We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre Tour Service-Good Tour Guides”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Delectours - Private Tours
Ranked #10 of 13 Tours in Vatican City
Attraction details
Georgetown, Guyana
Level Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Mediocre Tour Service-Good Tour Guides”
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We toured the Pantheon with Eugene, the Coliseum with Jill, and the Vatican with Marguerite. We really enjoyed the tours by Eugene and Jill, they were very experienced guides with a lot of enthusiasm and knowledge. The tour with Marguerite could have been much better. We were signed up for all of these tours by James, who was an odd fellow who we weren't completely sure we could trust, but they provided receipts for everything, and the services were basically as promised. The weakest part of our experience was the tour of the Coliseum, they promised us a VIP tour for 50 Euros, which was supposed to last for 2.5 hours. We arrived to the Coliseum at 15:00, and Marguerite left us rather abruptly at 16:15 outside of the Sistine Chapel. We didn't tour St. Peters Basilica at all, which I am not sure was supposed to be included, but seemed like an oversight, and we certainly would have had time. We also had a lot of trouble understanding Marguerite's accent, and she didn't seem very open to questions. Overall, I wouldn't recommend this tour service unless there were no other options.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Riga11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    3
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ancient Rome and Pantheon Tours”
Reviewed 30 December 2012

After my daughter and her partner did the Pantheon tour and really enjoyed it, we decided to book a tour of ancient Rome. Even though it was extremely last minute (the night before), the guys went out of their way, and with good humour, to find us a guide and to set it up. Jill took 4 of us around for 3 hours in sporadic rain and despite the inclement weather we all had a brilliant afternoon going at our own pace, really impressed by her detailed knowledge and ability to answer any question we came up with. This is the way to do a tour, and we found the price very reasonable given the great service.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nayook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“waste of money”
Reviewed 18 October 2012

myself and my girlfriend recently did the vip vatican tour with roberto, what an absolute waste of time and money. After doing a tour of the pantheon with jill (which was excellant) we were promised that the vip vatican museum tour would get us in to the museum before the crowds and would be a thorough and informative tour. The tour was supposed to start at 8.30 but eventually left at 8.50, and was then held up for people who had booked late. we eventually entered the museum at 9.30 amidst the huge crowds with our guide roberto, who is an idiot. he knows almost nothing about the exhibitions and his commentery consisted mainly of "check this out" "what a beatiful masterpiece" and "don't worry about this stuff as it is not interesting". Halfway thru we had had enough and left the tour , started again on our own and found out that most the stuff he had talked about was wrong. We learned more from the info provided and from a cheap guide book than what roberto gave us. Save yourself the money and do it yourself or find a reputable company

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Wes M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Eugene's tour of the Vatican - highlight of our week in Rome”
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Did the VIP tour of the Vatican with Eugene. A tour is well worth the money to skip the ridiculously long line.

Eugene - what a character! I've had a few good tour guides in my time but Eugene takes the cake! He is passionate, very knowledgable and charismatic to say the least. His tour was tailored according to our interests and prior knowledge. You can tell he draws upon his years of experience to really consider the best way to help you understand and appreciate the art & artists. One of the most amusing bits was when he gave more than a mouthfull to a tall Italian guy who had squeezed in front of my wife while he was trying to explain a sculpture - this comes in handy with some of the inconsiderate behaviour that can occur with such crowds. We definately came away with a real interest in renaissance art (my wife immediately insisted in buying a coffee table book). I could not recommend this tour guide more highly.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Don't Do Vatican Museums on Your Own!”
Reviewed 25 August 2012

While standing in a very long line to get in to the Vatican museums under the brutal August sun, we were rescued by a persuasive young woman from Delectours. I was skeptical at first, but am very happy we opted for the tour. Tom, our tour guide, was EXCELLENT: very knowledgable on all topics and full of extremely interesting historical tidbits as well, while concentrating on the highlights. One can not do a thorough tour of this massive complex of museums in one day, so having a guide to get you to the most important works is the key to enjoying the museums, rather than being overwhelmed by the crowds and not knowing what you're looking at. I would highly recommend Delectours and Tom to anyone who wants to get the most out of these amazing museums. Their office is located a couple of blocks from the museum entrance.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Linda_M_1241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Delectours - Private Tours also viewed

 
Vatican City, Lazio
 

Been to Delectours - Private Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing