We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive, overwhelming”

Basilica di San Pietro
Book In Advance
More Info
US$22.17*
and up
No Wait Access: St Peter's Basilica WiFi Audio Guide
More Info
US$23.37*
and up
No Wait Access: St Peter's Basilica with Audio Guide
More Info
US$47.33*
and up
Rome Super Saver: St. Peter's Basilica and Cupola Interactive Audio-Guided Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Arguably one of the finest Cathedrals in the entire world, St. Peter's is the spiritual center of the Vatican and the product of many of Italy's great Renaissance's architects, among them Bramante, Raphael and Michelangelo.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Impressive, overwhelming”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Missed this the first time in Rome. Glad we made it this trip. Went late in the afternoon. Lines were huge. Tour guides farther from the street will not offer a tour for only the Basilica so you can skip the lines, but if you ask right by the Basilica, operators will charge 10 Euro/person and bring you in and it includes an audio guide. You must surrender an form of ID to the people the run the Audio Guide booth at the Basilica. Once you pay and return the audio guide, you get your ID back. Glad we skipped the line. Didn't have much time in Rome. The extra cost was worth it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ptownsendj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28,982 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23,891
    3,915
    787
    209
    180
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“An absolute must”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Having read lots of reviews, I knew it had to be on the agenda but was a bit sceptical as to whether it would live up to the hype. Well, it does. Visiting the cupola HAS to be included and it was only about 7€ per adult. There are roughly 320 steps to the inside some and another 200 to the outside at the top. It gets very narrow and steep at the second stage so not for the faint-hearted. You do have to be fit! The views from the top were amazing.

The inside of the church itself is stunning.

Words of advice: as with anything here, go early. We arrived at 8.30 and there were no line ups. We walked straight into the church. There were small smatterings of people in the square and the church was quiet. Easy to get into the dome. We exited an hour later into the church and it was filled with tourists and noisy. You couldn't see the floor. Outside, the square was busy and the lineups were huge (all round one side of the square).

Also, when you've gone through security on the outside, don't be fooled into thinking you've gotten away with wearing your shorts! There is a further checkpoint nearer to the basilica and we saw people being turned away. Men seemed to be ok in Bermuda shorts, but anything above the knee was a no-no.

Helpful?
1 Thank SazS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Don't miss this!”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

To stand in this square before entering the Basilica is amazing all on its own! Don't be deterred by the long line up - it moves very quickly. You will have to pass through security - which means an xray of whatever bags you are carrying and a walk through the metal detector. Make sure you are wearing clothes that cover your shoulders and your bottoms are at least at your knees or you will be turned away. I have been in some Basilica's that provided you with tissue ponchos of sorts but I didn't see that here. Michelangelo's Pieta is to your immediate right when you enter and is behind bulletproof glass (be sure to stop for a pic). There are no words to describe the feeling of walking through - drink it in, feel the doors, touch the sculptures and be prepared to be amazed and very emotional - what a sight!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sasssiest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dazzling Reneissance architechture”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

One of the holiest church and contribution marked by masters such as Bramante, Michelangelo, Maderno and Bernini.. need we say more?

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Deb_CCU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehorse, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“If you do nothing else book tickets in advance!!”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We spent the day at the Vatican City and spent 20 minutes walking past lines (as we had booked online). Once we were in (5 mins tops), the arts, architecture and gardens were beautiful. Wherever you turn there is something to look at. Enjoy!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise1706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Basilica di San Pietro also viewed

 

Been to Basilica di San Pietro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing