We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our best meal in Italy”
Review of Boccon Divino - CLOSED

Boccon Divino
Price range: US$49 - US$87
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our best meal in Italy”
Reviewed 18 April 2013 via mobile

My partner and I agree this is this best food we've had in Italy. We struggled to think of an equivalent in Sydney as well! Just wonderful! We had the tasting menu and for €40, it was also the best value for what we got. We even met the chef who was so humble. Amazing. Don't be fooled by appearances, the food inside is worth it!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Memsclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    25
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Craiova, Romania
1 review
“Exquisite food experience”
Reviewed 21 January 2013

My husband and I have just had dinner at Boccon Divino. While the appearance from the outside does not look strongly inviting, the experience of dining at Boccon Divino is amazing.
There is a mix of tastes, flavors and consistencies, which can be hardly put on paper.
The shrimps garnished with softly flavored fennel and orange are a delight.
The (modernized) recipe of the "stoccafisso" and the funny story of how it got to Ancona make it a "must eat" since you are there.
Last but not least you have to taste how "pecorino" (traditional, strongly flavored Italian cheese) reinvents itself in an icy mousse, complemented by pear, honey and mint in what I would call the most unconventional, yet delicate and wonderful desert I have ever had.
Recipes are chosen and prepared in such a way that they combine the traditional approach to cooking specific to the region with the choice of high quality ingredients and spices.
What makes the dishes even more fabulous is the story behind them told naturally, with talent and humor by the owner.
If you get to Ancona, don't miss Boccon Divino. We are actually planning to go there just to taste back the pecorino desert :-)

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Chef's tasting menu was fantastic”
Reviewed 3 November 2011

My wife and I had dinner at Boccon Divino in Ancona with another couple in mid September. Was a quiet night for the restaurant and so had opporutnity to talk with the owner about the menu and specialities. Both couples opted to share the chef's tasting menu where selected the type of main course and let the chef create. One meal was lamb based and the other was fish - was more than enough to share. Led to very flavorful and creative courses coupled with wine recommendations from the owner. The restaurant itself is lovely. Highly recommend giving this restaurant a try. The restaruant was recommended by staff at the Hotel Grand Passetto in Ancona - a wonderful boutique hotel if looking for a place to stay in the area.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rsweet1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Szeged
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Look beyond the facade!!!!”
Reviewed 17 July 2011

During our trips in Ancona we passed by this restaurant a couple of times. Though it was on our wish list to go there we never realized this was the place. There are golden/yellow sunshades outside with a cheap image of angels.
We in fact chose to sit in the courtyard. Also here we could not anticipate what was waiting for us, because of the cyclamen pink nylon table cloth.
Then our dining experience got started. We were first offered an 'amuse bouche'. In fact it was a mini sorbet, which we usually know as a "spoom" to freshen up the palate. It was lovely and worked very well. We had the set menu (menu degustazione) and were never disappointed. If you close you eyes you could even imagine to eat from porcelain and drink from crystal!
As the chef is not a co-owner I hope they will be able to keep him on, because he could get offers from well reputed restaurants all over the world!
If we would have eaten here before, we surely would have returned during to few days we spent in Ancona!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travellerszeged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Boccon Divino also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing