as the gorgeous, narrow, winding streets are not easy to tackle - and the locals tend to recognise when you've circulated a few times! The parking near the supermarket Todis was good value and seemed perfectly safe.
If you are wanting to stay close to Rome, this is the perfect accommodation all round. Only 40 minutes by train, you avoid the busyness and hassle and it costs less than €10 return.
*Ensure that you visit Villa Gregoriana and Villa D'Esta - highlight of our Italian tour
Thank you Monica for such a special visit!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank custardkaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Based on tripadvisor recommendations, we had booked the Villa d'Este B&B, with both telephone and email confirmations. When we arrived in the early evening, no one answered the door, we called their number on our mobile, and a very hostile woman said it was her mother who had spoken to me, there was no room for us, she could do nothing about it, We retired to the restaurant/pizzeria on the left hand side looking out of the Piazza Garibaldi and explained we had no place to stay. Within minutes, they had got me on the phone with Monica of Palazzo Maggiore. Arrived there on foot, minutes later, to be greeted by Monica and presented with what was a mini palazzo in itself, decorated in 18th century style with bedroom, sitting room, bathroom, at 10 euro less than Villa d'Este. Wifi was available She generously shared the delicious fish risotto which she was preparing for her own friends and family, which we ate on our little balcony. There was an ample breakfast in the morning. We did not want to leave. As perfectly Italian as Palazzo Maggiore is, the level of beauty, attention to detail and graciousness reminds me of the best of the Moroccan Rijads. I

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrsDance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Wonderful experience for my husband, mom and I. We had a huge two-room and bath apartment which was beautifully decorated down to every detail. Monica and her family were gracious and helpful. The streets of Tivoli are not easy to navigate by car. Monica has a parking lot close to her home (very inexpensive rates too). Make sure to follow her directions. We would love to go back.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
Thank FreckledFromIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Incredible Bed & breakfast in Tivoli to spend some days to discover the area (villa Gregoriana, villa Adriana and Villa d'Este).

Amazing building from XV Century & very elegant decoration of the rooms, that we could visit. I felt in a castle.

Excellent Breakfast in the terrace full of plants, just to anticipate Villa D'Este exuberance with home made products and even gluten free for me!!

The owners speak several languages (french, english) and are very welcoming and gave us tips, information and even gave us a lift. Totally recommendable. Viva Italia!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maoGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tivoli hotels
0.2 mi away
Al Palazzetto
Al Palazzetto
#6 of 37 in Tivoli
145 reviews
0.0 mi away
B&B Catillo
B&B Catillo
#2 of 37 in Tivoli
324 reviews
0.6 mi away
B&B Il Giardino
B&B Il Giardino
#1 of 37 in Tivoli
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa d'Este Bed and Breakfast
0.5 mi away
La Panoramica
La Panoramica
#5 of 37 in Tivoli
205 reviews
0.5 mi away
B&B Il Casale Dei Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Maggiore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Maggiore

Address: Via Domenico Giuliani, 89, 00019, Tivoli, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Tivoli
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Tivoli
Price Range: £58 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Palazzo Maggiore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Maggiore Tivoli, Italy - Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing